We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, so I'm not a great links player”
Review of Carne Golf Links

Carne Golf Links
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carne Golf Links lies in magnificent unspoiled sand dunes overlooking Blacksod Bay and the wild Atlantic Ocean near Belmullet Co. Mayo in the west of Ireland. Carne was the last links course to be designed by the late Eddie Hackett and it is now believed by many who have played it to be his greatest challenge. The building of Carne has caused little disturbance to this wild and ancient landscape. Tees and greens occurred naturally and very little earth moving was involved in the course construction. Along the course are some breathtaking views over the Atlantic and the legendary islands of Inis Glóire and Inis Géidh
Palm Desert, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK, so I'm not a great links player”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wife and I played Carne as the last of 6 courses in the north and west or Ireland. The positives are a pretty drive out to bellumet, great views, very fair landing areas (many are blind...take a caddy), shorter tees for the ladies and friendly dining staff. The fairways were hard and dry with many spots not having much grass at all. We played a number of courses with lots of climbs and descending that seemed to be very clever layouts, but Carne seemed a bit too rolly-polly to me. Our caddy (which I only arranged five hours ahead of time) was not as experienced, helpful or colorful as what we had at the other courses.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank drrob60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    18
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This One”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It was a long drive from Dublin but when you reach Belmullet you know that you are in a special place, a different world - next stop across the Atlantic is New York. According to course designer Eddie Hackett, God did all the hard work and Eddie just laid out a few holes. This is far too modest and to hugely undervalue his vision and abilities for first class golf architecture. The front nine are a lovely balance of traditional links with a mix of blind shots, doglegs, strong par 4’s and a terrific number 9 up to the clubhouse to complete the front. The back nine are nothing short of stunning starting at 10 with a majestic par 5. You then twist and turn through magnificent dunes all the way through the rest including our favourite hole – Tir Na Nog (Land of Eternal Youth) the Par 3, 14th right beside the Atlantic Ocean. Take time as we did for a few minutes and imbibe a few drops from your hip flask taking in the splendour of the scenery. The hip flask helped us through the wonderful 4 closing holes with another wonderful par 5 to finish. It’s one of those golf courses where you only need to play it once to remember all the holes. As always in Ireland the staff are very warm and friendly and the food and Guinness in the clubhouse is a great way to relax after the round. Carne Links has been written about many times as the real hidden gem of links golf and my final comment is get there anyway, anytime, anyhow so that you can to play it before ‘they’ find this hidden gem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmullet, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not a Golfer”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Im not a golfer but always enjoy the food in the Club House. The Staff are very Nice and professional

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BMARIEM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great course - still”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We played this over 10 years ago and always promised ourselves another visit. It is just as good, if not better. Superb links course with views to take your breath away. Nice people in the bar/restaurant and clubhouse. Always welcoming.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great challenging course”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

tough links course but unfortunately we played it on a day with hurricane wind blowing. Would play again on a calmer day!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DublinRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carne Golf Links also viewed

Belmullet, County Mayo
Belmullet, County Mayo
 
Enniscrone, County Sligo
Belmullet, County Mayo
 

Been to Carne Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing