We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price performance ratio excellent!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red River Lodge B&B
Ranked #8 of 19 Ballina B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“price performance ratio excellent!”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

It was a beautiful stay at red river lodge. we had a very nice room with a view over the river. the room was very clean. breakfast was very good as well.. the most impressed we were about dolores knowledge about the attracions and sights in the area. thank you for the tourist guidance =)
Ina &Sven

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wenbockts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
54
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We needed a place that was close to the museum and settlement of Ceide Fields. This lovely setting overlooking the river was just perfect.

Dolores has built a lovely place with one of the nicest gardens.

She directed us to a pub a few blocks down the road, also sitting on the river front and we had one of our best pub meals of the trip. Not your typical pub fare.

The accommodation was spotless.

Do yourself a favor, if you are near to Ballina, Ceide Fields or Sligo, stay here for one or two nights, you will be doing yourself a favor.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richardleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint Katelijne Waver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is the absolute finest room and hostess we ever had. You think you are staying in a 5star
hotel. The room and bathroom are very spacious with lots of closets and drawers to put your clothes and things away. Rooms are very clean and beds are made every day. We had a room overlooking a stunning panoramic view of the river.
Breakfast is OK in a very beautifull sunroom overlooking the garden. Dolores is a very friendly and intelligent hostess. She is very interested in her guests and you can talk with her about everything.
On top of this is that this place was the less expensive of our 4 week trip in Ireland - just unbelievable !!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godelieve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had a lovely time and were immediately welcomed to Red River Lodge.

The house is beautiful, the bedroom overlooking a stunning panoramic view of the water. Lovely breakfast with a good selection of either light or cooked options.

Dolores was a wonderful host and went above and beyond in looking after us and made our stay with a 20 month boy a pleasure. If you are going to Ballina or the surrounding area stay here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wormsmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Dolores very welcoming & we were delighted with our room overlooking the river. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast eaten in the sun room overlooking the beautiful garden. Location is good - not too far from Ballina & handy for Enniscrone. Dolores happy to recommend tours of the area & places to eat. We wished we had booked a third night but will stay again when next in Ballina.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judithLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at the Red River Lodge for one night on Saturday 9 th June.It is the best B&B we have stayed in,we had a very warm welcome from Dolores on arrival,and were offered tea or coffee.Our room was a dream overlooking the bay.
Breakfast served in the sunroom was delicious,would loved to have stayed another few nights,we shall return.
So if your in Ballina The Red River Lodge is the place to stay.
B&A Omagh.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theneats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just come back from a weekend in Ballina for a wedding and stayed in the Red River Lodge for 2 nights. The owner, Dolores, was very welcoming and gave us a quick tour of the house when we arrived.

The house and surroundings are beautiful, we ate our breakfast looking out at the lovely scenery and the river Moy. The whole house and garden is immaculate and very well kept.

We stayed in a family room with a double and a single bed. There was more than enough room for 3 adults to get around. The room was lovely and had everything we needed. The only thing it didn't have was an iron and ironing board but Dolores was quick to ask whether we would like to borrow one.

We were asked to fill out a small form each night to say what we would like for breakfast the next day and what time roughly. There was a good choice for breakfast and the full irish breakfast was delicious!!

Our room was cleaned and our clothes, folded or hung up in the wardrobe for us.

The b&b is around 5k from Ballina and 7k from Enniscrone so does seem a bit in the middle of nowhere, but this is no problem if you have a car and if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful place to stay a little bit out of town, this place is perfect.

Overall, Dolores couldn't do enough to make our stay as pleasurable as possible and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
2.1 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,309 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
479 reviews
3.5 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
4.4 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
319 reviews
2.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red River Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red River Lodge B&B

Property: Red River Lodge B&B
Address: Quay Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red River Lodge Bed and Breakfast ceased trading in September 2015. Unfortunately it is impossible to contact TripAdvisor and have this listing deleted. We would like to apologies to all travelers who contacted us inquiring about accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing