We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a smashing time! ;-)”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2013

In relation to the previous comment I felt impelled to write a review of the Talbot Hotel. Myself and my party of 6 went for dinner in the restaurant on the same Saturday night and as usual we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was as delicious as ever, beautifully presented and the staff were as accommodating and friendly as always. The hotel has always accommodated residents and visitors very well and it remains a popular venue for any occasion big or small. The decor and atmosphere of the hotel is outstanding and unique to its location. Staff are professional, friendly and have always made every effort to make the night most enjoyable.
On that Saturday night I too was a fellow diner. The food was delicious and the service was great as ever. There were a few mishaps in the kitchen i.e glasses being smashed by accident however I don't believe the restaurant or staff should be penalised for such human error. The staff tried every effort to make light of the situation and also made a point OF apologising to every table for the noise. In relation to the price of the meal, 30euro for a 3 course meal which included a high quality menu was definitely outstanding value for money. Needless to say our party had a brilliant night, wined and dined with great atmosphere helped by the staff and great food. We highly recommend the Talbot hotel and hope such petty reviews do not impede on the hotels great reputation.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here in mid June with husband and daughters. Beautiful decor , lavish and friendly staff. Hotel itself was very quiet possibly because it was midweek. Our big disappointment on our stay was when my husband asked to book a table in the restaurant for dinner that evening he was told it was closed. we had been looking forward to dressing for the fine dining experience but had to contend with eating in the lounge which was fine and the food was good but it felt as if we had just dropped in for a bite to eat . Apart from that we did enjoy our stay but would advise others to check if the restaurant will be open when booking. A beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here on Saturday 27th July as a small hen group. The staff were wonderful, went out of their way to be helpful, nothing was to much for them, friendly at all times. The bedrooms were very comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay here.

Flo Joe

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeFloGalwayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and i wanted to get away just for a night. Somewhere not too far but that had a nice ambience and good food. We found that and more at The Talbot Hotel Belmullet Co. Mayo. A fabulous boutique hotel with very friendly staff. The decor is fabulous and so are the bedrooms. One of the most comfortable beds I have every slept in. We had a booking in the restaurant that night. What a special meal. The food is exceptional!!! As is the service. A real surprise. I completely enjoyed every aspect of it. The bar downstairs was buzzing as was the town of Belmullet. Can't wait to come back. Feel relaxed and rejuvenated after just one night. Thank you to all the staff of The Talbot and to the management- please keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madso123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

To all the staff in the Talbot Hotel especially in The Barony Restaurant, our sincerest appreciation for all the efforts you made for our parents on their joint birthday and anniversary celebrations. We can't say enough about the food and service we received. From delicious starters including smoked salmon actually being smoked upon delivery to our table, rich creamy soup and melted goats cheese tartlets to gorgeous mains of steak, chicken, salmon and duck. Although our waistlines were already at busting, desert was an easy decision with options including brioche bread and butter pudding, creme brûlée and mint and chocolate chip cheesecake. The ladies waiting on our table were exceptional, showing a perfect blend of kindness and friendliness with competent professionalism. We will most surely return in the future not least for the high quality food and service but for the overall ambience and value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littysneacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have eaten here many times and find the food generally of good quality and service very good.
On my most recent visit I had to point out a dirty glass and also found the large screen TV blasting out sports was distracting and not in keeping with the atmosphere - thus I had to try and find a quiet spot to chat and eat. I understand the bar trying to catch a few who drop in for quick drink and to watch the sports but there must be balance and consideration of who is spending most money in the bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank locationspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Myself and a large group of ladies stayed last weekend at the Talbot for my sisters Hen weekend. The staff at the Hotel could not have been more helpful or polite. Everybody was very impressed with the room decor and the standard of the food at dinner and the way in which they were treated by the staff. Breakfast the next morning was equally fabulous and even though we all left getting breakfast until the last minute, we never felt like we were being hurried to finish.We all felt we got very good value for money.The rooms were very clean and very well kitted out. The nespresso machines are a nice touch in the rooms. The layout of the Hotel can sometimes be confusing but it means you get to see much more of it and appreciate how nice it is everywhere! A big shout out to Pat the barman/porter DJ and jack of all trades who came to our rescue when our laptop would not work with the projector. He was good enough to lend us his own and provided us with a music playlist and everything. He saved the day for us all!! A great Hotel and a real asset to Belmullet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlaK552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.5 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
71 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
19 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
#2 of 4 in Belmullet
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: Barrack St, Belmullet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range: £67 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel Belmullet is Irelands Newest boutique hotel and the first four star hotel in Erris.The Talbot Belmullet County Mayo is a family run hotel offering luxury boutique accommodation in the centre of Belmullet town. Each of the chic, quirky 21 guestrooms has its own special charm...including an iPod dock, complimentary Wi-Fi. Butler tray, and oh joy, an espresso machine as well as a mini bar stocked with tempting treats, oversized fluffy bath robes and towels, slippers and spa toiletries.At The Talbot, all suites have double deluge rain showers, and their own fireplaces, just enough to leave you feeling tickled pink! You can plan your trip around Belmullet taking in all sorts of places of interest and activities - from heritage and culture to food and drink, to folklore and music! Belmullet is the capital of the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) region of Erris, an area that offers unspoilt beauty and glorious beaches and is the ideal place for that get away from it all holiday. Car hire is available at Ireland West Knock International Airport . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing