We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Owners Are Intent on Improving Everything.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Strands Hotel

Western Strands Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Western Strands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“New Owners Are Intent on Improving Everything.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

I believe the hotel ownership has changed three times in the last few years; the current owners took over in September, 2008.

Food was always good and food and bar service was always excellent. The dining room was recently remodeled (The painter was still working on it the first two mornings I was there) and doubled in size, by removing an interior wall; the doorway between the lounge and dining room was closed off, and the primary access to the dining room is now from the first floor hall (more on that later).

They are in the midst of providing wifi, and they will eventually remodel the stairways, hallways and bedrooms. "Kevin Ryan", the manager, is a personable young man who seems up to the task at hand.

My ensuite bathroom had been redone within the last few years, and my room was provided with new linens; the double bed was comfortable.

The room was not soundproofed, and I could hear people in the hall and adjacent rooms; the continual noise and vibration from slammimg of the dining room door (I think the closer needed to be adjusted/replaced - that should be a "Quick Fix") was especially irritating as I tried to sleep in my third floor room; it was like waiting for the other shoe to drop...and drop...and drop... That room was the largest they had, according to Kevin; it might have been 10 feet by 8 feet at best. The eventual remodel is supposed to provide larger, soundproofed rooms.

There is no private parking, and spaces near the hotel were at a premium; it was often necessary to park a block or two away.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
13
16
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

The food was the best I ever tasted especially the duck stayed 4 nights the staff were very friendly and helpful. The accomodation is clean and cosy bed and breakfast size very resonably priced. There was a festival on in august and the town is very busy.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — A bit small
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank susanflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

Stayed in the Western Strands as we were attending a friends wedding in the Broadhaven Bay Hotel (incidentally this hotel is really lovely and the food is gorgeous) If I could offer any advice it would be never to stay in the Western Strands. It smells like a chippie and the staff were really unhelpful bordering on rude. The rooms are in need of a complete overhaul and the bathroom wasnt exactly clean. There were someone else's hairs in my bed and the only reason i slept in it was because I was shattered.
Never again. I'd advise you to stay in the Broadhaven or any of the lovely B&B's that are scattered around Belmullet.

  • Liked — The location was the one and only redeeming factor
  • Disliked — Everything - staff, cleanliness, smell!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sineadwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belmullet hotels

Limerick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

Very reasonably priced and clean. Rooms are badly arranged and need to be redecorated. However, breakfast is brilliant and the restaurant staff and bar staff are very friendly and helpful. Parking is a nightmare in Belmullet, we had to park a good bit away from the hotel if we came back early in the afternoon and move the car closer at night. If you are on a tight budget and are not too bothered interior design - this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Beds too close together in twin rooms, ended up tripping over beds/bed cover.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Debzcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2005

When it comes to the finest of food, this is the place to go. Always a varied and interesting menu, and the staff are just brilliant. The only downside is that the eating area is quite small and fills up fast, so it's best to book beforehand if possible. The new management have made massive progress in renovating the premises recently, so it's now a great place to stay as well!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2004

I loved the Irish homeliness to the place its especially good if you get locked as its the only hotel in Belmullet...........Bring on the new Hotel. Don't get rid of the Irish breakfast away from this lovely establishment.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2004

The Western Strands is by far the friendliest, nicest establishment in Belmullet. Staff cannot do enough to help you and you get that Irish feeling the second you stand in the door. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
23.5 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
39.5 mi away
Bru Chlann Lir
Bru Chlann Lir
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Strands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Strands Hotel

Property: Western Strands Hotel
Address: Main Street, Belmullet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Western Strands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Strands Belmullet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing