We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilling out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights in April and the first thing that strikes you in the the Welcome you recieve at the reception desk. The room itself was spotless and there was also Tea/Coffee making facilities for you. We had a meal in the bar and it was very reasonable but best of all Tasty.The breakfast also was served in a lovely bright well aired room and the tables were all laid out with proper table cloths and cutelery. The town of Ballina is pretty big and the bars are full of Craic and Music. we will be back here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear jackie m

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Manor and that you received the wonderful welcome we pride ourselves on, our F&B team are also delighted that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us. Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Went for the weekend with my husband, had a great time, lovely hotel, very comfortable room, fabulous staff, very friendly and helpful, would recommend anyone wanting a break away in a superb town with lots to do nearby too

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlsontourJune2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear GirlsontourJune2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review, I have passed on your lovely feedback to the rest of the team at The Manor and we are really looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Ballina in the near future!

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a business trip and was underwhelmed by the hotel but charmed by the staff there.

The hotel itself is in a great location in Ballina beside the river in the small town.

On arrival the first obstacle is getting into the narrow car park entrance and finding a space. Once you have got over that in reception there will be a friendly welcome and a warm fire burning.

Amenity wise the rooms are ok, if dated and very warm. Towels and sheets could use a bit of fabric conditioner as they were a bit scratchy but the beds were comfortable enough. Shower was old fashioned but had good pressure. Rooms were clean and tidy.

Breakfast is fine and I ate out so didn't use the hotel restuarant.

Gym facilities are out of order at the moment due to recent floods.

All. Of the downsides were made up for the fact that everyone I encountered was friendly and happy to help. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Caroline M

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor, our team were delighted to hear your kind words. We do pride ourselves on excellent customer service, we hope to welcome you back to The Manor in the near future to use all of our facilities.

Thanks again!

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The male desk clerk was especially helpful. My wife was ill with vomiting and diarrhea. She needed medical attention. The desk clerk found us medical care locally and made sure that we arrived at the medical facility. After medical care, he made sure we had everything that could be provided by the hotel (Ice, extra linen, and soft drinks) If I am within 150 kilometers of Ballina, I will reserve and stay at the Best Western PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Le-Roi-de-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Le-Roi-de-France

Thank you for your lovely review, Thomas is delighted with your lovely comments! We also hope that your wife is fully recovered and got to enjoy the rest of your trip.

We are looking forward to welcoming you both back to The Manor in the near future!

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We cruised into town with no reservations and saw this one as soon as we arrived. We pulled over and called them - they welcomed us in with a reasonable rate and parking in the garage! We had a B and B rate, and the breakfast next morning was great.

The best part of our stay was the free washer and dryer service. Seriously, after 10 days on the road, we really needed to do laundry. This was amazing and made the last bit of our excursion so much more bearable. Thanks to the staff for the technical assistance!

Our room overlooked the river and we had a lovely view.

We also enjoyed a few pints on the patio overlooking the river... in winter coats and ski caps, weather didn't get in our way!

We had a lovely stay and loved the town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodysMom1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear WoodysMom1996

Thank you so much for taking the time to write you lovely review on TripAdvisor, your positive feedback is welcomed by staff and management alike. We are delighted that our washer/dryer service was an added extra that made your trip more enjoyable, our priority is to ensure that each and every guests expectations are exceeded and they have a relaxing and memorable experience in The Manor. You will have to come back and stay with us in summertime to enjoy your pints and our breath-taking views of the River Moy without your winter coats and ski caps! Ballina as a town and also our surrounding areas really does have so much to offer and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back to our town and our Hotel.

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Everything fine disappointed no pool as it was out of use and we weren't informed of this until we asked.
Breakfast expensive for what it is.
Lovely quiet hotel.
Rooms bit too warm at night.
Plenty of hot water hair driers etc

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneMarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Champney

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive and constructive feedback on TripAdvisor. We do apologise about the swimming pool being out of order and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that you can make use of all facilities and we are delighted that you impressed with all of the added extras in our guest bedrooms.

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I meant to write this review sooner, we stayed in this hotel about a year ago we purchased an offer on one of the deals site a ll I can say it it is one of the worst hotels I ever stayed in the bedrooms are completely out dated and in the first bedroom we were in the toilet and toilet seat were completely stained we asked to move rooms the second room was so freezing cold( I was five months pregnant) I had to leave my husbands jumper on in the bed!!!! The bathroom was again totally outdated and stained. We did not stay our second night and booked into the ice hotel which is just so fabulous, warm clean and I was soooo relieved to leave the beat western both myself and my husband are not fussy and have stayed in many hotels when my husband complained the manager did not offer us anything and admitted she knew the window was broke in the room it still should not of being that cold. Bar dark and smelt did not do bar food...would never go here ever again I had morning sickness and my stomach was turning using the bathroom.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sylv2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Sylv2305

I am really sorry to read your recent review regarding your stay last year and I am shocked to read that you were cold as it is usually the opposite, the regular feedback from our guests is that they are delighted at how warm and cosy it is here in the Manor with our open fire on arrival into reception and heating on throughout the Hotel it proves to be warm and comfortable. I do hope that you will reconsider and come back for another stay with us, I am sure you will see positive changes as we continuously upgrade and refurbish our facilities and on behalf of all of the team please accept our apologies.
Also you mentioned that you were 5 months pregnant at the time of your visit and so I would like to congratulate you and wish you all the best with your new baby, I hope all is well with you both.

Please contact me on edel.sweeney@ballinamanorhotel.ie should you wish to make a return visit and I would be delighted to look after you and your family.

Best Wishes

Edel Sweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
1.8 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
611 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,073 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
530 reviews
18.9 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Manor Hotel

Address: Barrett Street | The Moy Ridgepool & Salmon Weir, Ballina F26 HY84, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: £38 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballina Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Manor Hotel is perched on the banks of the River Moy and overlooks St Muredach's Cathedral. The hotel offers a restaurant, rooms with free Wi-Fi, and a newly refurbished bar. All of our spacious rooms at The Manor have ensuite bathrooms with showers and baths and come with all the mod cons you would expect including flat screen TVs, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. The Ridgepool Restaurant has floor-to-ceiling windows and offers panoramic views of the of the world-famous River Moy. There is an international menu with fresh fish specials. In the heart of Ballina, the hotel is close to town’s shopping district. Ballina Train and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away and free parking is available at the hotel. Ballina is the ideal location for your west of Ireland holiday being equidistant from Donegal and Galway as well as being very close to Wesport, Connemara, Achill, Belmullet, Enniscrone, Sligo and being a destination town on the route of the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ballina Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing