We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
jerusalem
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not clear”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Mount Falcon Estate is confused! While it markets itself as "a Luxury 4 star Mayo hotel" it basically caters as a hotel for families. Probably an amazing place to bring the kids for vacation BUT if you are looking for a quiet subdued place that cushions you in luxury this isn't the place to choose..While the deluxe room truly has character and the bathrooms are great it's hard to just enjoy and relax when children are running the hallways till 10 at night (this- stopped after a phone call to reception) The deluxe rooms are over the reception and bar and on the same floor as the "kiddie play room" so the action was going till about 23-24 pm. (note the kiddie play room is open till 20:00 but kids were outside the room listening to loud movies at 23!)
The mattresses are not up to a 4 star hotel and in fact not a 3 star!
We left email messages from the web site to book a massage at the spa - they never returned to us but luckily we called just before we arrived and they had two spots left - please note the the massage was amazing.
Breakfast was just ok but we had more of a selection in a more simpler hotel and once again children were screaming and running around ( love kids but just didn't want to be around them these few days)
We definitely would recommend the clay pigeon shooting which was fabulous and the grounds are beautiful; We want to thank Veronica for all of her assistance she worked quickly to find solutions to some problems that arose. We would have loved it if we were paying average rates but at the price we paid we feel - wow - didn't justify the high price !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brendann20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    164
    56
    35
    14
See reviews for
279
473
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

i never write any review but before to travel to Ireland, i was looking at tripadvisor and michelin guide as every French person do. we decide to stay in Ballina because my wife still have some relative in Sligo and we wanted to meet them. We also wanted to find a hotel with a garden for a morning jog and a fine dining restaurant. We stay in a deluxe room, beautiful, great bed, so quiet. Before our breakfast, we jogged around the estate which has a lake and beautiful wood and a gold driving range, we even been to the garden to have a look (mind you it was close but you can still find a path way to go in)..amazing gaden, the chef must be delighted to be able to cook some beautiful vegetable coming directly from the garden. The breakfast was good, i ordered a poached egg and my wife took a porridge. Nice selection of juices, fruits and seeds, nice to see that. During the afternoon we have been to the pool and jacuzzi, with view on the wood, very relaxing. The diner was one of the best we have had for some time. For starter i have a salmon and my wife goat cheese, beautiful presentation with little herbs and flowers, for main we have the beef and turbot which were amazing, the flavour of the dish, the colour and presentation magnifique. The french chef use the vegetable from the garden and also the turbot was served with fresh seaweed (i dont think too many chef are using the seaweed but they should). for dessert, i took the local cheese and my wife the chocolate dessert. both great. I thought the menu at 59 euro was a great value considering the quality of the food and the professional service. It was a very very nice night, and i even try the chef tarragon liqueur, A must. The following day we meet my wife relative and told them about our experience. They knew about the place and told us they only hear good thing about it..Unfortunetly we could not eat a second night as we have to stay with the relative but we will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASHERT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We, husband and 4 children, have just returned from a 5 night break in Mount Falcon.
We stayed in a Woodland Lodge. This has to be the best built, furnished and kitted out self-catering accommodation we have ever come across. It was very cosy and beautifully furnished (we took a peek into one of the hotel rooms and quite honestly, I could see no difference between our bedrooms and those in the hotel)
Having eaten on our way down to Mayo, we opted for a bar snack on the first night. Hisself and the boys were anxious to watch the golf and as the bar was full, we were graciously accommodated in a board room. Very helpful staff who were obviously busy enough with the remains of a wedding to have to accommodate the Wannabe Rorys!
The younger Troops, who usually eat anything, were unable to eat their (horrendously overpriced) pasta/chicken gougons. Hisself and I ordered 2 starters each - chowder and chicken wings. The chowder was far too 'leeky' and somewhat lacking on the 'fishy' side and the wings - from presentation to texture/taste, for me were inedible. A tip for the chef - wings 101 recipe dictates that the 3 parts of the wing are separated with the V tip at the end discarded - not the entire thing cooked and 4 flaccid, fatty specimens 'artily arranged' like something from an episode of Kitchen Nightmares on a plate. For which the unfortunate punter is landed with a bill for €9.
As we stayed at peak season, breakfast was served in The Fuller Suite - which is clearly a small function room. It is rare that I have experienced such dreadful food - both in presentation and quality. The 'selection from our buffet' was a non-selection. Another little tip - one lump of blue cheese (same lump every day for the 5 days) and some prepacked cold meats - chorizo, Parma and a type of salami does not (to my mind anyway) constitute a 'selection'. Our youngest - The Pancake Monster - ordered her favourite and was hugely disappointed with what arrived. We thought that the 'pancakes' had been deep fried, but realised that we were mistaken when we found their undersides to be burnt! The Teenage Garbage Bin was unable to eat his BDF (big dirty fry) and was told having asked that they could not provide beans for him - small gripe but somewhat indicative of the kitchens attitude. We stuck to cereals and lots of nice croissants thereafter.
Our plan was to eat in the hotel at night, but those first encounters with the food were a total turn off. We ate in town.
SUCH a pity that the food was so bad - and believe me - we are not overly fussy - we were leaving on quite a bad note, but decided on our last day to do the tour of the garden with Alex the Head Gardener. Wow. I am not a gardener - hisself is - but Alex's enthusiasm was infectious and his knowledge impressive. He tells me that he would hope in the future to be able to run some sort of a gardening course. Now that would be well worth returning for. We'll pack our sandwiches.

Room Tip: Lodges excellent for families and larger groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGrath6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in the lakeside lodge it was ok... But could do with certain things to make it better... Ie wifi a bigger TV ( the TV was the size of a postage stamp ) and there should be tvs in the bedrooms also... The downstairs was extremely dark and a bit gloomy to be honest... Upstairs was better .. The bar is the most unsigned inviting place I have ever been in... Far too small for starters 6 people and it's full.... We ordered food there first night and it was a complete disaster. Everything came out wrong late we were exhausted by the end just from the nightmare experience. Staff were unfriendly and very inexperienced. The breakfast was another let down. Food either cold or over cooked to the point of cremation... Staff running around like headless chickens. It was served in their "function room" and had those make shift fold down tables . Not a nice room at all. We did eat one night in the restaurant which I have to say was very good the room was lovely staff very professional and food was good also. We also had our dogs with us and would like to point out that there are NO bins anywhere on the estate that we could see. To sum up we had been so looking forward to our visit but I'm afraid we will not be returning very disappointed overall. Certainly not a patch on our favourite hotel for dogs the wonderful Harvey's Point in Donegal now that is a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ambIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This Estate was updated about 10 years or so ago by the current owners, and his one of the nicest places I have stayed at in Ireland. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The main building and grounds are beautiful. There is plenty of things to do on site such as fishing, a golf driving range ( and plenty of nice golf courses within an hours drive or less), archery, falconry, and plenty of walking trails. There is an indoor pool and spa. The food is superb as is the service! This is truly a special place to stay and unwind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Disappointing dining experience in the Kitchen Restaurant, over priced ridiculous multi courses on a limited set menu. Dining tables so close together it's uncomfortable. No atmosphere anywhere in hotel even the bar was boring. Very dull dark bedrooms decorated in shades of brown, brown and more brown... Very big bathroom with shower, bath and two sinks, the bath bath panel and shaving mirror where dirty the carpet around bedside cabinets had been missed by the hover... Hard prominent zip could be felt up centre of bed joining two singles together to make the large bed... Woken at 8am with banging of bins situated under our room, our view in room number 19 was of two large containers, wood storage and the bins... Took a video when the banging started a second time but I can't upload it here ...
No air conditioning in bedroom, very stuffy.
Good price for bed and breakfast but restaurant and hotel did not live up to their reputation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great place, great hotel, great staff, special thanks to Christina on reception, nothing too much trouble, corm ac on the bar, top lad. All the staff were fantastic, these were just serving us more than the rest. If Mayo had sun they'd clean up, got to love the people and the place, thank you very much

Room Tip: Just love mayo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,306 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#4 of 9 in Ballina
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
479 reviews
4.3 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
596 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Property: Mount Falcon Estate
Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing