We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downhill Inn , needs a facelift.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Downhill Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Downhill Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Downhill Inn , needs a facelift.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for three days recently and had a reasonable experience. The Hotel needs a serious update if it is to survive. The staff were friendly and done their best but the food we had was poor. I didn't see any chef so we suspect the owners and waiting staff prepared it. Value for money one has to say and a nice place to relax but needs urgent updating, the patio furniture is in a dangerous state and should be removed straight away, all in all we will return.

Room Tip: Choose a front facing downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    44
    34
    14
    21
See reviews for
37
50
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel fulfilled all our requirements and expectations (4 day Golf trip ). Clean and comfortable rooms with staff willing to help as much as possible.
Secured excellent discounts on 4 courses making significant savings for attendees .
An evening meal of steak was cooked perfectly to requirements at great value.
If looking for effort & attention from staff, cleanliness and functionality at very fair cost this ranks very highly .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_D186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My boyfriend booked here after being too late to book anywhere else, last weekend. €90 per night for the two of us, excluding breakfast. We booked here as we were attending a wedding in another venue, therefore we did not arrive until 5am to the hotel. A night porter checked us in. The rooms were very basic and the blankets on the beds were like something out of the 80's. But as we were wrecked we just went straight to sleep.
The hotel did offer tea and coffee facilities which were welcomed the next morning. However when I went for a shower I saw something behind the door of the bathroom, it was a previous guest's dirty string top! Which obviously means the room had not being cleaned before our stay! This being bad enough, the shower was crap, the hairdryer was a joke and we still got charged full price, though we had told the staff member what we had found. The only thing we were offered was a phone call from the manager which we have yet to receive.
The hotel looked empty and the steps had covering falling off them.
Never again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballina hotels

Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Honestly, I'm struggling to find anything positive about this hotel. There is one member of staff to book you in, serve you in the bar, take your food order (which I wouldn't recommend) and possibly cook your food also. The tiles on the shower was loose, the water was cold, the room had a musty smell about it. All that was bad enough but the next morning a member of the cleaning staff walked into our room without knocking just as I entered the bathroom with no clothes on. Funny as it sounds, I was not impressed. The cleaner said she thought nobody was there but A) a knock would have given her a definite answer and B) surely she should have checked with reception which rooms were/were not occupied? Either way I would rather sleep in my car than stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommynickamomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We checked out of a dreadful b&b in Ballina, the worst b&b we'd ever stayed at anywhere and booked the Downhill at short notice to get some peace and quiet on our last day. For the price the hotel was fine, very dated decor but everything functional. Television was tiny but the room was clean and spacious. The hotel room doors are noisy and slam shut reverberating throughout the corridor. Disappointing the wi-fi doesn't seem to work in the rooms. We didn't have breakfast as the price, €12, seemed extortionate for a 3 star hotel. We paid £59 for the room which was about right, it wouldn't have been worth any more than that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I went to Ireland recently on business and on advice from a friend, took a few days off to visit the West of Ireland.

I booked the Downhill Inn on advice from some friends in Boston and boy was it a great a choice.

We had a fantastic time (hence the title), the place is so laid back, so relaxed you feel that you have moved back in time (dont worry your phone still works) but everything feels like its moving slower which in my mind feels like a real break.

The bedroom was your regular arrangement, clean, choice of bed configurations and a nice en suite.

You can't go wrong with this place for the basics but the hosts John and Nicola seem to have an Irish charm that is beguiliing, no request was too small, and they gave you the time of day, listening to your questions, answering them, asking you what you need, helping you to get the most information about what to do and enjoy in the area.

Tremedous restaruants, walks, fishing, nightclubs.

Fantastic!! I WILL be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRaftery, Owner at The Downhill Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear MH,
Thank you for your 5 star review, we are delighted that we were recommended to you, and pleased that you really enjoyed your stay. We looking forward to weeing you on your next visit from Boston.
Regards John & Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Connacht, Ireland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

From the gregarious and charming owners John and Nicola to the friendly staff you will not best this hotel for value in Ballina.The food is as you would expect in a hotel of this quality.
Try it out you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoIman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.9 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downhill Inn

Property: The Downhill Inn
Address: Sligo Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Downhill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downhill Inn Hotel in Ballina, is amongst Ballina Hotels gems - priding itself on offering value for money, excellent service and quality hotel accommodation in Ballina, Co. Mayo - this family owned and managed 3 Star Hotel in Mayo is a real treat to discover.This Ballina Hotel in Mayo is renowned for its friendly, efficient and professional staff.Last Minute deals can make the accommodation cheap in cost, offering good value. Hotel Discounts are available with our special offers.The hotel is located on the Sligo road on the outskirts of Ballina Town in the heart of Mayo, near the river Moy which is famous for salmon fishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Downhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina
The Downhill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing