We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gone downhill?”
Review of Dunlavin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunlavin House
Ranked #19 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kilcullen, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“gone downhill?”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

i was very exicted to go ack to Dingle and i knew that Dunlavin house is a perfect spot i didnt wait too long and called looking for a room and i found myself being rushed to speak on the phone to not very polite lady, rather to someone who spent lat 20 years sitting behind a desk doing exactly the same boring things day after day than a friendly, happy host i'd known Dunlavin house for...

our trip wasnt planned at all we just decided the day before that we'd go and we would be arriving quite late in the evening, i have done it once coming to that bnb and it didnt seem a problem then ( and ive been there few times) and today i asked if that would be possible and the response was rather rude and wouldnt leave me in any way to be able to find a compromise. at the end of the conversation phone was just hung up on me with not as much as 'i'm sorry' or anything polite. i was offered a phone number to a neighbor but seeing for some reason i wasnt welcome to call at all i justgave up and kept searching on my own. i hope this is just a sigle slip and dunlavin house is stil as lovely as it was, although the whole situation made me feel dissapointed.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank sugar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
101
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Beautifully kept B&B. on arrival I just mentioned my thoughts about touring the Dingle Peninsula and within 10 minutes our hostess had the plans arranged. Wonderful views and a short walk to downtown Dingle. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nje1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Dulavin House is very convenient to town, yet nice and quiet location. Delicious breakfast. Denise was gracious and very helpful in helping us get in touch with our car rental agency to replace our car after the back window was shattered. We later found out from another guest that her husband had been mowing the lawn and a rock flew and shattered the window, so don't park in the driveway if he is mowing the lawn! People commented about the cemetery view, but is was very interesting to walk through it and the distant water view was beautiful! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GramCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

this was my first time at Dunlavin House and I was not at all disappointed. Our hostess Denise was charming, friendly and above all completely hospitable, she could not do enough for us. Our rooms were clean, bright and had everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was huge! Everything freshly cut, cooked and served with a smile. I would recommend Dunlavin House to anyone who wants a peaceful, pleasant stay just 10 minute walk from Dingle town itself.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa27R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I brought my friends with me on this trip back to Dingle. I booked us all into Dunlavin House as I knew they would love it as I had already been there on a number of occasions . Our flight had been cancelled by Ryan Air so we arrived very late but Denise welcomed us with a lovely smile. She was so friendly although it was nearly 11pm.

Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the rooms at the front of the house have the most amazing views over Dingle Bay.

The breakfast was fantastic!!! So much choice. Cereals, fresh fruit, lovely cake and full Irish breakfast. No need for food until the evening!!!!!!!!!!

Although this bed and breakfast is not in the centre of the town its only about a 10 minute walk away and a good way of walking off the breakfast.

Denise is the perfect host. She could not have done anymore for us.

Shall definatley be back. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here two nights and we found the hostess was very gracious. We were looking forward to a room with a water view, but it was disappointing to have to look at a cemetery in order to see the water in the distance. Rooms were plain and nice and we had good breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Situated less than 1.5 miles outside of Dingle hub itself, this B&B is easy to find. Our room was suitable, rather plain and standard. It offered us a view of the backyard that included the gardening hut and trampoline for children, with distant mountains far away, not much else. In front, we noticed the great view of the graveyard located directly across the street, with Dingle bay in the far distance. Yes, you can see the bay situated between two mountains, and at times am sure the view is pleasant enough; but you must cover up the gravestones with your hand to see it sufficiently. Hostess Denise and her mom are gracious, kind and courteous. Their easy going and friendly style made up for our disappointing view. Breakfast was the norm, nothing out of the ordinary. I think the best advantage point is Dunlavin House is ideally located to allow visitors to drive to the coast, up to Connor pass, or for shopping in Dingle itself.

Room Tip: Try out your night adventure side by visiting the Dingle Hotel pub for some "trad" musical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooffwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.1 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 75 in Dingle
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlavin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlavin House

Property: Dunlavin House
Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunlavin House we offer the highest standard of accommodation and food for our guests, Overlooking Dingle Bay with a short walk from town gives us the perfect location for the discerning visitor. We offer a personal welcome to all of our guests with useful advice and assistance designed to make their stay in Dingle the highlight of their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dunlavin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlavin House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing