We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is very central - staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room overlooked the river. Restaurant and food were good however the hotel bar was basic and not somewhere you would spend the evening

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    137
    76
    36
    28
See reviews for
100
182
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I booked this holtel for a Saturday night stay over while touring Mayo. I stressed that we wanted a quiet room and was assured I was getting one. At 11.30 pm this unholy racket started off and this continued until well after 2.00am. Despite all prior requests, we had been place directly over the function room. It was almost as if it had been done deliberately.
The room itself was small, stuffy and in dire need of a make over and modernisation.
The walls are paper thin, the beds old and tired looking.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterHCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for four nights at this excellent hotel. Our room overlooked the River Moy where we were able to watch the salmon jumping in the water. The room itself was a good size, very clean and comfortable. Complimentary toiletries, bottle water and tea, coffee etc. topped up daily. We found the breakfast more than adequate with plenty of choice. Staff in breakfast room were always bright and cheerful and more than happy to accommodate specific requests. All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel location was perfect for shopping and lovely walks along the River Moy. Directions around the hotel were not very clear, especially directions to the bar. However, this proved to be a real 'ice breaker' as we struck up conversations with other guests asking us if we knew the way to the bar! I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a family dinner , there were 7 of us- very little food on the plates and most of them were of poor quality.
No value for money and quite expensive- Never again- A poor quality food for a restaurant located in a 4 star hotel.
DS

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night as we were moving around. We brought our bicycles and they gave us a safe locked room for them. The staff were cleaning the whole time we were there. The place was spotless. Sitting on the banks of the river moy watching anglers busily fishing while we drank Guinness in the beer garden. Breakfast was lovely really enjoyed the whole experience. Definitely recommend it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindaw65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Has a balcony overlooking the Moy and you can watch salmon fishermen during the season and the salmon themselves jumping out of the water. Room was very clean and very comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank munnke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a three star hotel and as such lives up to that standard. The rooms, at least the one I was in, are very good and can't be faulted. The breakfast was just OK. Limited choice but I had the mini Irish which was nicely cooked. The big plus for this hotel is the location -right bang in the centre of the town which means restricted car parking but the convenience of leaving the car parked and being able to walk everywhere makes it a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrigaholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina_manor, Manager at Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Carrigaholt

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor as we value all of our guest feedback. Our location really is fantastic - Ballina is the gateway to North Mayo and we feel our location is the ideal base for your break away to explore all there is to do in our area.

I am also delighted that you liked your room - we ensure that all of our facilities are maintained to our 4* standard at all times. I would really appreciate if you would contact me on edel.sweeney@ballinamanorhotel.ie with a little more information on any further breakfast choices you would like to see on our menu? I am really looking to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.8 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.8 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#8 of 9 in Ballina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Manor Hotel

Property: Ballina Manor Hotel
Address: At The Moy Ridgepool Barrett Street | The Moy Ridgepool & Salmon Weir, Ballina F26 HY84, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballina Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Manor Hotel is perched on the banks of the River Moy and overlooks St Muredach's Cathedral. The hotel offers a fine dining restaurant, rooms with free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, gym and traditional Irish bar. All of our spacious rooms at the Manor have ensuite bathrooms with showers and baths and come with all the mod cons you would expect including flat screen TVs, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. The Ridgepool Restaurant has floor-to-ceiling windows and offers panoramic views of the of the world-famous River Moy. There is an international menu with fresh fish specials. In the heart of Ballina, the hotel is close to town’s shopping district. Ballina Train and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away and free parking is available at the hotel. Ballina is the ideal location for your west of Ireland holiday being equidistant from Donegal and Galway as well as being very close to Wesport, Connemara, Achill, Belmullet, Enniscrone, Sligo and being a destination town on the route of the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballina Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing