We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful holidays”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite) Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite)
Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Bedroom 2 Twin room (double & single bed)
Upstairs livingroom, stunning views of the Mullet peninsula.
Kitchen - Dining area
Family bathroom.
Belmullet CGS (North facing)
Our 2 Luxury Pods.
Boat trips can be arranged by request.
Luxury Pods also availablle
A panoramic view from Claggan Island.
Panoramic view from Belmullet Cgs.
Aerial View of Claggan Island. July 2013
Aerial view with Claggan Island in the background, July 2013
Sunset over Belmuller CGS
Claggan Island Sunset
Claggan Beach with Belmullet CGS in the background.
Claggan Beach (Achill Island in background)
Stunning views of Achill to the south.
Carramore lake. A 15 minute drive away.
The wild Atlantic ocean at its best.
Ballyglass Lighthouse. 20 minute drive from Claggan Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Lighthouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belmullet, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MarliesRo...
Goeppingen
1 review
“Peaceful holidays”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you are looking for a place where you can get a lot of recreation - here it is! Claggan Island is a haven of tranquility if there is no stormy weather. And if it is, you have a nice place at the stove for relaxing reading knitting or whatever you want. In the evening I liked to stand on the little balcony and enjoy the panorama.
The house is very well equipped and lovely decorated. The hosts Laurence and Myra are very friendly and helpful if you would need it. And the ducks and hens will awake you in the morning so that the walk to the beach may start.
We will come back to Claggan Island! It is one of our favourite holiday locations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannelle4...
Orleans, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“a dream come true”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

You've dreamed of it ? Laurence and Myra made it true !

"Knock, knock, knocki'n on Heaven's door"... Laurence and Myra opened it and it was our first look on Ireland. Sublime scenery everywhere, welcoming hosts, lots of kindness and sharing.

Thank you so much for having our holidays become so wonderful. All was perfect and more.

Many thanks too to Laurence senior, whose advice were so judicious.and whose rhubarb jam is so tasty !

Hope we have one day the opportunity to come back again.

Take care of you and your beautiful boys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All : house, view,,sea, area, meet the owners
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you for this positive and flattering review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. We are delighted you enjoyed your first visit to Ireland and the Erris region. We hope to meet you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NualaEvan...
Flint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st class accomadation in stunning setting”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week in a stunning setting. My grandchildren had a great time with the animals and on the beach which is near by. The house was everything we hoped for and more, with everything you needed. The house was very modern and tastefully decorated and furnished. The Howards Laurence & Ann and Laurence and Myra were very welcoming. We highly recommend this Coastal Station as you would not be disappointed and if you want peace and tranquillity this is the place. It was also very spotless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Belmullet Coastguard Station, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to meet you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilma D
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top class property in a fantastic island setting”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent a wonderful week in this very comfortable house The advantage of sea beaches and farmland together make it an ideal place for those who live in cities or towns to recharge their batteries also a great place for children to experience farming life and livestock The friendliness of the owners is the best I have experienced in renting cottages in the past 15 years

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Crossing the causeway
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Wow, thank you for your kind words and praise for us. We are truly flattered and delighted you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure meeting you all and spending time in your company. Thank you for the wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & look forward to meeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maryscanl...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The warmest welcome under mackerel skies”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at the coast guard station on claggan island.
The family made us very welcome and checked we had everything we needed for a memorable stay.
Memories:
The starriest skies, cosiest turf fires, song of the sky lark, stretches of clean white sand, clear blue green sea, the story telling and laughter mixed with the tranquility of the island
Our 5 year old son enjoyed all the farm animals and even got a ride on a tractor.
There's wifi, wii DVDs and board games if you prefer to stay inside
There's so much to do and see on the wild Atlantic Coast and after exploring it was bliss to return to the peace and comfort of the island

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A home from home feel
Liked least: Readjusting the reclining chairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments, it was a pleasure meeting you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again on Claggan Island. Many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
853Elisab...
Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
“Great house near the beach”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The cottage on Claggan Island is spacious, clean, and tastefully furnished and the kitchen is very well equipped. Our hosts were extremely friendly and always happy to advise us on the sights as well as restaurants and pubs in the area.
We especially enjoyed going to the beach (a few minutes on foot) and watching the gorgeous Irish sunset. All in all, we would recommend this cottage to anyone - couples, families or groups of friends. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the Sea
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back on Claggan Island again in the near future. Best wishes from all at Belmullet Cgs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing