We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite hotel in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2009

My husband and I spent a night in Mt Falcon with our friends visiting from the States and had an amazing time. We received top notch service from the second we walked in the door until checkout, everyone was so nice and obliging and nothing was too much to ask. The lads went fly fishing on the lake which is on property and the girls had a facial in the lovely spa downstairs (which was great value for money when compared to other places). We had dinner in The Kitchen restaurant and I can honestly say I've never had better food, even in the Michelen starred restaurants in Dublin. Breakfast was lovely too - you can choose from a cold continental buffet or order from the menu. We took a walk amongst the grounds which are beautiful, and only wish we could have borrowed bikes from the onsite facility to explore the entire lot. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its service, rooms and food and think it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2009

What can I say about Mount Falcon that hasn't been say prior to my review. The Hotel is truely wonderful and the Staff are the best we have encounted in Ireland this Year. We tend to take about 4-5 Irish breaks each year and Mount Falcon is a true hidden Gem. From the moment we arrived to the open log fires until our check out we were treated like Kings and Queens. I had a treatment in the Spa and my husband relaxed and enjoyed sitting in the hot tub surround by the woodlands. Very peaceful , this is somewhere where we felt quilty having our mobile phone turned on .
We had Dinner on one evening the Kitchen Restaurant , the food is better than many of the top Dublin Restaurant. We will be going back and may even bring the Golf Clubs.....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenLadiesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

From the moment we turned into the driveway we knew we were onto something special! The grounds are spectacular! Mount Falcon is more like a friends home rather than a hotel, at all times you are made to feel like a cherished family member and not a paying visitor. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful. The house itself has been so beautifully restored, it's so enchanting and romantic. The food is superb. The rooms are lovely, just wait till you snuggle into the beds, you'll never want to leave!! The manager Alan is a true gentleman, and will bend over backwards to accommodate any requests.
I'd give this hotel 10 out of 10, and my only advice would be is prepared to be blown away once you arrrive. It really has something to offer everyone.I can't wait for my next visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayRoisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This hotel is absolutely stunning and one the best places we have stayed in. I cannot fault it at all. Our room was beautiful, the food was great, the grounds are fantastic and the service very professional.

We will certainly be staying again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

This hotel was fantastic. Small number of rooms meant that the service was great from the minute you walk in the door. Food was lovely and staff were extremely helpful with special dietary requirements. Arrived at Mount Falcon from working 12 hour days for 2 months and within 1 hour was completely chilled out. Great hotel, great facilities, great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We had our wedding in Mount Falcon in May 2007. When we booked the hotel it was still being renovated and was pretty much scaffolding and concrete but we had faith in the owners enthusiasm and commitment to the hotel which cemented our faith and trust.

But we never had any reason to doubt, the hotel had been open a number of months before our wedding and everything was up and running. The wedding liaison and all staff members we dealt with were professional and friendly and were just fantastic to deal with. Once the hotel was complete we were given a tour and it did not disappoint the rooms are beautiful and spacious.

As with all weddings you are worried something will go wrong and you tend to worry on the day of the wedding instead of enjoying your day but we had no such worries. Everything was taken care of down to the last detail, even some things we didn't think about!!! As we drove up the beautiful drive way through the trees and saw the hotel in front of us with everyone waiting for us (even though it was raining) it was just amazing!!
We were treated like royalty from the second we stepped out of our wedding car. After a few minutes talking to family and friends we were whisked away very discretely to the honeymoon suite where we had a some time to sip a glass of champagne, retouch the make up and just step back from the hustle and bustle of the wedding to just soak up the atmosphere and the happiness of the day. Meanwhile everyone was seated for dinner. The atmosphere was relaxed and everyone was catered for to the highest standards. Everyone was looked after our parents, family, relations and friends.

The dining room was beautifully decorated with fresh flowers (as had been agreed). The meal was fabulous and everyone got what they wanted. The sommelier was fantastic when picking out the wines prior to the wedding and even came up to us (very discretely) during the meal to make sure we were happy with our choices.
The meal ended and the transition from dining room to dancing room was flawless. We had spoken to the wedding liaison about the band as we needed them to make some changes to their set up but the liaison looked after it for us and everything went off perfectly. It was an amazing day and everyone enjoyed every minute of it, especially us.

Our friends and family still bring it up when we get together and a lot of them have since gone back to stay for weekends away, anniversaries or just for dinner. We live not too far from Ballina pop back as often as we can to Mount Falcon for afternoon tea and will continue to do so.
Mount Falcon holds so many happy memories for us.

Mount Falcon is a beautiful hotel with amazing surroundings. When you drive up to the door, if you look behind you there is no views of the road you just turned off into the hotel, you are now in your own peaceful, relaxed and luxurious sanctuary.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maseai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Had the good fortune to stay in this great hotel in the middle of the Irish countryside over Easter this year. Recently renovated, this hotel combines old country charm with modern facilities. Great bedrooms with big comfy beds, great food and a warm cosy bar where you could pass your day sipping Guinness. Nice walks on the grounds and a small fitness center with sauna and pool make it a great place to relax. The staff just cannot do enough to help. Prices are not particularly cheap, but worth the extra for that little bit of luxury. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseanna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
4.9 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,355 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#4 of 9 in Ballina
529 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
503 reviews
4.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
611 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: £145 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing