We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay when in Ballina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Downhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Downhill Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Province of Connacht, Ireland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“The place to stay when in Ballina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

From the gregarious and charming owners John and Nicola to the friendly staff you will not best this hotel for value in Ballina.The food is as you would expect in a hotel of this quality.
Try it out you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoIman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    43
    34
    14
    21
See reviews for
37
49
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrick on Shannon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I was the coach driver from Fureys coaches doing the PAB tour of Achill and knock on the June bank Holiday weekend and my first time to stay at the beautiful Downhill inn hotel in ballina,both John his wife Nicola and their staff went out of their way to make our stay there an enjoyable one,excellent food beautiful rooms and an all round friendly atmosphere and good live music every night,both me and my 38 guests on the coach had the best weekend,top marks and I highly recommend, Pat from Fureys Coaches

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRaftery, Owner at The Downhill Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Pat F, Thank you for your 5 star review of your groups stay with us. We are an ideal base to tour the sights of Mayo, then return for an excellent meal, entertainment and a good nitghts sleep. We have had some lovely letters from your group too.
Regards John & Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

A very large group of nearly 30 boys and an equal number of parents were very well treated and looked after by an attentive staff, with a quality evening meal, and breakfast the following morning. Our check-in time must have been the shortest on record and our rooms were clean and comfortable. Bar service was great and overall a very positive experience, which made for a enjoyable trip for all involved. Hotel is located in a quite spot and it was exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRaftery, Owner at The Downhill Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear AdrianD
We are delighted that you party of 60 enjoyed their stay with us. We strive to offer value, quality accommdation and food. As you say a "positive experience". Regards JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We recently stayed here on a family holiday(4 adults) and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We arrived and were checked in immediately(which is a welcome change to having to queue at reception as experienced in some hotels).Our rooms were opposite each other which made things easier throughout our stay. The rooms were lovely and clean and the beds were very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant every night and every meal was excellent. Our hosts Nicola and John were really friendly and helpful. They could not do enough for you. All in all it was one of the best hotels we had all stayed in. We will definitely be back. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks Nicola and John for a great time. The Casey family from Leeds,England.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRaftery, Owner at The Downhill Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Joanna F,
Thank you for your 5 stars review, we are delighted that you and your family had a great stay - enjoying our food and accommodation. We love helping guests with tourist advice so that you get the most out of your holiday. Looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards John & Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I've stayed here as a solo traveller, mid week, there was only one other car in the car park at check in so it was quiet, I was told a coach party was due in later.

The first room key provided failed to work, upon return I got another, that worked but I could not access the web in that room as I had to tramp back to reception and move again, this desite the fact I asked about internet availability.The room was basic with one of the older 14 in tv's on a bracket off the wall, it was adequate no more.

The bed was functional having seen better days, when I left to go for dinner in Ballina I was actually asked what time I would be back at,....I was stunned, I indicated 12.30 ish and was met with a that's very late, what would you be doing out until that time....I was unimpressed, my suggestion avoid this place, I cannot talk about the food as I didn't eat there, I will not be back...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayoKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRaftery, Owner at The Downhill Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear MayoKildare,

Thank you for you recent review of your stay last September 2012, we do provide free wifi and apologise if your first keycard failed to work. Our bed are semi-orthopaedic and are regularily complemented by our guests, our rooms are to a good standard, comfortable and excellent value.

We lock our front door at mid-night for security purposes and a night porter is available for access thereafter.

Kind regards

JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballina hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I was passing through Ballina on business and stayed here. After a warm welcome I was shown to my room and was very pleased with the standard of cleanliness and had a lovely meal that night, followed by a good night's sleep. Overall I was very satisfied and would recomend it to anyone who is passing through. It offers value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 738GeorgeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRaftery, Owner at The Downhill Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear George D

It is good to hear you had a good night's sleep and an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back soom again.

regards

JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, , Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We have stayed at the Downhill Inn several times with our kids while exploring Mayo and visiting close friends in Ballina. The welcome is always warm , the owners are great hosts , always helpful friendly and very knowledgeable. The rooms are comfortable and were toasty warm when we last stayed on a particularly cold night ! The lovely girl at reception sorted us out with adjacent rooms and gave the kids the wifi code. With the kids safely tucked in bed , we enjoyed the company of John as owner and host at the bar advising us on how to plan our activities for the following day and over breakfast we met Johns wife Nicola who was quietly overseeing operations and getting to know all the guests. We were impressed with the easy thoughtfulness of the owners who really are hands on and determined to do all in their power to make sure you have a memorable good time in their hotel. It is the simple little touches which differentiates this hotel from many other impersonal chains ! Definitely recommend it and look forward to next visit ! Liam

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRaftery, Owner at The Downhill Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear LiamB,
It was great to meet with you & the family on your return visit to our hotel.
I will have action packed days for you in the summer & "guaranteed" sunshine ! We have a great selection of walks & maps on our website now too
Many thanks
John & Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
2.6 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.9 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downhill Inn

Property: The Downhill Inn
Address: Sligo Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Downhill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downhill Inn Hotel in Ballina, is amongst Ballina Hotels gems - priding itself on offering value for money, excellent service and quality hotel accommodation in Ballina, Co. Mayo - this family owned and managed 3 Star Hotel in Mayo is a real treat to discover.This Ballina Hotel in Mayo is renowned for its friendly, efficient and professional staff.Last Minute deals can make the accommodation cheap in cost, offering good value. Hotel Discounts are available with our special offers.The hotel is located on the Sligo road on the outskirts of Ballina Town in the heart of Mayo, near the river Moy which is famous for salmon fishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Downhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina
The Downhill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing