We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This Estate was updated about 10 years or so ago by the current owners, and his one of the nicest places I have stayed at in Ireland. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The main building and grounds are beautiful. There is plenty of things to do on site such as fishing, a golf driving range ( and plenty of nice golf courses within an hours drive or less), archery, falconry, and plenty of walking trails. There is an indoor pool and spa. The food is superb as is the service! This is truly a special place to stay and unwind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Disappointing dining experience in the Kitchen Restaurant, over priced ridiculous multi courses on a limited set menu. Dining tables so close together it's uncomfortable. No atmosphere anywhere in hotel even the bar was boring. Very dull dark bedrooms decorated in shades of brown, brown and more brown... Very big bathroom with shower, bath and two sinks, the bath bath panel and shaving mirror where dirty the carpet around bedside cabinets had been missed by the hover... Hard prominent zip could be felt up centre of bed joining two singles together to make the large bed... Woken at 8am with banging of bins situated under our room, our view in room number 19 was of two large containers, wood storage and the bins... Took a video when the banging started a second time but I can't upload it here ...
No air conditioning in bedroom, very stuffy.
Good price for bed and breakfast but restaurant and hotel did not live up to their reputation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great place, great hotel, great staff, special thanks to Christina on reception, nothing too much trouble, corm ac on the bar, top lad. All the staff were fantastic, these were just serving us more than the rest. If Mayo had sun they'd clean up, got to love the people and the place, thank you very much

Room Tip: Just love mayo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Was so excited to visit but was soon let down setting and hotel was fab on arrival !! Room was just what we expected really nice and spacious ! We attended a wedding food was so poor we were hungry after bad burnt beef cold soup and salad not good !! Bar staff ok !! Not helpful and pricy ! Manager on duty rude and not at all helpfully !!!!! Other staff really nice ! In all not a good experience ! Won't visit soon again !

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Paulinemonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Looking for a lovely place to stay in County Mayo? Here it is! The manor is huge, with the large original family home now housing the restaurant, pub, and a few rooms. We stayed at the Lakeside rooms - a 3-bedroom 2-story condo that was excellent. It has self catering, although we didn't really do much of that. (We bought some breakfast foods in Foxford, just a few miles down the main road.).

The estate sits on a lovely lake, and the river there is actually owned by the owners. You can fly fish the river or catch and release from the trout filled lake. They have archery, a driving range, and a falconry on site.

The pool is nice, although by Irish custom one must wear a swim cap, which I found off putting. The jacuzzi, steam and sauna are complimentary. The gym is well equipped.

Over all. It's a gorgeous place. No wi-fi in the rooms away from the main building, but we would just visit the pub if we needed service.

It's a great find.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Mount Falcon Estate in 2013 and had a great time. It is set in beautiful forested grounds. The staff are always helpful and pleasant. The restaurant provides a wonderful breakfast and very tasty dinners. We had a "total relax" and enjoyed a long weekend, made good use of their swimming pool, sauna and steam room. We ventured out to discover the Mayo coast and Aran Islands down to Westport, always returning to eat in their excellent restaurant! We highly recommend Mount Falcon Estate.

Room Tip: Ah, be aware if you choose one of the large rooms over the entrance and foyer you may find it noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewMLovatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the deluxe rooms 'the ditches' for 2 nights. The room was beautiful and extremely comfortable with a view to die for. Dined in the bar both nights which was quite pricey and portions weren't really substantial for the price. Staff were lovely in the bar especially Cormac who was extremely polite and professional but not in your face.
The swimming pool in the spa was lovely but as mentioned by another contributor, there were a lot of unsupervised children. The spa was completely booked up the two days we were there which was a major let down as the spa was one of the main reasons we picked this hotel. If we had been told in advance that we would have to book early, it would have been so much better.
All in all a lovely stay just make sure to ring ahead if you're hoping for a massage.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,366 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
512 reviews
4.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
615 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: £120 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing