We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real customer service and attention to detail”
Review of Foxford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foxford Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Foxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We first stayed here over 15 years ago and have never considered anywhere else since....it has been 100% consistent if not improved in each visit, including the 3 nigts we just did. Harry, Bridget and family are lovely and the accomodations are perfect. They have a great knack for taking care of every need without being obtrusive and also with a genuineness that isn't often seen. Can't say enough, breakfasts are great, accomodation clean, warm and feel like home away from home. We haven't done it but I believe they also host murder mystery weekends which would be great knowing their attention to detail and focus giving everyone a great experience. Harry is also a fabulous artist so be sure to check out the studio next door

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
137Harry, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

The last time Patrick was here his family where only infants. Amazing how time passes and his children are a complete credit to Patrick and Maeve. Lovely family and with thanks for a kind and thoughtful review. 137Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

One of the best experiences that I have had. Stay was most comfortable. Everything was over our expectations. Really enjoyed this luxury and will highly recommend this to anyone. Food was awesome and the hosts could not have looked after us any better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NehaShinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
137Harry, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Such a kind review, a ladies group who paint in Oils, Acrylics and watercolour. They came to paint with me recently and they where great fun.Thank you again. Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed in the foxford lodge for a weekend on a bike trip, well looked after by Bridget and Harry on arrival we were treated to fresh scones and jam even drove 12 of us bikers to dinner, can't recommend enough great value for money, Bridget's homemade brown and soda bread are a must even gave some to bring home, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
137Harry, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for the great review, we enjoyed having these wonderful bikers here and their passion for bikes is so obvious especially with the care and attention that they give to them. Hope we get the opportunity to look after these men again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Harry and Brigid are the most perfect hosts. We arrived 12 motorcycles strong and got fresh made scones and jam. The rooms are perfect and everyone of the guys say they will be back. It was a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: A tip to picking a good room? pick anyone they are all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
137Harry, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review, we had an great time with these bikers, good humoured and a lot of fun. a joy to know and look after. Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Foxford Lodge is well worth a visit. Homemade scones on arrival, sure where else would you get that. Breakfast was very nice, homemade soda bread and brown bread to go with it. The rooms were spotless, I mean spotless!! walking distance from Foxford town and a short taxi ride from Pontoon and the wonderful lakes. If you decide to eat out go to Healys the food is delish. All this for 35 euro per night, great value!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
137Harry, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for the first class review, we are very grateful to everyone for taking the time to send trip advisor a review. It is important for us to know how we are doing and if we are doing a good job. 137 Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Brigid and Harry were very hospitable. We were given some delicious lemon cake on our arrival and the breakfast the next morning was just as good! Really delicious. Our room had four beds - two twins and a small double. As it was our honeymoon we squished onto the double and unfortunatley had a terrible sleep as the matress wasnt too comfy either. The room was well kept though and quite clean.
Definitely head out to the woolen mills if you are in Foxford!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
137Harry, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for the nice review, surprised about the mattress though? as we normally get great comments on our comfortable beds. All our beds have 8" orthopaedic mattresses. Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

i have just stayed at Foxford lodge for 2 nights with my Mum.The rooms were beautifully decorated and really comfortable but it was the welcome given by Brigid that was really exeptional. She made calls for us , reccomended places i could find veggie food locally and even gave us a liftt back to the lodge when we went out for dinner and gave us a lovely homemade rhubarb and orange cake when we arrived. I was sorry to leave and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
137Harry, Owner at Foxford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for the review, Lovely people we hope you do come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Foxford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxford Lodge

Address: Station Road | Pontoon Road, Foxford F26 D270, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Foxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Foxford
Price Range: £59 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foxford Lodge is situated on the outskirts of Foxford. There are six well appointed rooms, comfortable orthopaedic beds, free to air satellite TV, en-suite rooms and one Single room with a private Bathroom.Our breakfast menu is seemingly taking on a celebrity status on Tripadvisor with excellent reviews. We'll let the menu speak for itself when you get here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Foxford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing