We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem.”
Review of Quignalegan House

Quignalegan House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quignalegan House
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Have recently stayed here for 10 days. What can I say. The best Guesthouse I have stayed in. Large front of the house room with en- suite bathroom. Very cordial welcome when I arrived.Breege cooks a fabulous traditional Irish breakfast. Eggs, sausages, black and white pudding, tomato, bacon and an assortment of bread in a basket. Of course you can start with a choice of 10 cereals or fruit. As I was salmon fishing I kept unsociable hours. Nothing was too much trouble. If I wasn't there for breakfast a packed lunch was prepared for me. Wish I had found this Guesthouse 20 years ago. Have already reserved my room for next year. Thanks Breege for being a fabulous host.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Quignalegan House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here many times after a long journey from Dublin and everytime we arrived we got a lovely warm welcome from the lady of the house, Breege and her husband. I really can't fault this place. It's very clean, very quiet, very close to town and brilliant value for money, especially when compared to a well-known hotel that's located close by. The breakfast was great and we we're really made to feel at home at every visit. We shall definitely stay here again and I have recommended it to family and friends

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommynickamomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Arrived very late on Friday night to a wonderful welcome. Hosts were wonderful - chatty and knowledgeable about the area. Wonderful filling breakfast that set us up for the day! Would be very happy to stay there again if I am in the area

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 930MichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here for weekend with friends and family, Mrs padden was an amazing host, the breakfasts were to die for. Just out of walking distance of ballina but Mrs padden drove us to town herself. Would recommend this place to all and would have no hesitation in booking in again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moss0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Owner Breege was extremely helpful and friendly. Although we had availed of a special no breakfast offer (we were at a wedding the day before and felt we may not need an early breakfast) on the day of departure she insisted we have a cup of tea before we left and appeared with scones, bread and toast 'just in case' and we were very glad she did! The smell of toast sparked a pang! Lovely quiet dark room gave a great sleep too. Perfect location just a few minutes out of the town of Ballina, plenty of parking and easy to find. Recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AilbheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Quiet location. beautiful breakfast. Near the town. Warm and comfortable. Affordablely priced for facilities. tea/coffee facilities in sitting room. Very clean and bedding clean and fresh. Well keep garden.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoreguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

It was very cold when we arrived, nice to come into a warm room. We had a large room with a view over rural land. Located about 1 km out of town which sited us as we prefer to have good on site parking which this had. Lovely breakfast and host.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martypeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.0 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.0 mi away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quignalegan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quignalegan House

Address: Sligo Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: £55 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quignalegan House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quignalegan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing