We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Anniversary break”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Positivies-we arrived at the hotel on a gorgeous summers day that makes everything look great.checked in very quickly room clean an bright.enjoyed dinner in bar and breakfast was delicious.we also had a four course meal as part of our package was wonderful stuffed to say the least.lovely view from hotel and public areas clean and well presented.pool large and jacuzzi relaxing.enjoyed our spa treatment.belmullet and surrounding area is beautiful the beaches on a sunny day are like those you would find in Spain clean and sea so clear.negatives-because of the warm weather room was very hot no air conditioning or fans available quiet uncomfortable to rest in but didn't mater when we were outside.breakfast was extremely busy and often had to wait a long time to food came out again but the ladies were very good and made sure we got everything we wanted in the end.overall more positives than negatives very enjoyable summer break:-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdreclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    125
    43
    15
    6
See reviews for
172
150
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was a good stay. We were two couples. We brought bicycles and had good weather. The hotel allowed us to lock-up our bike indoors. The staff was extremely pleasant and could not do enough for us. The indoor swimming pool was a great addition and we made good use of it. The breakfast was extremely good but the evening meal was disappointing and under par. The rooms were modern enough and were clean and spacious. There was a large car park on the same level as the reception.
The local tourist trails were worth investigating. The beaches and scenery were fabulous. We had good weather. I would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We recently stayed in the Broadhaven Bay Hotel as part of a three day mini family holiday and traveled up to Belmullet from Wexford, a very long 5 hour journey! Overall our stay was very enjoyable! We ate one night in the restaurant and found the experience to be very fulfilling (literally) and the food without a doubt very good. A large open area away from the reception allowing privacy to access wi-fi and "google away" and not having to sit in the bar with our son late in the evening was also an extra bonus. I do realise this hotel is not a 5 star hotel but the hospitality, service and food for both breakfast and dinner was of very good quality and no point knocking it a star in my review because I didn't receive a turndown service :) It deserves the business and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: A room towards the front of the building, receives an excellent lake view. Although we didn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a 3 star hotel stayed there for 5 days.
The location was amazing, the hotel was full of guests. The pool is a proper 25 metre pool.

The breakfast was excellent the ladies serving breakfast were so accommodating when we arrived late. Lovely fresh good quality food. The rooms are basic but its 3 star. We stayed on the 2nd floor well away from the conference halls etc. There are 2 weddings and a major school reunion when we were there. The hotel looked lovely. Housekeeping were very helpful when we asked for extra towels etc.

Nearby there are at least 6/7 beaches beautiful ones. We took a trip out to Inis Ge one of the Islands off the coast. This was lovely.

We ordered food one night in the bar and it was very very slow coming. We all got our food at different times. This was when there was big event on so you could understand that there would be a bit of a delay. The food was very good.

The staff were 5 star. Location 5 star.

Room Tip: 2nd floor well away from the internal terrace where people smoke when there is an event being held.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterReviewer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed here for a wedding in August this year. The main thing that stands out for me is the high level of customer service we received from each and every member of staff, from cleaners, receptionists, bar staff, right through to the managers. We were on the ground floor and found it quite noisy on the first night, as many wedding guests were walking past our room, banging doors etc. The following morning we mentioned this to the receptionist and within 20 minutes she had a new room for us in a quiet location. A member of cleaning staff even insisted on bringing my mother's suitcase for her! The food at the wedding was very good - there was so much! The breakfasts were also good. We had another example of fantastic service when I asked one of the dining room staff if they had any more pain au chocolat and she went to the kitchen and put on a fresh batch, even though breakfast was technically finished at that point! These little touches made it a very positive experience.

Room Tip: If you are going for a wedding (and there are a lot in the hotel) I would recommend asking for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stunning location, excellent staff and Manager. The food and service was fantastic. So much to do for families, leisure centre, spa, hairdresser, kids club, huge foyer with lots of comfy couches, welcome packs for kids, cycling, blue flag beaches beaches, surfing, sightseeing, ceide fields, lighthouses. A great family staycation.

Room Tip: Ground floor family room, the shower is a bit rustic but the room is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nead74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel is beautiful the food was excellent the rooms were very clean and the leisure centre was excellent. Having said all that, we had a lot of mishaps from day one. First of all the view from the room was awful. All you could see were walls and electric doors. Being positive people we were not going to let this spoil our stay. While sitting on the sofa bed it collapsed as it was broken. It as replaced with a single one which left the room even more cramped. We had 1 chair between 4 people and the table was tilted so much the drink would slide accross it! House keeping knocked the door in the morning but did not wait for a relpy and just came in while we where in bed. On the 3rd day we arrived back drenched from a trip and were about to get changed when we heard something at the door. I went over to see what was going on and this woman came barging in. She never excused herself or apoligised but just decided to bring the man she had with her on in to look at the broken sofa bed. We told her it had been sorted and that we had to move it to make room for the single one. She then got grumpy because we asked for some extra chairs. The male staff member was so helpful and friendly he seemed embrassed for the intrusion. On the way past we mentioned what happed to reception. They rang this lady who lied and said she knocked. This really spoiled our stay as not only did we feel uneasy about people entering the room at anytime but we were made out to be lairs. The rest of the staff were fantastic and the staff at Gateway were brilliant to. We wish these mishaps had not happened because this could have been a wonderful holiday as Bellmullet is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. The scenery and beaches are gorgeous. Give it a go but get a room with a view and lock your door from the inside!! (we only learned you could to do this after the intrusions!! lol).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magslittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.5 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
63 reviews
23.0 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadhaven Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadhaven Bay Hotel

Property: Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Address: Shrofornagh Ballina Road | Belmullet, Co. Mayo, Belmullet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Broadhaven Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious family owned Broadhaven Bay Hotel is located only minutes walk from the centre of the bustling town of Belmullet in the heart of the spectacular Erris region of North Mayo. This Mayo Hotel is ideally located to discover the breathtaking scenery of the unspoilt Atlantic coast and the truly captivating Erris peninsula. We offer high quality, modern accommodation and a traditional Mayo welcome - the perfect destination for those seeking rejuvenation or looking for a bit of adventure. There is a great selection of walking and cycling loops nearby, with bike and helmet hire available in the hotel. Dine in the elegant surroundings of the Bayside Restaurant where you will be served a fusion of modern and traditional Irish dishes with the freshest local produce. Enjoy drinks, the crack and all day bar food at the Kilmore Bar. Relax in our 25M heated pool*, sauna, steam room or jacuzzi in the Éalú Health & Leisure Club or work up a sweat in our fully equipped gym. Be pampered at the Spa Elysium on site at the hotel where a wide range of therapies in a calm and tranquil setting are on offer. Milano Hairdressers, also on site, offers the latest in hair design and styling.* The swimming pool is equipped for entry by persons with special mobility needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broadhaven Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadhaven Bay Belmullet
Hotel Broadhaven Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing