We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Holiday”
Review of The Downhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Downhill Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spring Holiday”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have just returned from this hotel, I was there with 15 others and could not fault the place. John and Nicola and their staff were perfect hosts and did everything in their power to make us welcome. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and the dinners were just what you wanted after a long day sightseeing. My room was cosy and comfortable and very spacious. The entertainment on three nights was right for the size of the hotel and there was even a small dance floor if you wanted to dance and some of us did. The only downside of the trip was the length of time it took to get there but that had nothing to do with the hotel and it would not prevent me from going again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    44
    37
    16
    23
See reviews for
39
54
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April and it was very busy. The staff were typically friendly and relaxed as they went about their work. There was a fair bit of friendly banter and we were delighted with our experience. The ritz or savoy it is not and does not pretend to be. We found the food wholesome and plentiful and the rooms very clean and comfortable. The bar was very busy during our evenings and the service was always quick, friendly and efficient. Great value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as a base for touring the West Coast of Ireland. Thanks to all the staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Far2noisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This Hotel was terrible, it was completely empty i did not see one person besides the Man on reception, The carpark was empty, The restaurant was closed, it was earily empty, the room was freezing even though it was 15 degrees out side I mean really cold, the double bed was two singles pushed together which was terrible as one single was higher then the other, the bed clothes wer old out dated wooly blankets, the tv was old and tiny, this Hotel is more like a rundown old motel really didn't enjoy my stay we felt like we we're the only ones in the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRaftery, Owner at The Downhill Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thsnk you for your review, the hotel was quite and peacefull on the night of you stay - however we are full to night and all this week, Our refurbished rooms are non-smoking as we discussed. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Ballina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballina hotels

Destin, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is my first ever Trip Advisor Review. Each year we four senior men return to Northwest Ireland to enjoy the incredible links golf afforded by Enniscrone, Carne, and Rosses Point/County Sligo. We stay for 5 to 6 nights at The Downhill Inn in Ballina--enjoying the bed, breakfast, and several dinner night specials of salmon, steak, and everything in between. A small but well stocked bar is there for you in the evenings. Nearby are fine upscale restaurants and one of Ireland's best pubs.

The Downhill is quiet, clean, has good food, and is well located--all a 4-ball needs. Months in advance, John and Nicola look after us by making our tee times and other arrangements--then happily respond to changes inevitably driven by weather and other events.

If you play golf in the Northwest, you can pay more, but you will never get the hands-on service and best possible golf lodging provided by Nicola and john at The Downhill Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinVette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

David Urquhart coach holidays don't get any better than this! My first coach holiday to The Emerald Isle will certainly not be my last!

The Downhill Inn's John and Nicola endeavoured to make sure everything was perfect for all their guests. If you have a concern or dietary requirement just say to them!

Our coach driver Stuart had a great rapport with us all and helped make my holiday particularly memorable due to his informative and hilarious at times coach talks.

My room was excellent - crisp clean bed linen, immaculate bathroom with appropriate hand rails and beautiful wooden walk in wardrobe. Card key in operation. My only criticism of the room was the fact that I could not charge my mobile by my bedside due to no power socket there and the free wifi only works in the lounge not the room.

I loved having hot yummy porridge (just one of the many options)mail lowed by a full breakfast, tea/coffee and toast. Noticed that the Kerry butter was yummy also!

Entertainment was good and appropriate for a small hotel.
There is no dance floor - a wee bit of a disappointment for those who wished to show their ballroom skills.

The countryside is gorgeous and would thoroughly recommend a visit to Co Mayo and to this lovely hotel!


Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank WestLothianLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have stayed here twice for 5 day breaks and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff, facilities and service we received were first class and we would certainly recommend the Downhill Inn for a relaxing break or a base for touring the area. Thanks again from The Soup Man.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOSEPH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This Hotel is situated just outside Ballina and it is possible to walk into the town, however it is about 15-20 minutes away. The owners are great and very attentive, the check in process was quick and flawless. They were very helpul with any queries or requests that we had. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. In my opinion the lobby area, combining the open dining room and bar area does not work and should be revamped to make it more modern and inviting. However I am sure the finance for a major revamp is hard to come by in this recessionary economy. The TV was very small in the room, but otherwise the room was adequate and functional. For the price this hotel is a good choice, but a few changes would make it even better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
587 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.9 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,285 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downhill Inn

Property: The Downhill Inn
Address: Sligo Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Downhill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downhill Inn Hotel in Ballina, is amongst Ballina Hotels gems - priding itself on offering value for money, excellent service and quality hotel accommodation in Ballina, Co. Mayo - this family owned and managed 3 Star Hotel in Mayo is a real treat to discover.This Ballina Hotel in Mayo is renowned for its friendly, efficient and professional staff.Last Minute deals can make the accommodation cheap in cost, offering good value. Hotel Discounts are available with our special offers.The hotel is located on the Sligo road on the outskirts of Ballina Town in the heart of Mayo, near the river Moy which is famous for salmon fishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Downhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina
The Downhill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing