We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast in Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Strands Hotel

Western Strands Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Western Strands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Atlantic coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

This hotel is right in the centre of Belmullet town, close to the sea but not right beside it. Lovely sandy beaches within a few miles. The breakfast served in this hotel is traditional with a large choice of main cooked options. Could put out yoghourt, fresh fruit etc... for those whose appetite is not so large but in my opinion the breakfasts I got cannot be beaten anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atlantic8866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
13
16
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ennis
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

A few friends and I travelled to The Western Strands Hotel for our friends birthday party. We had 2 great days staying in Belmullet. The party was brilliant with great music by Paddy. We had dinner the following evening in the new dining room. it is a beautiful room and the meal was very tasty with very attentive waitresses. The recently renovated bedrooms are a little small but very confortable and very clean. We enjoyed the weekend. First time in Belmullet but we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed in the Western Strands Hotel as we were attending a family get-together in Erris.. Even though this is a small hotel we were very well treated and had a very good weekend. The breakfeast was excellent and the waitress was very friendly and attentive. The evening meal on the Saturday was delicious . Thrtr was live music in the bar which was very lively. We noted that extensive renovations are ongoing. We will be back .

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BarryWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

My wife and family stayed in the Western Strands as part of a mini break in the West. I was delighted to find that there are hotels like this still left in Ireland where the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean,warm and comfortable and the food is tasty,almost too plentiful and all for a hard to beat price. The hotel is in the town so everything was close at hand. The staff told us that It has undergone recent renovation as the restaurant and bar area is right up to date in its decor as are the rooms and entrance hall but it still has a old world charm when you take the stairs to the rooms where you use an old fashioned key to get in! Nice change from cards that never work... We want to go back in the Summer to take advantage of the great beaches around the area and we will definitely be booking The Western Strands. The photograph on this website doesn't do it justice!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNDUBLIN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

I stayed here recently - the room was terrible, it was very cold and very oldfashioned! The bed was very uncomfortable. The room was also tiny. The hotel did not clean our room so we had to go find someone to ask for clean towels and toilet paper! There was a dodgy plug on the tv and my husband reported that this was totally unsafe!
The noise level was incredible! There was a Christmas party on in the bar downstairs -this did not finish up till after 5am - the noise was very LOUD!!
This is the worst hotel I've stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belmullet hotels

uk
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Had dinner with my husband at WSH. Service very good but the food was disgusting As we were the only 2 people in the dining room, one would think that chef could it right. We did complain,but chef did not respond or bother to say goodnight as he went by our table on his way home.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irish012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

We spent one night in Belmullet and opted for WSH because the other hotel, the Broadhaven, had put up the prices to €140 per night! The WSH was half that but even at that price, it was very disappointing. The rooms are extremely cramped and the shower was terrible (nothing more than a dribble and impossible to use). It was quiet, warm and clean and the breakfast was fine so it wasn't terrible, just a little disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
23.5 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
39.5 mi away
Bru Chlann Lir
Bru Chlann Lir
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Strands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Strands Hotel

Property: Western Strands Hotel
Address: Main Street, Belmullet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Western Strands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Strands Belmullet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing