We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10 for this hotel”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“10 out of 10 for this hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here with a group of girls on a hen night over the weekend. From the second we entered the lobby we were greeted with smiles and made to feel like royalty. We had afternoon tea which was delightful and the bed rooms were just fabulous spacious and airy large bath and double shower, robes and slippers supplied. dinner in the Barony restaurant upstairs was something to savour. Goats cheese tartlet was divine and a great selection on the menu. Again the staff were a delight. Music in the bar was great craic. couldn't recommend the talbot enough. I will definitely be returning here.

Room Tip: we got to see the bridal suite which is a sight for sore eyes if you want a really special night awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Belmullet and thank you for taking the trouble to review us.
A great review like yours lifts everyone spirits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    55
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
128
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

There is something special about this place. The decor is fabulous but I think the staff make it unique. They are remarkably happy in their work giving a relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere. They couldnt be more helpful or efficient.(it's worth a stay just to see the staff in action!!) A special mention to Connie at reception who really made us feel at home.This was my second stay here. I cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
As we designed the interior ourselves we love it when people enjoy the hotel...it is that little bit different from other hotels a bit quirky but also homely with luxury thrown in.
So thank you for your kind comments and we hope you get a chance to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel on Saturday night for a girls night away, well what can I say it was just a truly fantastic experience from arrival till we unfortunately had to depart, the rooms were amazing , the food and atmosphere in the bar was brilliant but above all what blew me away was the most friendly and obliging staff I have ever come across , a special mention to the lovely receptionist Connie!!! Hats off to you all!!! We will def be back and highly recommending your hotel to friends and family, well done to you all ! Veronica

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
It was a pleasure having you all stay..we enjoyed it as much as you and hope to see you all back in the near future.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous rooms, lovely staff, delicious food and an excellent location. Myself and some friends stayed here on a hen party and had dinner, cocktail making class and entry into the nightclub. Couldn't fault the place. Will definitely be returning. Stay here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review, were glad you enjoyed your time at The Talbot and hope you get a chance to return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have just had the most amazing Hen Weekend at the Talbot Hotel in Belmullet. Myself and my sister picked the venue for my Hen party on hearing amazing things about it. From the time we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. A special word of thanks to Doreen on reception who was so helpful- she went to my room to find my phone to save me from going up again in my "Fab Shoes" !. I was delighted to see her walk into my room the next morning with champagne breakfast for the Bride to Be! We were provided with trays of sandwiches before our cocktail class as we were running late for dinner and again at the end of the night in their "Anchor Night Club". They went down a treat!

As for our Dinner in the fab Barony Restaurant- what can I say only that I have never tasted food like it in my life. It was truly amazing and all the restaurant staff were so helpful, providing us with umbrellas for the smoking area.

All 25 of us had great fun doing the cocktail making class with "Pat the Barman/D.J". He was a lovely chap with great sense of humour and he made sure that we danced the night away in the Anchor Night club where he played the tunes until the early hours.

All the bedrooms were decorated to the highest standard, each with their own unique style and the most amazing beds!

All in all, I would recommend the Talbot Hotel for an amazing Hen Party or even to unwind and Relax.. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrieb1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We really enjoyed the weekend its easy to work when everyone is having a good time.
Thank you for your kind review we all appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a beautiful unique hotel situated in the centre of a lovely traditional village with the broad Atlantic ocean on your doorstep. Each bedroom beautifully and individually styled with the most comfortable of beds. Breakfast freshly cooked to order and to top it all off, attentive friendly and professional staff in all areas. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your great review.
we're glad you like our hotel... we and the staff have put a lot of effort into it from design, food and service so its great that its appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Arrived with a hen party of 25, warmest of welcomes as we alighted the party bus!!! Hotel simply beautiful, all rooms decorated beautifully and spotlessly clean. Staff were hard to describe without sounding gushy - Doireen at reception was simply amazing- nothing was too much trouble. We were running late for our cocktail making class (our fault) meaning dinner would be delayed and platters of Sandwiches appeared to us in the bar. Great fun cocktail making with Pat. Went to the Barony restaurant for dinner which was so delicious, not one member of our group could say anything except that it was beyond their expectations. The waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive at both dinner and breakfast. Admission to the nightclub was included in the price and as the last stragglers were in the bar at the end of the night 2 more platters of sandwiches appeared. Members of the group who missed breakfast were offered the breakfast menu in the bar for no extra charge before we left. Over all its hard to sum up how great the hotel is other than to say I cannot wait to go back again and couldn't begin to recommend it highly enough I am unsure if the level of service can be topped anywhere in the country!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It was a pleasure having you all and we,re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have congratulated Doreen and Pat ...as they say it's a team effort .
Belmullet is a fabulous town and there are some great people in it.
Many thanks and we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.5 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
68 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairview House B&B
Fairview House B&B
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: Barrack St, Belmullet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel Belmullet is Irelands Newest boutique hotel and the first four star hotel in Erris.The Talbot Belmullet County Mayo is a family run hotel offering luxury boutique accommodation in the centre of Belmullet town. Each of the chic, quirky 21 guestrooms has its own special charm...including an iPod dock, complimentary Wi-Fi. Butler tray, and oh joy, an espresso machine as well as a mini bar stocked with tempting treats, oversized fluffy bath robes and towels, slippers and spa toiletries.At The Talbot, all suites have double deluge rain showers, and their own fireplaces, just enough to leave you feeling tickled pink! You can plan your trip around Belmullet taking in all sorts of places of interest and activities - from heritage and culture to food and drink, to folklore and music! Belmullet is the capital of the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) region of Erris, an area that offers unspoilt beauty and glorious beaches and is the ideal place for that get away from it all holiday. Car hire is available at Ireland West Knock International Airport . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing