We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red River Lodge B&B
Ranked #9 of 20 Ballina B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Dolores and Mark have created a most beautiful and restful place overlooking their lovely gardens and the Moy estuary. We had a wonderfully elegant and private room with an exquisite view of the river. Dolores fed us thoughtfully prepared breakfasts in the bright sunroom, and gave knowledgable guidance to sights in the Sligo area and all along the coast of county Mayo. We felt personally welcomed and cared for throughout our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Wendy, thank you for your lovely review of your stay at RRL It was a pleasure to meet you both and and enjoyed our conversations. Thank you for spending precious days of your honeymoon with us and we wish you both every happiness in the years ahead.
Dolores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Excellent B&B on the banks of the river Moy. Beautiful house, excellent rooms and a lovely landlady. The breakfast was superb, and the breakfast room itself has gorgeous views over the garden and the river. Rooms are very comfortable and very good quality. Definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinM8276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you Kevin, for your great review. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope you make it back to the West of Ireland again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We live in the Ballina area and when friends ask us where they can stay for a B&B option we always recommend Red River Lodge. Delores (the proprietor) runs a first class establishment. If you want to experience the best of Mayo then get booking.

Room Tip: All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coops101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you Coops for another great review of our B&B. We are so pleased you send all your friends and family to RRL. They are such lovely people it is a pleasure to take care of them for you.
Many thanks again. Dolores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at Red River Lodge for three nights. We where with two couples and all enjoyed our stay. Dolores made us feel at home and in the morning we had a wonderfull breakfast. Furthermore she told us much about things to do and see. From our rooms we had beutifull views over the river. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank In_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you Rockanje for great review of your stay at Red River Lodge. I am very pleased you your partner and friends enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to share local knowledge with you and really enjoyed our morning conversations!
Dolores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I made the terrible mistake of thinking I had booked in the other city of Ballina, and did not realize my mistake until arriving into the cit of Ballina outside Limerick. Dolores graciously accepted my apology and refunded my money. So appreciative of her quick response and compassion. A true testament of the character of the folks that run this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My wife and I have stayed at a wide-variety of B&Bs throughout Ireland over the years. Many were excellent, but the Red River Lodge B&B ranks very high on our list of favorites. From the very moment we drove into the driveway, we knew we were in for a great experience. The grounds and house are beautiful and very well maintained. The interior of the house is exceptionally nice and the room we stayed in was spacious, clean and nicely appointed, with a great view to boot. The best part of our experience was meeting Delores, our hostess. She is a warm and friendly person who made us feel at home immediately. Moreover, not only is she an outstanding cook --her breakfasts were outstanding -- but she is very knowledgeable about points of interest in the surrounding area and beyond as well as interesting historical facts about Ireland. We followed her advice about taking in some sites that were not on our itinerary and they were outstanding suggestions. The Red River Lodge B&B will be our first choice for accommodations the next time we are in the Ballina area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

William, thank you for taking the trouble to write such a great review of your stay at Red River lodge.
I love sharing my knowledge of Mayo & Sligo with our guests as it puts a totally different perspective on their experience. I really appreciate your detailed comments.
Thank you so much, Dolores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Booked to stay 2 nights,ended up staying for 4.Dolores and Mark offer understated 4 star quality accomodation in iddylic surroundings.Facilities are far better than some hotels I have stayed in and Dolores is a wealth of information on all things Irish,personal touch is brilliant.Only trouble is once you have stayed here every where else seems second best!
Oh,forgot to mention,price is unbelievable too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
3.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
501 reviews
4.1 mi away
Whitestream House B&B
Whitestream House B&B
#1 of 20 in Ballina
38 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kingfisher Lodge B&B
Kingfisher Lodge B&B
#3 of 20 in Ballina
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Lisdovogue House
Lisdovogue House
#8 of 20 in Ballina
36 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,354 reviews
5.0 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red River Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red River Lodge B&B

Address: Quay Road, Ballina F26 W088, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ballina
Price Range: £27 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red River Lodge Bed and Breakfast ceased trading in September 2015. Unfortunately it is impossible to contact TripAdvisor and have this listing deleted. We would like to apologies to all travelers who contacted us inquiring about accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing