We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' Weekend”
Review of Belleek Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belleek Castle
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I went on a lovely girls' weekend trip to Belleek Castle. I am studying abroad in Ireland right now, and we came from Dublin via train, went to Westport the next day, and ended on Achill Island. The castle is beautiful. Though we arrived late and only stayed one night, the grounds were magical. The room was fit for a princess. The beds were super comfortable. For three of us, we had a large room with a king size bed and two large twin size beds. Tea was provided in the room, which was a nice touch. The bathroom was large and clean.

We had a lot of fun exploring Ballina, which is a very cute Irish town. Definitely eat dinner one night at Dillon's Bar and Restaurant. It was delicious and great atmosphere. The breakfast at the castle was also delicious - we got it included in our price. We were really only in Ballina for the evening, and I would recommend spending more time there.

As students this was a treat to stay here one night, but you have to spend one night in a castle in Ireland! Overall, a lovely stay, and I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Went to the restaurant recently with a group of 4,such a fantastic setting on a winters evening,huge log fires and candlelight.superb early bird menu,such great value.food excellent,5 star,would highly recommend,a place everyone should experience away from everyday hustle and bustle


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank pearljam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We never thought we would get the opportunity to stay in a castle but Belleek Castle lived up to our dreams. Driving up the long drive provided a great first impression. The large castle like furnishings; candles; unique bar area - all very cool. Room itself was fairly basic but very suitable and comfortable. We had dinner and the restaurant was over the top. Fabulous food. We almost stayed two nights just to experience it more but decided to move on....we will be back here if in the area again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytoretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked this as a last minute weekend break and boy were we delighted with this fantastic hotel. We arrived at night, it was lit up like a fairy princess castle, it looked stunning. It has been beautifully renovated with much love by a family. The food was sublime. If you go, get the drunken bullock, I had it both nights, was just super gorgeous. The staff are so friendly had helpful. The four poster bed in our room was so comfortable and I had to jump to get on it which I thought was hilarous. The open fire in the bar is so lovely to sit by and the grounds are wonderful to explore. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: For fun, have room 4, poster bed is so high up you could do with a ladder, one thing though, it is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebby1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Three nights at the castle and we were treated like royalties or maybe like Robin Hood and Marion. Going up the ivydressed bolulevard towards the castle made you travel a couple of hundred years back in time. Although everything is up to date and we got one of the newly refurbished rooms overlooking the front lawn. Well down at the bar we had the the best cosmo ever made and reluctantly went into the main dining room only to have a spendid meny of different deletable surprises. Dont hesitate just go and leave your self in the care of the castles knights.

Room Tip: Choose one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sultanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Enjoyed a long weekend here recently. Standard room was OK with no real character. Superior rooms are more roomy and more in keeping with the property. Shower was particularly poor but bed was very comfortable.
Hall, bar, lounge and dining room do not disappoint in their period features and you really feel that you are staying in an historic building.
Continental breakfast choice might not satisfy everyone but the 'cooked to order breakfast' is excellent. Ate all three nights in the castle and were able to sample the early bird, a la carte and market menus. Everything we had to eat was excellent and we had the pleasure of dining in a smaller separate dining room as well as the main dining room.
All staff that we encountered were very pleasant and attentive.
As per photos on their site there are no formal gardens but the walks through the woods and along the river are a great asset on the doorstep.
Highly recommend for those that want a relaxing break and are' fond of their food'.

Room Tip: Get a superior room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEHE2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in this wonderful castle for two nights. From the time we entered to the time we left it was an experience of wonderful delights that comes once in a lifetime. The staff were very informative and friendly and the food was absolutely marvellous. Credit to everyone involved and to the man who first created this great ambience. We enjoyed the walks along the Moy and in the evening could sit in the lounge or bar with its open fires and luxuriate in the comforts and surrounds. Our food from the first to last morsel was absolutely delicious and so wonderfully presented that I wanted to stay there for a long time. Once again to the owners past and present and all of the staff well done. It makes me proud that we have these hidden gems in our country. "I'll be back".

Room Tip: Look for front facing rooms and the four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marypatrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
0.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,366 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,079 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
615 reviews
5.2 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belleek Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belleek Castle

Address: Belleek Woods | Garrenkeal, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: £127 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belleek Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belleek Castle....... an iconic Irish Country House, restaurant (AA 2 Rosettes), hotel and spectacular wedding venue…Belleek is unpretentious, cosy and friendly, rich in decor and antiquities, with open log fires to warm your steps back through this cultural adventure.Enjoy a contemporary dinner, with generous portions, in our unique light panelled dining room. We have developed a new food philosophy. Our spirit is to search for more “Depth of Flavour”, exercising both classic and imaginative cooking techniques. We use seasonal ingredients and produce, selected from the land, sea and air of Mayo, and combine these with the traditions of the Castle.However, our signature dish is a Castle classic, the "Drunken Bullock", a filet steak flambéed at the table and served flaming from a sword, adding theatre to succulent steak. Hand made oak tables, eclectic romantic music, lit by candlelight, with charming attention and delicious food.“One of the most atmospheric and delightful dining experiences in Ireland”, Bill Gooch, Virginia Beach.Guests may enjoy a private viewing of the Castle museum by appointment. Belleek Castle hosts The Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collection of mediaeval armour and Jurassic fossils in Ireland. How many times have I heard? “Oh my God!” or “Oh Gosh!”Belleek Castle... Unique, intimate and magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belleek Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleek Castle Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing