We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunlavin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunlavin House
Ranked #22 of 78 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cozy and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Dunlavin House! The room and bathroom were clean and neat. The house itself was very well maintained. We had a great breakfast there and thoroughly enjoyed the town! We highly recommend it and hopefully will return!

  • Liked — location and views of the mountains/oceans
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahK450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
91
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

My daughter & i stayed @ The Dunlavin House B&b for two nights
in May this year. It more than met our expectations, with the clean and bright upstairs room with one double and one twin bed, ensuite, and all the hot water we needed, anytime. We had coffee & tea making in our room, which we really enjoyed after a quiet night's sleep, away from the hubbub of town. .

Proprieter Denise Kane and her delightful family made our stay special, and it was a highlight of our trip around Ireland.

There is a comfortable "sitting room' for the guests, and the lovely Breakfast room is all glass- enclosed, and surrounded with a delightful garden.

Her young daughter made the best Espresso ever, and the breakfast was hearty with fresh fruits, cereals, "Irish Breakfast", and "porridge" for the asking. She also makes the best Irish "Brown bread", which we fell in love with.

They went above and beyond in making our stay enjoyable, and were very helpful in every way possible.
We would go back there in a heartbeat.
Their beautiful home is located just a few minutes (1.7 miles) from Dingle center, and there are gas stations and stores nearby.

we confirmed our room qwith a credit ccard, and paid her in Euros when we left.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the proprieter; condition of the rooms; & great food & ambiance..
  • Disliked — Can't thnk of anytihing..we were impressed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ashcrofbks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2008

This was our first stop on a recent trip to Ireland. As previous reviewers have noted, it is located right off of Slea Head and is a wonderful start to a drive through the amazing and scenic Dingle Peninsula. We had a lovely room that overlooked Dingle Bay. Everything was spotless and well-cared for. Denise was a wonderful hostess. We left the lights on our rental car and spent the battery within hours of our arrival (ie., The Griswolds Drive Ireland), but she was kind enough to get a neighbor to come jump start us, in the rain nonetheless. Thankfully we were all able to laugh about it.

A great location right outside downtown Dingle, beautiful view of the bay area, great breakfast and hospitality all give this B&B 5 stars in my book! Dunlavin was a wonderful welcome to friendly Ireland for us!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank MBrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2007

My family and I very much enjoyed our stay at Dunlavin guest house. The house is located just past the main part of Dingle, at the very start of the scenic Slea Head Drive. We had two rooms, one for my children, age 8 and 12, looking out on sheep grazing beyond the trampoline and play structure in the backyard, and one for my wife and I, with an unbelievable view of Dingle Bay and the Headlands defining the mouth of the bay.

Denise, the proprietor, was very charming, and provided us with good advice, insights into local events, and delicious breakfasts. My children played with hers, which provided our children with a great break from us and an opportunity to play with and talk to Irish school children.

Dunlavin was recommended to us by one of the neighboring B&Bs. Denise happily accepted the B & B vouchers that came with our self-drive holiday package.

  • Liked — Friendliness, location, delicious food, comfortable rooms, beautiful view
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2007

Dunlavin House is a brilliant place to stay whilst in Dingle. We arrived in Dingle in the middle of a storm, but had such a warm welcome when we arrived at the B&B it didn't matter! It was a great base from which to explore the Dingle Peninsula, and with fantastic views over the sea, spacious and warm rooms, and great breakfasts, it's hard to think of a single fault!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank d823fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.6 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Duinin House
Duinin House
#14 of 78 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lighthouse B & B
The Lighthouse B & B
#7 of 78 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cill Bhreac House B&B
Cill Bhreac House B&B
#11 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 78 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlavin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlavin House

Property: Dunlavin House
Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunlavin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlavin House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing