We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous Attitude”
Review of Greenhill B&B

Greenhill B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenhill B&B
Ranked #6 of 20 Ballina B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at this B&B for one night and it will be the only night I will ever have stayed. When I checked into the B&B I had a friend with me who I was visiting. I was asked if there had been an error in booking. When I assured that there was no error and it was just a friend no more was said until the lady of the house knocked on my door and forced her way into the room past me. What followed was an angry tirade against me that I am not allowed have anyone else in the room, with the landlady even going so far as to say "Visit somewhere else". When I attempted to explain that I had not known and had not been informed that there was a policy on visitors to guests the landlady refused to believe me, stating that it is never allowed in B&Bs. When I informed her that I had not had any trouble the 2 previous times, in 2 separate B&Bs that I had stayed in in the area her response was "well that must be their policy". She refused to take any responsibility for her part in failing to notify me of their own policy. Her entire attitude was unfriendly, her immediate response being to launch into an angry tirade instead of politely enquiring if I had knowledge of their policy and I felt as though my guest rights and my privacy rights had been violated by her forced entry to the room I had paid for. On the whole I found the attitude displayed to be extremely unfriendly and it has been the darkest point of any of my trips to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Visitor217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at Greenhill B & B last Saturday evening and were welcomed by the owner with a fresh fairy cake and cup of tea - a lovely touch. Our room was spotless and the position was brilliant - a stones throw from the town centre. Breakfast was delicious. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast, very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footballlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I usually prefer to stay in Hotels but had the pleasure of staying here on my most recent trip to Ballina. The guesthouse is in the most ideal location right beside the town. Owner was extremely friendly and welcoming and the room and en suite was absolutely spotless. The breakfast in the morning was absolutely Delicious and the highlight of my stay, i would come back again just for another one! Would definitely recommend, this small guesthouse would put a lot of the hotels i usually stay in to shame, 5 star

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattie129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed in Greenhill B&B for one night and had a great time. Very welcoming owner. Clean and nice rooms and very delicate breakfast. Thanks for the great time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReviewerSouthGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenhillbandb, Owner at Greenhill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Athena0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenhillbandb, Owner at Greenhill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ccschaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenhillbandb, Owner at Greenhill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
605 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#4 of 9 in Ballina
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhill B&B

Address: Greenhill Cathedral Close, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ballina
Price Range: £53 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenhill B&B 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhill is a spacious family run bed and breakfast situated in a prime location at the rear of St Muredachs Cathedral, within walking distance of town centre, the world famous River Moy and ridge pool are only 300 meters away. The leisure centre, swimming pool and tennis courts are less than 5 minutes away. Your hosts Josephine and PJ Corrigan will ensure that you experience true Irish hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing