We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Place to Stay”
Review of Twin Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twin Trees Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just back from a pleasant trip to Ballina. I stayed overnight in the Downhill House Hotel. The room was spacious and clean, with a flat screen tv and Irish digital channels. The bathroom had a shower and a bath. The weather was cold outside, but the room was a constantly warm.

I didn't avail of breakfast, but I did enjoy a drink in the bar. The bar is well stocked and comfortable.

It isn't the most modern of hotels, but the price and the location are ideal. It is a 20 minute walk to the centre of Ballina and is mostly paved, apart from a small stretch close to the hotel.

Most importantly the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTPDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I took my wife back to her roots in Ballina some 37 years after she had left and stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Even though the hotel was quiet we were treated very well, with courtesy and respect. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but was it very well presented and tasted lovely. The hotel was very clean, rooms spacious and well kept. I would recommend a stay at the hotel as we would have no hesitation on staying there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank daveinupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

booked a 2 night stay plus 3rd night free plus b&b and evening meal.
the staff couldnt have been more pleasant and helpful.
the rooms were very comfortable .
food was excellent.
our kids loved the swimming pool and free kids club.
Only small fault was the gents shower/changing room could do with a face lift.
this is a 3 star hotel and was equal to many of the 4 star hotels we have been to.
many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowgul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael M, Director of Sales at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear SnowGull

Thank you for taking time to put your constructive comments on trip advisor as it only from receiving feedback from our valued guests that we can improve and excel our standards and Customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Downhill House hotel in the near future,
Sincerely

Rachael Moylett
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently for 4 nights B&B with friends. The offer was 2 weekdays B&B @ 99Euro per couple and 129Euro weekend. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel which we found to be very comfortable and warm, weather had taken a turn for the worse at this stage. Louisa and Catherine at reception couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Rachael was very much in the foreground during our stay. Dining room staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to help us. Breakfast was very tasty and plenty of it, plates were cold one morning and we had apologies from 3 different members of dining room staff and 1 from reception at a later stage. Apparently it was a misunderstanding of which pile of plates was set where. We dined twice in the evening and we were all satisfied with what we got. It wasn't an extensive menu but it covered our needs, we didn't get umpteen variations of chicken, beef or fish but they were all there. Friendliness oozed out from all management and staff and cleaners included. Our ages ranged from 68 to 74 years,a total of 282 years, that's probably why we didn't use the gym or the pool. We had a look and that was as far as we got. Overall we had a great time and plan to return soon. soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on chance during our recent tour of Ireland and found that all the staff were very kind and helpful. We were offered two nights B & B for the price of one, good value. Whilst the room was clean and had a large bed our overall impression of the hotel was that it was quite dark, particularly in the restaurant.
We ate our evening meal in the restaurant on the first night, however the menu wasn't extensive so we ate elsewhere on our second night. Breakfast was ok, they offer a cold buffet and hot food is served to the table, however the lack of lighting gave the restaurant a depressing feel.
Overall we would describe the hotel's appearance as tired, including the leisure area which is available free of charge to hotel residents; some TLC to the decor and more effective lighting would help improve the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

we had weekend here recently via living social offer
must say that it was good value
the dinner offered was poor as it was a special menu for living social guests but by no means gourmet food very basic and very small portions suitable for children.
breakfast a little limited just the usual greasy cooked food with the fruit offering out of a tin.
rooms were ok however the voucher stated upgrade to a suite for 20 euro which we agreed to only to find that the hotel does not have suites only rooms in the newer part of hotel, but they were clean and well kept.
the dining room staff were all Asian but were really nice and friendly
generally the hotel is a little tired but everyone was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for new wing if you want a reasonable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband stayed at this hotel previously, so he was very keen to book when the offer came up on living social.on our arrival we were checked in quickly by a very nice lady, who also booked us a table for dinner. We relaxed for a couple of hours then went down for dinner. The waiters and waitress couldn't do enough for us. Our dinner was scrumptious and more than adequate. We enjoyed a few drinks in the bar and then retired to our room. The standard of the room was excellent. Next morning we enjoyed our full breakfast cereal, fruit, yoghurt, breads and hot food. We then explored the leisure facilities. A lovely swim and then an even nicer Jacuzzi. We checked out of the hotel around 12, by the same receptionist who checked us in. We had a little chat with her about how enjoyable our stay was, and how attentive and courteous the restaurant and bar staff were, regardless of their race. We got this complete deal including a nice glass of wine for £65 for the two of us! Excellent! Roll on the next one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
2.4 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.7 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
516 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,080 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
532 reviews
6.2 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Trees Hotel

Address: Downhill Road, Ballina, Ireland (Formerly Downhill House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ballina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: £54 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens near the banks of the River Moy in Ballina, Co. Mayo the Twin Trees Hotel (formallyDownhill House Hotel) is a family owned and managed hotel. The Moylett Family have been welcoming guests since 1936 and are proud of the excellent reputation the hotel has achieved over the years. Hospitality is a Mayo tradition and nowhere is the family tradition more honoured than at the newly renovated Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure Club (formally The Downhill House Hotel). With 55 comfortable bedrooms set in idyllic gardens within a 10 minute walk into Ballina town. Facilities include leisure Centre with indoor pool, Frogs Piano Bar, and excellent homemade locally sourced produce. Situated close to 3 golf links, Knock Shrine, 45 minute drive to Knock Airport. A long tradition of Irish Warmth & Hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Twin Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing