We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, Lovely Place , Lovely Food”
Review of The Mayfly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mayfly Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Foxford
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Lovely Place , Lovely Food”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed in the mayfly hotel last week. Its very homely and cosy and has a lovely character about it. the room was spotless and warm, with free wifi. can't fault the breakfast, it was tasty and kept us going for the day. Food in the bar that night was absolutely lovely, and great value. the hospitality we were given was ten out of ten. will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Floyd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    22
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
27
25
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed here over the christmas, as i was visiting family. The place was great the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much, there are no kettles in the room however as soon as I asked within minutes a tray arrived and a complimentry scone, which was lovely. The food is definely wonderful and the trad session on Sunday night was fantastic.
My room was good, had everthing I needed and the bathroom was a good size with nice warm shower and most importantly imacculately clean. I will be back.

Room Tip: room 110, room to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolucy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Mayfly in December. I have to say what a lovely place it is. The staff are so incredibly friendly and welcoming. The bar was lovely and warm, and the restaurant had a lovely open fire & candles everywhere too and fabulous food. the steak was to die for and my hubby had the duckling which was equally as delicious. Rooms comfortable, clean and warm, what more would you want! A special thanks to the manager Lisa, she really has a great team! Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here for a 3 night break, what a wonderful little gem to find in the heart of Foxford, Our room was warm and comfy with a large bathroom, both of which were VERY clean, the flat screen tv. had the usual channel, not just rte. We decided to eat the first night in the hotel resturant, the food was wonderful so good that we ate in the hotel for all 3 nights and had lunch before we returned home,the hotel manager Lisa is a great asset to the Mayfly, no request was too much for her to carry out and notthing a problem. Lisa & all your team keep up the good work and we can't wait to come back for few days. Great Food, Comfoy Clean Room, wonderful staff, we had a wonderful, relaxing time at the Mayfly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The rooms are basic with no kettles, free wifi available and at the price I was more than happy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PazBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My Girl and I stayed here for 1 night as I was fishing the Foxford Rocks beats the next day, the hotel was full as it was a holiday weekend and there was a wedding on locally the next day. This is not a stylish hotel, this is not a style hotel, this is not a hip, or happening or any other style conscious or modern interpretation of a hotel stay, what it is, however, is a throwback to a simpler time in Ireland, yes the rooms are a bit shabby, yes the dust under the radiator could bed pigs if collected, and yes breakfast is a bit hilarious but not if you are able to digest a pound of pork at a single sitting, the bar/nightclub/dance-floor/restaurant has to be seen to be believed, but the portions at dinner are massive, so no fault there, but be careful of the chicken wings your kids will need an asbestos lined mouth to eat them, as a visiting French family found out.

And all the staff are lovely, just lovely.

So in my opinion if you don't mind a throwback to a simpler time and possibly sharing your hotel with likely Odd Blokes, Fishermen, Stag Nighters, Dirty Weekenders, Escapists, Drunks, Monks and Sinners and those with a sense of adventure, you will have great fun.
And its cheap, stupidly cheap, especially if you get a web deal. Have fun. ( I Loved it, but the Girl likes a bit more Glamour)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have eaten here in the bar many times now,so I have to write this to say a very well done to the chef who produces consistently good food, every time we visit. There are the usual fish and chips and meat pie with potatoes and veg,which my wife and daughter always love , but there is a specials board and the menu does change every so often,so when we try something new , we have not been dissapointed yet.You can eat in the bar or walk through to the restaurant which is a bit more formal, but where ever you go you get a nice friendly welcome and leave as a satisfied customer.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Smokeyjoelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foxford
0.0 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.0 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enniscoe House
Enniscoe House
#7 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfly Hotel

Property: The Mayfly Hotel
Address: Foxford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Foxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Foxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mayfly Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mayfly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfly Hotel Foxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing