We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning decor, excellent staff, not good for vegetarians”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Stunning decor, excellent staff, not good for vegetarians”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Decor is fabulous and the rooms were really comfortable.Staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Food in restaurant was very good although vegetarians beware that there is not much choice here for you. Very disappointed to see NO vegetarian option for main meal in the restaurant.(suggests to me an unimaginative chef) The receptionist even suggested some fish dishes and was very surprised to hear that vegetarians don't eat fish ??( crazy!) Also be advised that if you are a light sleeper that there is a nightclub attached to the hotel and you will hear this music until club ends,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macidublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
We thought we had a great choice for vegetarians with 3 main courses on lounge menu and 2 in the restaurant but its great to get fresh eyes on it ...because although they are written in black & white in the lounge upstairs vegetarian dishes change very often so they were not written down but offered by the waitress..who if you hadn't stopped her at the second choice was also going to offer you any of the 3 dishes from the lounge..but that is a failing on our behalf and thank you for pointing it out. I am going to rectify this and put one dish on the menu constantly and 1 as a special add the 3 from the lounge , that's 5 Main Courses available.
Forgive the receptionist we have had many pesco vegetarians, vegans and some very restrictive diets.....everyone is different...even 1 family with kids who when they come in with the mother they were vegetarians and with the father they were meat eaters...now that was a little confusing.
We are never going to get everything complete faultless but with your help we have tackled another problem where we though we were better than most places but we did not communicate this well with our customers.
My poor chef getting the blame for my mistakes.....
Your review will help me to improve how we let customers know what we are offering for vegetarians, its great to get this constructive criticism...because we were doing the hard work of making the dishes but not letting the customer know this was a major flaw.
Thank you Orla Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    52
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
121
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wonderful Irish Pub atmosphere downstairs and a delightful hotel facility upstairs.
with a very warm welcome and a wonderful surprise for guests when they are shown to their accommodation. the rooms are quirky but in an awesome way, with wonderful furnishings and décor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel Options United Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your great review .
I'm delighted you enjoyed the hotel and the design as that's my baby and i took some risks....the builders thought i was a little touched in the beginning but they doubted me less as we approached the end. People have been very surprised by the hotel in a nice way so that's great.
All the best,
Orla Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed Saturday until Sunday for my sisters hen night in a self catering apartment with 3 large bedrooms. Apartment had a huge glass window in kitchen/dining area with a beautiful view overlooking bay. Decor in apartment was gorgeous. Had such a good nights sleep as beds were so comfortable. Bathrooms even had under floor heating. Doreen even had a plate of chocolate covered strawberries ready for my sister when she arrived back from getting her hair and makeup done. Everything was so convienent with hairdressers and beauticians next door to hotel. Breakfast was so good with so much choice. The staff were so attentive and friendly. We were all in agreement we will definately stay here again. Great location for girls weekend, romatic getaway or family seaside holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynniejord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Doreen told me the strawberries were a gift from one of the girls in your party so you must find out who and thank them.
Yes Belmullet is a great location with so much to offer. They call us the hidded Gem because no one knows where we are, but were thankful you found us and we hope to see you back in Belmullet in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Words can not do justice to my recent stay in the Talbot for a hen weekend. From arriving on Friday evening to our departure Sunday morning the staff couldn't do enough for us. From receptionist, barman, and restaurant staff they were all so helpful and no request was too much.

the rooms were very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable- in fact i think its been the best nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel. Everyone of the group commented on how comfortable the beds actually were!

the food for breakfast and dinner was amazing. As it was a hen weekend we were not expecting a 5 star experience for dinner that we got. the service was fantastic from Breakfast "Mary" and her extra portions of mushrooms and continuous supply of toast and Tea! to Steven's supply of sandwiches after the nightclub!

Nobody was rushing us either on Sunday morning which was a brilliant relief-as after a few too many drinks on Saturday night meant everyone could relax and ensure that they were fit to drive Sunday morning-Great relief and not many hotels make people feel as welcome and comfortable as the Talbot.

Everyone who came had a great weekend and couldn't stop praising the staff and I will definitely be recommending the Talbot to all my friends and family in the future!

In fact I'd like to get away for a total relaxation weekend with the future hubby :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mags232123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review,
I love when people like our staff....because they are our family here and your right Mary is a gem and a second mammy to us all...with hugs for anyone having a bad day...and a smile for everyone.
This review will give Mary , Steven poor night porters are always forgotten) and the staff a boost and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Ensuring a warm personal welcome to all guests is obviously very important to the owner-managers of this hotel. They lead by example and the result is a great team determined to make every guest enjoy the Mayo friendliness as well as the scenery in that exceptionally beautiful area. The managers were always on hand but in our four days of sight seeing the receptionists on duty (Doreen and Connie) gave us expert advice as well as attending with alacrity to all our requests.They hand out an excellent tourist map to describe where to go and what to see..
I must single out the lady who runs the community - tourist centre at Eachleim (on the way to Blacksod)..As she explained what to do as well as the history of the area she baked us fresh fscones and made us a huge pot of coffee. We took her advice and visited the well of Deirbhile..and although not churchgoers we did take her advice and applied the water from the holy well to our eyes . I swear there is a no better view of Achill than the view from Derbhile's well. One of the best viewpoints in Ireland..
Another sight worth the scenic drive was the Ceide Fields at Ballycastle,. It has an excellent visitor centre which opened early just to accomodate us: typical of the warm welcome to tourists in North Mayo...
A word of caution. A hotel like the Talbot can get booked up very quickly. I suggest you book well in advance as we did,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selvaoilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Front Office Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. We are all very proud of our team here at The Talbot Hotel. Really glad that you enjoyed your visit and all your walks in the area. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and hope to chat with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel has been dubbed “the mini G hotel”…(After the 5* “G hotel” in Galway)….and I can see why… The rooms and décor of the hotel are exquisite. Everything is luxurious- big purple/green velvet comfortable chairs in the hallways and restaurant.There are crystals and chandeliers everywhere, even the detail of crystals on the candles in the bar bathroom window. There are the small touches that make the décor stand out- like colour schemes, blacks, pinks, purples, and the choice of wallpapers and paints. Do not be deceived by the exterior décor of the building which sits on the main street as you enter Belmullet - it’s more than special as soon as you cross the threshold passing the floral scented candles into reception. Exceptional.

I organised a hen party for 24 girls staying in rooms, and rented the apartment across the road from the hotel in May, which accommodates 6 very comfortably. The accommodation is top notch- I found it hard to get out of the bed, as it was so comfy.
The apartment across the way is lovely, really big living space, plenty of comfortable leather couches, with a dining table to accommodate 6 people, really well equipped kitchen, and the bedrooms were spacious and the view- well the view speaks for itself- looking out onto the estuary- lovely.
There is ample parking on the street directly outside the hotel, and if that’s busy there is only a short (1minutedrive) to park out on the carpark facing the estuary.
The food in the restaurant is exceptional; we even got a free entrée, to start the meal. Again, the staff were exemplary; waiting on our group hand and foot, bringing out cakes with lighting candles on que, and cutting the cake in the kitchen, saving the decorations from the table in reception to be collected the next morning. I couldn’t say enough about the service here, waited on hand and foot, and served great gourmet food with a smile.
The breakfast served in the morning is of the highest quality- from kippers to French toast to a Traditional fry- they have it all. Fresh juices, cereals etc.
I cannot say enough about the staff at the Talbot hotel- anything I asked was not a problem. They came over 3 times the first night of arrival to make sure the WIFI in the apartment was working correctly. Even coming across the road to take a group picture of the attendees of the hen party was no problem. There were complimentary sandwiches rolled out for arrival at the wee hours back from the nightclub on Saturday in the hotel bar. They were the friendliest and most helpful of staff I’ve experienced in an Irish hotel- from the moment of booking the hen party in January to the moment of departure from the hotel on Jun 1st they couldn’t do enough. I even had an email to ensure all attendees were safe home, and wishing the bride well for her wedding day. The staff are the easiest and most helpful I could have ever thought possible when planning a hen night.
I couldn’t recommend this hotel enough. Suitable for all ages for a chilled out and relaxing weekend in Belmullet. If you’re going to Belmullet don’t miss this little gem of a hotel- you won’t be sorry if you stay or dine here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CKork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
What a great review, Thank You....
You have noticed so many details ....when we designed the hotel we knew that we wanted to have something far from generic hotel rooms so we put a lot of thought into the design, comfort and hoped others would like it, we're delighted you did.
Hope to see you back soon,
regards,
Orla Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at the Talbot as part of a hen party group. The decor is beautiful and quirky, and the rooms are bright and spacious, as well as being well-decorated. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel was clean throughout. Had breakfast both mornings - great choice and really delicious. No request was too much for the staff who were all very friendly and welcoming. We also ate in the award-winning restaurant - the meal was one of the best I've had in a long time. Very tasty, again a great choice on the menu and very well-presented and incredibly tasty. As mentioned before, the staff were so accommodating - they even had trays of sandwiches ready for us when we arrived back to the resident's bar after the nightclub! If I'm ever travelling to Belmullet again, I will stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We would be delighted to have you back and really enjoyed having you all to stay...our job is easy when the guests are so nice. Thank you for taking the trouble to write this review...feedback is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.5 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
63 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
39.4 mi away
Bru Chlann Lir
Bru Chlann Lir
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: Barrack St, Belmullet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel Belmullet is Irelands Newest boutique hotel and the first four star hotel in Erris.The Talbot Belmullet County Mayo is a family run hotel offering luxury boutique accommodation in the centre of Belmullet town. Each of the chic, quirky 21 guestrooms has its own special charm...including an iPod dock, complimentary Wi-Fi. Butler tray, and oh joy, an espresso machine as well as a mini bar stocked with tempting treats, oversized fluffy bath robes and towels, slippers and spa toiletries.At The Talbot, all suites have double deluge rain showers, and their own fireplaces, just enough to leave you feeling tickled pink! You can plan your trip around Belmullet taking in all sorts of places of interest and activities - from heritage and culture to food and drink, to folklore and music! Belmullet is the capital of the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) region of Erris, an area that offers unspoilt beauty and glorious beaches and is the ideal place for that get away from it all holiday. Car hire is available at Ireland West Knock International Airport . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing