We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a modern hotel by a western sea-lough, with a lovely view and plenty of public space; adequate furnishings; decent food especially breakfast; and smiling staff. Not perhaps top-class luxury but a find to be recommended if you want to enjoy the scenery, archaeology and natural attractions of this part of Mayo. Unfortunately our first night's sleep was rather spoiled by a large party of schoolgirls celebrating the end of their education with an alcoholic "graduation" and passing the night in shouting and arguments. I gathered the next morning that some guests were signing out early. The staff were sympathetic and reassuring, as one would have expected. The owner very honestly said that the girls would be future customers for wedding receptions, and of course a hotel there has a community as well as a tourist role. My advice? Certainly go with confidence to the Broadhaven but ask first.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with a sea view. Unfortunately the view included the main carpark and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    120
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
168
146
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hotel: First impressions were wonderful, overlooking broadhaven bay with beautiful grounds. All areas of the hotel have so much space including, reception area, bar area and restaurant. They are very well presented, clean and modern.

Staff: All staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and efficient especially the lady at reception. On check out she asked us were we disturbed by the function taking place in the hotel and apologised before we even had a chance to say that we didn’t hear a thing!

Bedroom: We had a beautiful room on the 2nd floor overlooking the bay. Luxurious, spotlessly clean room with a large double bed, Flat screen tv, Fridge and two very comfortable armchairs (like you would have at home).

Food: We had an evening meal included, which we had in the restaurant. The food and service was just fantastic with a great variety to choose from on the menu. I had the steak and it was huge! The buffet breakfast was a wonderful experience, loads to choose from and even @ 10.30am when breakfast was finished they were still bringing out fresh items on request.

Was disappointed that we didn’t get time to use the pool it looked fabulous.

I would highly recommend this hotel. It is located in the very quiet area of Bellmullet a wonderful spot to relax and unwind for the weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of bay are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundrum, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Arrived on a Sunday evening in June. The receptionist couldn't have been more helpful. We messed up in that we needed a triple room but had only booked a double. No problem - how often do you hear that these days??

Each time we passed reception or met a member of staff they asked how we were getting on. Good old fashioned looking after the guest. It was great.

We had super breakfasts each day and they were freshly prepared down to the fresh poached eggs. Again how often do you see that these days??

Dinner in the bar was first class and the food super. Very short wine list but very reasonably priced. All in all a super visit and we can't wait to visit again.

Would we recommend it to a friend - no not to one but to ALL our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fintan_Mac_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is my second review of the Broadhaven Bay hotel. We attended a wedding in December 2013 & were blown away by the helpful staff. The entire family came back for another celebration in June & we were again delighted by the high standard of service. We were made to feel so welcome. The staff goes above & beyond to provide 5 star service. The meal & breakfast were delicious. The room was clean & spacious. There's a gorgeous view from the front of the hotel. I'd highly recommend this hotel for celebrating any occasion!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tRvlChic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our daughter had her wedding reception here last Friday and I cannot rate the Broadhaven highly enough! All the staff were exceptional and go way beyond anything I have experienced anywhere. From the moment we arrived, right through the wedding reception and all the next day/night nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. I want to mention in particular Josephine who treated us all like royalty!! I would highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue or indeed for a break at any time! You will not be disappointed as the hospitality is second to none!!

Room Tip: Rooms at front have a fabulous view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo/Galway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My hen party was in May we stayed at The Broadhaven Bay Hotel. The hotel staff were absolutely fantastic and so attentive. There's a lovely view over the bay from the hotel and a nice drive up to it. Upon arrival we had a very warm welcome and the staff had a table laid out for us with a bottle of bubbly and t-shirts provided by the hotel with my hen details on the front of them all. We had dinner there in the evening, in what felt like a private part of the dining room, it was great. (I heard that the hotel staff even asked what colour I was using for my wedding so they could have the runner on the table in that colour!) The servers were great, always made sure we weren't short of anything. The food was fantastic! There was more than plenty on our plates and it was so tasty. Kathleen came in with another bottle of bubbly for us and wished me well on my day, she was so lovely. The front bar is a great big space and has beautiful views over the bay. A shuttle bus was provided by hotel to take us into the town which was only a couple minutes drive away. The rooms were spacious and clean. Plenty of choice at breakfast with breads, juices, cereals and of course the fry up. It was self service so you could have as much as you wanted.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff are excellent at what they do. Looked after all of us very well. I will be back and other friends have already said they will definitely be retuning and will be bringing their children with them.

Thank you to the staff at the Broadhaven Bay for looking after us so well :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Half term week , still very impressed with all the staff, a lovely welcome from Claire on the desk, lovely dinner staff, and still love the breakfast buffet, again a warm welcome from Annette and the girls. Kids were made a fuss of and they loved the pancakes .
Enjoyed swimming and of course the scenery and beaches with great weather.

Room Tip: Room at the front facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne11297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.5 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
23.0 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
54.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadhaven Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadhaven Bay Hotel

Property: Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Address: Shrofornagh Ballina Road | Belmullet, Co. Mayo, Belmullet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Broadhaven Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious family owned Broadhaven Bay Hotel is located only minutes walk from the centre of the bustling town of Belmullet in the heart of the spectacular Erris region of North Mayo. This Mayo Hotel is ideally located to discover the breathtaking scenery of the unspoilt Atlantic coast and the truly captivating Erris peninsula. We offer high quality, modern accommodation and a traditional Mayo welcome - the perfect destination for those seeking rejuvenation or looking for a bit of adventure. There is a great selection of walking and cycling loops nearby, with bike and helmet hire available in the hotel. Dine in the elegant surroundings of the Bayside Restaurant where you will be served a fusion of modern and traditional Irish dishes with the freshest local produce. Enjoy drinks, the crack and all day bar food at the Kilmore Bar. Relax in our 25M heated pool*, sauna, steam room or jacuzzi in the Éalú Health & Leisure Club or work up a sweat in our fully equipped gym. Be pampered at the Spa Elysium on site at the hotel where a wide range of therapies in a calm and tranquil setting are on offer. Milano Hairdressers, also on site, offers the latest in hair design and styling.* The swimming pool is equipped for entry by persons with special mobility needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broadhaven Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadhaven Bay Belmullet
Hotel Broadhaven Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing