We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre dinner veiwing”

Belleek Castle Museum
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Open 7 days a week, our castle tours are a highlight not to be missed. The Tours include the history of the castle, going back to the Middle Ages. You will see the Medieval Banquet Hall, the Spanish Armada Bar and other romantic Rooms. The highlight of the tour will be the Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collections of medieval armour, jurassic fossils and antiques in Ireland.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

great tour of the castle including the armory. Liam did a great job as our guide and was very imformative. the articals are well displayed and it has had major improvements carried out since our last visit.

Thank flyfisherchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleekCastle, Public Relations Manager at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Hi flyfishingchris,
Thank you for your positive comment! Liam is indeed a very knowledgeable and talented tour guide and I will pass on the message to him, he will be delighted to hear you enjoyed his tour. Thank you for your visit, we are hoping to welcoming you to the castle again!
Kind regards,
Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Although I never got inside the castle, the surrounding forest walk along the river moy is beautiful . There are benches and displays. The displays give you information on the history of the area.

1  Thank tomapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleekCastle, Public Relations Manager at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Boccigallupo,
What a pity you did not get a chance to visit the castle as well! The woods and the grounds are stunningly beautiful indeed, but you have missed out on our excellent castle tour, the impressive castle facilities and the fantastic food! Next time you are in the area pop in for a visit, I am quite sure you will enjoy your stay.
Kind regards,
Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent knowledgeable friendly guide. very interesting collection of fossils and medieval armoury & Grainne Mhaol's bed! fantastic selection of rooms to view in the castle

1  Thank 50Auburn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleekCastle, Public Relations Manager at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Thanks 50Auburn50 for your warm words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

At the time of year we visited the Castle didn't open to the public until 2pm, it was a lovely day so we took a walk around the Forest Park. We really enjoyed it, but if planning this trip I would suggest getting a Heritage Trail brochure first as it brings to life the stops along the trail. We had sandwiches, scones and coffee in the Armada bar lounge before our guided tour of the castle - scrumptious & highly recommended. The staff are very professional and welcoming. Miriam our tour guide was perfect, very knowledgeable and friendly with an obvious love of the castle and its contents and, believe me, there is a lot to love. We hope to return and have Sunday lunch and a leisurely walk around the Forest Park in Spring.

1  Thank LynxNorthWestIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleekCastle, Public Relations Manager at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear LynxNorthWestIreland,
I am delighted you enjoyed my tour as well as the walk in the grounds! It is great to hear that people are interested in local history and heritage, and I think Belleek Castle gives you the full experience. I hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Warm wishes,
Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We only had an hour to go for a walk so went through Belleek Woods which had lots to offer. It's a shame we didn't have more time as would've been nice to see it all. Plenty for kids to see also and very green.

Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleekCastle, Public Relations Manager at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Karen C,
Great to hear you and your family enjoyed the walk in the woods! The Belleek Woods are comprising more than 200 acres of woodland, an ideal destination for runners, hikers and cyclists. Next time you are in the area, pop in to Belleek Castle for an escorted tour of the property. I am sure your kids will love the fossil room and the armoury. There is much more to see in the castle than you think! Family tickets are only €30.
All the best,
Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belleek Castle Museum also viewed

 

Been to Belleek Castle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing