We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monastic life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosserk Friary

Rosserk Friary
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Monastic life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The peacefulness! Don't be put off by the narrow road down to it. Information board near to main entrance

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Rosserk Friary is well signposted on the Ballina-Killala road. it is a lovely peaceful spot to visit - as Yeats said "the peace comes dropping slow". The effects of the green pasture and the still waters will wash all your cares away. A lovely old stone ruin that is certainly worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nirrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rosserk Friary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Easy to fine with GPS. Nice site it's was sunny day and got some good pictures. Right on the river. Some interesting stone carving in the church. This was the first time I had heard of marry couples running the friary.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NAMJA331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scenic Place to Reflect, Lots of History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Rosserk, and we were the only people there. We explored for about 45 minutes before heading down the road to St. Mary's Well. The ruins are surrounded by pastures, and you can hear the sheep and horses. The view of the water is beautiful, and it is a nice place to walk and reflect.

Here are the GPS Coordinates that we used:
N 54 degrees 10' 16.8"
W 009 degrees 08' 37.0"

(You should see the sign for St. Mary's Well on the right as you head down the road that terminates at the friary.)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank underwater337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Great tourist attraction to visit in mayo, a piece of history, not far from ballina with spectacular views of sea, old franciscan friary that is well preserved.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DublinRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosserk Friary also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Been to Rosserk Friary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing