We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
Review of Brigown B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brigown B&B
Ranked #5 of 19 Ballina B&B and Inns
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Marjorie and her B&B are both wonderful. She's a delightful lady, so friendly and chatty. Just the right personality for running such a business.
I was amazed at her attention to detail, evident throughout the house but especially in the presentation of her delicious food. We had an amazing weekend and the next time we're in Ballina, we'll definitely stay with Marjorie.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0_J01973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

WOW, Marjorie knows food. If you stay at Brigown you can expect to be warmly welcomed and expect to have the best breakfast in Ireland. The room was spacious and comfortable, the view from the breakfast room lovely. If you want to stay where you feel comfortable and extremely welcome. You can look no further than Marjory's lovely home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Truly, I have dined at the table of the Gods. Simple ingredients served with passion and flair. Marjorie has an understanding of food that comes straight from the heart. Other cooking establishments will serve food that will nourish the body, but breakfast from Marjorie's table will nourish the soul!!. I stayed three days and had different breakfast every day. From the silky smooth smoked Salmon and scrambled egg to the most sublime kippers I have ever eaten. Then came the speciality - Pancakes. A beautiful infusion of sweetness and simplicity.
The toasted homemade bread served with Marjories own preserves while looking out over the River Moy would rise anyones spirits. Marjorie is a remarkable lady with an enthusiasm for cooking that is infectious. The accomodation was perfect for my needs. She has a local knowledge of the best fishing guides or the best places to hike or cycle. This is the hidden Ireland that so many seek out. Lovely seafood resturants locally.

Room Tip: The house is on an elevated site away from a quiet road. The rooms are very quiet and adequate for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrankTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Hold on to your hats. This B&B's owner, Marjorie, runs an esteemed cookery school, so you're in for a breakfast fit for a king. Unusual, scrumptious and bountiful offerings in addition to traditional Irish fare, prepared to perfection and served with style. Brigown B&B sits in a really pretty setting overlooking the River Moy. Lovely accommodation -- clean, comfy and charming. Marjorie takes special care to see that all your needs are met. This is a definite keeper.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#8 of 9 in Ballina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigown B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigown B&B

Property: Brigown B&B
Address: Quay Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing