We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”
Review of Twin Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Twin Trees Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Having stayed at the Downhill House Hotel before, I was looking forward to my return. The hotel is convenient, has a quite good restaurant and a pool/spa. The rooms in the main building are showing a bit of wear and some of the service was quite lacking. Booked for four nights and only had hot water on the first night. When informed, the staff made their apologies and provided their promises but were unable to deliver. The reception staff, night manager and hotel manager all provided various reasons but where unable to deliver hot water in the evening. Of significant importance was the delivery of wifi to the rooms but this too failed. While it was apparent a router in the hallway was no longer functioning, the staff and management were unable to secure a replacement during the four days.

Room Tip: If a stay is warranted, try the rooms in the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clubsecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    161
    53
    38
    33
See reviews for
169
188
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just back from a pleasant trip to Ballina. I stayed overnight in the Downhill House Hotel. The room was spacious and clean, with a flat screen tv and Irish digital channels. The bathroom had a shower and a bath. The weather was cold outside, but the room was a constantly warm.

I didn't avail of breakfast, but I did enjoy a drink in the bar. The bar is well stocked and comfortable.

It isn't the most modern of hotels, but the price and the location are ideal. It is a 20 minute walk to the centre of Ballina and is mostly paved, apart from a small stretch close to the hotel.

Most importantly the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTPDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, Pontefract, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I took my wife back to her roots in Ballina some 37 years after she had left and stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Even though the hotel was quiet we were treated very well, with courtesy and respect. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but was it very well presented and tasted lovely. The hotel was very clean, rooms spacious and well kept. I would recommend a stay at the hotel as we would have no hesitation on staying there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daveinupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

booked a 2 night stay plus 3rd night free plus b&b and evening meal.
the staff couldnt have been more pleasant and helpful.
the rooms were very comfortable .
food was excellent.
our kids loved the swimming pool and free kids club.
Only small fault was the gents shower/changing room could do with a face lift.
this is a 3 star hotel and was equal to many of the 4 star hotels we have been to.
many thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowgul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael M, Director of Sales at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear SnowGull

Thank you for taking time to put your constructive comments on trip advisor as it only from receiving feedback from our valued guests that we can improve and excel our standards and Customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Downhill House hotel in the near future,
Sincerely

Rachael Moylett
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently for 4 nights B&B with friends. The offer was 2 weekdays B&B @ 99Euro per couple and 129Euro weekend. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel which we found to be very comfortable and warm, weather had taken a turn for the worse at this stage. Louisa and Catherine at reception couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Rachael was very much in the foreground during our stay. Dining room staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to help us. Breakfast was very tasty and plenty of it, plates were cold one morning and we had apologies from 3 different members of dining room staff and 1 from reception at a later stage. Apparently it was a misunderstanding of which pile of plates was set where. We dined twice in the evening and we were all satisfied with what we got. It wasn't an extensive menu but it covered our needs, we didn't get umpteen variations of chicken, beef or fish but they were all there. Friendliness oozed out from all management and staff and cleaners included. Our ages ranged from 68 to 74 years,a total of 282 years, that's probably why we didn't use the gym or the pool. We had a look and that was as far as we got. Overall we had a great time and plan to return soon. soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on chance during our recent tour of Ireland and found that all the staff were very kind and helpful. We were offered two nights B & B for the price of one, good value. Whilst the room was clean and had a large bed our overall impression of the hotel was that it was quite dark, particularly in the restaurant.
We ate our evening meal in the restaurant on the first night, however the menu wasn't extensive so we ate elsewhere on our second night. Breakfast was ok, they offer a cold buffet and hot food is served to the table, however the lack of lighting gave the restaurant a depressing feel.
Overall we would describe the hotel's appearance as tired, including the leisure area which is available free of charge to hotel residents; some TLC to the decor and more effective lighting would help improve the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

we had weekend here recently via living social offer
must say that it was good value
the dinner offered was poor as it was a special menu for living social guests but by no means gourmet food very basic and very small portions suitable for children.
breakfast a little limited just the usual greasy cooked food with the fruit offering out of a tin.
rooms were ok however the voucher stated upgrade to a suite for 20 euro which we agreed to only to find that the hotel does not have suites only rooms in the newer part of hotel, but they were clean and well kept.
the dining room staff were all Asian but were really nice and friendly
generally the hotel is a little tired but everyone was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for new wing if you want a reasonable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
2.4 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.8 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#8 of 9 in Ballina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Trees Hotel

Property: Twin Trees Hotel
Address: Downhill Road, Ballina, Ireland (Formerly Downhill House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ballina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens near the banks of the River Moy in Ballina, Co. Mayo the Twin Trees Hotel (formallyDownhill House Hotel) is a family owned and managed hotel. The Moylett Family have been welcoming guests since 1936 and are proud of the excellent reputation the hotel has achieved over the years. Hospitality is a Mayo tradition and nowhere is the family tradition more honoured than at the newly renovated Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure Club (formally The Downhill House Hotel). With 55 comfortable bedrooms set in idyllic gardens within a 10 minute walk into Ballina town. Facilities include leisure Centre with indoor pool, Frogs Piano Bar, and excellent homemade locally sourced produce. Situated close to 3 golf links, Knock Shrine, 45 minute drive to Knock Airport. A long tradition of Irish Warmth & Hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Twin Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing