We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of Drom Caoin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmullet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drom Caoin
Ranked #2 of 9 Belmullet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2012

It was great to meet Mairin and Jerry. I spent three days in Belmullet, visited this area in the first time,. I see that this village is developing. I enjoed the breakfasts and great quality coffee.
In the evening I got chance to taste good wines. Mairin is a good teacher to explaine the nuances in colour and taste.I had very relax time.I visited the fish village, golf club,walking aroud the Belmullet, to feel salty air.I like to spend time where people looks happy. Well done

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Meeting Mairin and Jerry was one of the nicest things about our trip to Ireland. They made us feel like family. They were so helpful in suggesting places to visit. they go out of their way to help in any way they can. The B&B was comfortable, and very clean. The breakfast was excellent. Particularly enjoyed the evening when coming back from sight seeing and Gerry would put a fire in the fireplace and Mairin would bring tea and scones. We stayed there for 9 nights and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting near Belmullet. I will definitely go back there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

As far as I am concerned, a B&B should be comfortable, clean, convenient and offer a hearty breakfast and a warm fire in the evening. Drom Caoin easily satisfies those criteria. When you add the human factor of the proprietors of Drom Caoin, you have someplace special indeed. Mairin and Gerry are professional and efficient for sure, but their genuine love of their endeavor and enjoyment of their guests is what sets this B&B apart. It sounds trite, but I felt like a friend during my stay. If you want experienced and interesting proprietors who truly welcome you into their home, I unequivicaly recommend that you enjoy a few days here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discriminatingguest6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is the place to stay in Belmullet. I would not stay anywhere else. I've been staying there for over 15 years.
Great service, excellent value, outstanding breakfasts. The staff will help you with plans, trips, reservations, golfing needs, and much more. They go out of their way to insure a pleasnt stay.

Room Tip: Try the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My family stayed at Drom Caoin in July 2011, and we were surprised at the low quality of the accomodations. Having read all the rave reviews on the web, we had been looking forward very much to our stay there. We loved Belmullet, but this B&B was inferior to every other B&B we've stayed in in the west of Ireland, and that includes at least 25 (in Kerry, Galway, Clare, and other places) over the past 30 years. Some details: our room was uncomfortable; the mattresses were lumpy, the room was ugly, the bathroom was inconvenient, and it was full of bugs. At breakfast we had to wait 15 minutes for coffee, delayed while Mrs. Murphy asked every member of our party how he or she had enjoyed himself or herself the day before. The questioning had no special warmth; it seemed rather routine. And we were dying for coffee. We had some urgent questions when we arrived, but one of the Murphys was always on the phone and unable to talk to us. -- I would return to Belmullet, but not to Drom Caoin.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mimitravels333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Drom Coin is a wunderfull B&B!
The Hosts are very friendly and warm.
Máiríns breakfest is delicious, she is a great cook!
Her Cappucino is the best all over Ireland....
I would heartily recommend staying here!
Thanks for all (especialy for the temporary filling set....)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madita66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My brother and I travelled to Belmullet to do some family history research, we stayed at the Drom Caoin for 3 nights and it was wonderful. Mairin & Gerry are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts are second to none. Mairin was very helpful with our research and knows all the history of the area and people which was very useful. Belmullet and the mullet peninsula is very scenic and we visited some really nice spots. We will probably return to Belmullet in the future and if we do we will Definitely stay at Drom Caoin

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belmullet hotels
0.2 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview House B&B
Fairview House B&B
#5 of 9 in Belmullet
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drom Caoin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drom Caoin

Address: Drom Caoin Church Road, Belmullet, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Belmullet
Price Range: £57 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Bed and Breakfast, ideally located; within 5 minutes drive of Carne Golf Links (Special Golf Stay’n Play packages), walking distance from Belmullet town centre and within easy reach of the best windsurfing; beach, hill and cliff walking, angling, bird watching and amazing storm watching.Specialist dietary requirements – Coeliacs, non-dairy, vegetarian catered for. Famous for our breakfasts and speciality coffees. Free wi-fi and pc for guest use. Maps provided of our spectacular places. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing