We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really 4 star”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 December 2013

No parking available. On street only and ended up having to park some distance away. Disco music very loud and could even hear what DJ was saying v clearly in room so very poor nights sleep. Very expensive and though rated 4 star, felt more like 3 star. Room was very cold on arrival and bath was dirty. Also found a pill in the bed so not sure beds were properly changed. Room very dusty. On upside staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for room that is furthest away from disco if you want a good nights sleep!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We understand you had an issue with the noise in the hotel, during the Christmas period, it was extremely busy and we sincerely apologise for this. There were 3 functions on that night. We know you contacted reception and a member of staff was outside your room within five minutes to check the sound levels, which was immediately reduced.
With regards to the pill and the bath I really wish you had brought this to our attention so we could have looked into this straight away. I can assure you all rooms are cleaned thoroughly each day & I am deeply sorry this has occurred during your stay. We are taking extra care that this issue shall not arise in the future.
We do offer parking just off the main street and a stairway brings you back up outside the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back in the future so we can show you that it is our intention for you to have an enjoyable stay and to give us a chance to offer you one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

2nd time to stay in the Talbot, first time with the girls and 2nd time with my husband. Both times throughly enjoyed it. Im a big fan of boutique hotels and this one just ticks all the boxes. i would highly reccommend it. Rooms are spacious - bed is so big and so comfy, food is great, staff are friendly. Go visit you wont be disappointed. One thing ...during quiet times the restaurant is not opened which is disappointng as its quite a lovely space - but food in bar is very good too but if staying a couple of nights check specifically if restaurant will be open. ENJOY!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GersyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you decided to return to us with your husband after your girly weekend and hope we shall see you again in the future. I’m glad you enjoyed the rooms and the friendly staff. On your next visit please do ask about our restaurant opening hours, unfortunately it is not opened every night in the quieter times, however its great to hear you enjoyed our bar menu. Hope to see you back in Belmullet again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday and the hotel was quiet,An unremarkable exterior hid what was inside!Opulent,outlandish,bright,and very funky.So individual and unique.We had a warm and enthusiastic welcome and were shown to our suite (room21) which was superb - spacious and extremely well appointed - the room lacked for nothing.The bathroom was so well laid out and a long soak in the bath,a glass of wine,and a TV.Chilling!!
We had a wander around the town and along the seafront before returning to the Talbot bar for lunch and rugby.I have to say all the staff we encountered were so natural and chatty with no "manufactured personalities".Very endearing.
Unfortunately,the main restaurant was closed as it was so quiet so we ate in the bar.Service was impeccable and food superb.We had a great evening in the bar with plenty of chat with locals there.We had a couple of glitches (water & TV) which were addressed immediately and with a smile!We both had the most incredible night's sleep-the comfiest bed ever!!
Breakfast was remarkable in that there was not one trace of fat on my full Irish.It was so well presented and cooked to perfection.
We came here on a recommendation and will make many ourselves after this stay.Cannot wait to return.Thanks to all the staff for making it a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, it is our aim here at the Talbot to offer our guests something a little different and to ensure you have the most enjoyable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had dinner here last Thursday, We waited 45 minutes for our starter, When we asked the waitress about the delay she said the computer to the kitchen had broke down. We said that was fine and asked for another drink while we were waiting for the backlog to clear as we weren’t in that much of a hurry. We waited another 20 minutes for the drink – which I presume had nothing to do with the computer error! We got our starters which were lovely, and then waited another 35 minutes for our main course. We thought that once the starters arrived there wouldn’t be a delay on the mains. We mentioned to the manager that while we understood the first error we were not impressed with the other two. He was plain rude & told us every other customer had to wait too and half-heartedly apologised…you would think it was our fault the computer broke!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HMDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sincerly sorry for the delay in service on the night. As you are aware the kitchen printer froze and it was a while before we realised what had occured as this was the first time it happened. Once we rebooted it the kitchen got landed with 12 dockets all together one of which was for a table of 10. It was a busy night and this is every chefs nightmare. Our service staff immediately explained to all the customers what had happened which people took in good spirit. Your complaint was dealt with by myself. I sincerly apologised for what had happened and made accomodations to your bill. This was a stressful situation for all. We were honest and upfront with our guests, owned up to our mistake and did so in a friendly manner.
It is a situation we have taken steps to avoid in the future.
Thanking you,
Tommy Talbot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We decided on a spur of the moment trip and searched boutique hotel west Ireland. When we checked out the Talbot website we were impressed with the pictures and reviews of this hotel. We called to book a room for our trip, and we found the receptionist to be friendly, chatty, warm and very lovely to deal with , booking made we set off to mayo. When we arrived outside this hotel we found it to be colourfully painted but very unassuming on the outside, nothing to indicate the superb and stylish hotel that awaits behind the doors. From the moment you enter the reception area your eyes are treated to a wealth of "things" to look at, it's a colourful and tasteful collection of furniture and ornaments and just gives an amazing first impression. We were checked in by owner Orla and were shown to our room personally . Each of the rooms are individually decorated and wow what a fantastic collection of interior design ideas. Our room was unbelievably stylish, had every mod con ( iPod Dock, jacuzzi bath, massive flat screen tv, nespresso coffee machine etc) . We ate in the first floor restaurant , the decor in the room is again "show stoping" fantastic chandeliers , warm, cosy, perfect ambiance for dining. The menu was splendid, the ladies serving are to be commended for the perfect balance of chatty, warmth and so professional with a perfect knowledge of the wine and food in offer. The food was just fantastic. We were at this stage wondering how in the world had we not heard if this hotel before now . This is the perfect location for couples / grown ups to get away and feel pampered, probably not ideal for younger kids as there is a lot of quirky ornate things on halls and tables. There isn't one thing that we can fault this hotel on. And we just cannot praise it enough, from start to finish its an amazing experience and deserves to be recognised as the best of the best of hotels in Ireland. We checked out late and were told that breakfast was still available in the bar area, no hassles, no rush, nice hearty breakfast menu again served with a friendly "can do" attitude. This hotel is an amazing gem in the west of Ireland and a credit to its owners, and staff. Cannot wait to return and have been telling everyone and anyone to take a trip to Belmullet for a nice relaxed break.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Happysham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Reception at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are here to spoil you and ensure you enjoy your stay and are pleased you enjoyed the little added touches of luxury. We aim to make your stay one you wont forget and want you to return time and time again, and we hope you do ! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I really could not fault this hotel. Stayed here for one night with my wife for a family get-together recently and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel.

It is situated right on the main street approaching the town centre. Parking is available in the car park down by the quay with a short walk back up to the hotel.

The rooms were lovely - we had a really nice one with lots of trimmings including a lovely bath-jacuzzi...! We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were very good. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel if you happen to find yourself in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrightser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Reception at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

We are glad you found us and enjoyed your stay in the Belmullet area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I recently spent my hen weekend at the Talbot and can't speak highly enough about this hotel. It is finished to a really high standard in a modern yet cosy fashion. My room was beautiful - four poster bed, double shower, big bath tub, coffee machine ... really high spec. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were really friendly to deal with. The breakfast is a real treat, made to order -no buffet- so you can relax and take in the surroundings. This hotel is a treasure that is unassumingly tucked away on the main street entering the town. Whether it's a girlie weekend away or a romantic break in the west I would highly recommend. Thank you to the Talbot!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaffinLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Reception at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review and for chosing us to share your hen weekend with!
We hope you enjoyed your stay. It is always nice for the staff to hear compliments as it gives them a real boost!
We wish you all the best with your preperations and indeed your big day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
11.5 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
71 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
10.0 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
23.3 mi away
Mulranny Courtyard Suites & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: Barrack St, Belmullet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range: £66 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel Belmullet is Irelands Newest boutique hotel and the first four star hotel in Erris.The Talbot Belmullet County Mayo is a family run hotel offering luxury boutique accommodation in the centre of Belmullet town. Each of the chic, quirky 21 guestrooms has its own special charm...including an iPod dock, complimentary Wi-Fi. Butler tray, and oh joy, an espresso machine as well as a mini bar stocked with tempting treats, oversized fluffy bath robes and towels, slippers and spa toiletries.At The Talbot, all suites have double deluge rain showers, and their own fireplaces, just enough to leave you feeling tickled pink! You can plan your trip around Belmullet taking in all sorts of places of interest and activities - from heritage and culture to food and drink, to folklore and music! Belmullet is the capital of the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) region of Erris, an area that offers unspoilt beauty and glorious beaches and is the ideal place for that get away from it all holiday. Car hire is available at Ireland West Knock International Airport . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing