We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Reviews say it all!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 20 Ballina B&B and Inns
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The Reviews say it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and I, and our two children 16 & 20 spent two evenings at Red River Lodge. There's not much more I can say without repeating what has already been said in other reviews. We arrived late the first evening, and I made sure to call ahead to let them know we would still be on our way. Mark was there to receive us that evening and was very accommodating. Dolores was extremely gracious, attentive and accommodating in all aspects during our stay. She was especially helpful in offering ideas for our daily excursion plans. The attention to details at Red River are unsurpassed. There is a book in the room with very well detailed ideas for daily excursions. You could very easily spend a week or longer at Red River. While we were there, we spent a day exploring the quiet, remote locations of Kilcummin and the Tour de Humbert route. We then ventured up through Ballycastle and visited Downpatrick Head (spectacular site, but take extreme caution here!) Ceide Fields is also a very interesting and beautiful historical perspective of Ireland during the Stone Age. A round of golf at Enniscrone is also a very nice option. We dined at Gilroys, and had a delicious dinner and fun evening. All in all a very nice town, and great option in County Mayo. Thank you Mark and Dolores and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much, Michael, for taking the trouble to write such a great review. I enjoyed our chats and meeting your lovely family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
54
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We began a biking holiday in Ballina and Red River Lodge was our first B&B. It set the standard beautifully. Doloros our hostess was extremely hospitable. Tea, coffee and biscuits were available in reception at any time. Our room was extremely comfortable and our breakfast set us up exceptionally well for the day. Doloros's husband Mark, even assisted us with a bike repair.
Many thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank North-Gates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you make it back again. Dolores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This B&B has been operating more than 15 years. It is about 5-10 mins north of Ballina. I loved our room with sweeping views west over the River Moy. Their garden is drop-dead gorgeous. Breakfast is served in a beautiful conservatory and was excellent , with several choices . Dolores gave us a great deal of attention, helping us select restaurants, making reservations for us and helping us navigate the area. But we also got to know her and her husband Mark a little too. We would definitely return if we come back to Mayo!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you Armonk for your great comments. We love helping our guests to get the very best out of the area whether it is dining out or sightseeing. Most of all we love chatting to our guests.
Mark loved your reference to "drop-dead gorgeous garden"!!!
Dolores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster Groves, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Dolores and Mark have created a most beautiful and restful place overlooking their lovely gardens and the Moy estuary. We had a wonderfully elegant and private room with an exquisite view of the river. Dolores fed us thoughtfully prepared breakfasts in the bright sunroom, and gave knowledgable guidance to sights in the Sligo area and all along the coast of county Mayo. We felt personally welcomed and cared for throughout our visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Wendy, thank you for your lovely review of your stay at RRL It was a pleasure to meet you both and and enjoyed our conversations. Thank you for spending precious days of your honeymoon with us and we wish you both every happiness in the years ahead.
Dolores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Excellent B&B on the banks of the river Moy. Beautiful house, excellent rooms and a lovely landlady. The breakfast was superb, and the breakfast room itself has gorgeous views over the garden and the river. Rooms are very comfortable and very good quality. Definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinM8276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you Kevin, for your great review. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope you make it back to the West of Ireland again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killala, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We live in the Ballina area and when friends ask us where they can stay for a B&B option we always recommend Red River Lodge. Delores (the proprietor) runs a first class establishment. If you want to experience the best of Mayo then get booking.

Room Tip: All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coops101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you Coops for another great review of our B&B. We are so pleased you send all your friends and family to RRL. They are such lovely people it is a pleasure to take care of them for you.
Many thanks again. Dolores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockanje, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at Red River Lodge for three nights. We where with two couples and all enjoyed our stay. Dolores made us feel at home and in the morning we had a wonderfull breakfast. Furthermore she told us much about things to do and see. From our rooms we had beutifull views over the river. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank In_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyView, Owner at Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you Rockanje for great review of your stay at Red River Lodge. I am very pleased you your partner and friends enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to share local knowledge with you and really enjoyed our morning conversations!
Dolores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
3.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
5.0 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
2.7 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
4.4 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Red River Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Iceford | The Quay Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red River Lodge is a family run Bed & Breakfast, ideally located in North Mayo, 5km from Ballina. You will receive a warm Irish welcome on your arrival. Relax and unwind in our stylish, modern rooms overlooking the scenic river Moy estuary. Golf, fishing, walking, cycling are just a few activities in close proximity to our home. We guarantee a memorable, tranquil and thoroughly enjoyable experience. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available throughout the house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing