We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Treat”
Review of Belleek Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belleek Castle
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Treat”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Belleek Castle. WOW. A very beautiful old worldly castle. We found the staff most welcoming, and friendly. We had the honeymoon suite, which has a beautiful view of the grounds. The room was beautifully decorated and spotless clean. We booked dinner in the restaurant which was again served to the highest of standards. I cant wait to go back in the summer and take advantage of the beautiful walks surrounding the castle.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    83
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
93
289
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
enniscrone co sligo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Beautiful old world period castle immersed in history and full of character and indeed characters. Take advantage of forest walk down to the river, Go for the steak meal flamed and served on a sword. Leave your worries on the door step and simply relax. Another great amenity on our doorstep

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joecosligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I am Irish and my wife is German, and we live in Germany. We wanted to get married in Ireland and went to see some venues around the west coast, and we came across Belleek Castle, we met with Mary it was febuary and they were busy renovating all the rooms but Mary met us with a big smile and gladly showed us around.The place is amazing an old castle that has been restored to a warm yet rustic ,comfortable, beautiful hotel, we feel in love!!! As i said we were living in germany and as a result that was the first and only time before the wedding we were in ireland, we had so much help from maya and her team i have never experienced this with any other hotel, the term above and beyond does not even do them justice. They organised everything and gave us great advice about music and other areas of our special day, on the day we were determined to have a stress free day and maya and her team made this happen, she was everywhere very organised and the day went better than we could ever have imagined, the food cooked lovingly by stephen, who rang us several times to disscuss the menu and his passion for food is amazing to hear,with everything grown on the grounds or sourced within a mile or 2 of the castle, it could not be fresher and was out of this would.The menu was just great and guest are still talking about it.I want to advise everyone that is getting married in ireland to go and have a look,as belleek was and will always be the most magical place we have come across,thanks again Maya,Paul,Stephen and the rest of the staff there you were all amazing and made our day top class.See you soon

Ruairi & Anna

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruairi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

What a fabulous, top class little quirky medieval gem.

The warmth, welcome and atmosphere is second to none. Set in a forest the drive up to the castle is spectacular. Walking through the big wooden doors is like a time portal to the past. Candles burning everywhere and a big open fire greet you as well as great staff. We had a drink in the Armada bar and then had a tour of the castle and museum. I had had the privilege of meeting Marshall Doran many years ago , the man behind the restoration of the whole castle.

The rooms are fantastic, all of them very different but all with four poster beds. Felt like a queen!

What do I say about the food...magnificent. Stephen, the chef, has been there for many years and continues to delight and tantalise the taste buds. His food is a joy and a must not miss experience. Thank you Stephen.

Would I stay here again....in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feedee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had our wedding reception here last April. The whole experience was top class...We were treated very well by the relaxed team at Belleek. Our chef Stephen was phenomenal and our tasting night last Christmas was an unforgettable experience. We had a feast of mouth watering food in their gorgeous and atmospheric restaurant. The wedding itself was in the medieval banqueting hall it was perfect and some guests are still raving about the Drunken Bullock...which I have to agree was the best beef I have ever tasted. Our guests got a tour of the Castle and Museum and another relaxed evening of food, wine and song ensued. We really felt at home and loved every minute of it. If you like all things rustic you will love this place.

We will be back again and again.

A big thank you to Stephen, Paul, Maya and Mary.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the usual bridal suite it's at the top of the stairs looking out on the front garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciakellyDempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The food in Belleek is outstanding! We chose Belleek as the perfect romantic setting for our wedding celebrations this past summer primarily because the food is so good (thanks to chef Stephen's talents), but also because the owners always extend such a heart-felt welcome every time we visit. Perhaps traditionally more associated with winter occasions than summer ones, Belleek's medieval ambiance provided a uniquely special backdrop to our midsummer wedding. Blessed with 29 degree heat on the day, we were also blessed with Maya's willingness to let our band play outside in the grounds of the castle -creating our very own mini summer festival! We are still talking about how incredibly accommodating Maya and all the staff at Belleek are, and our friends still rave about the impeccable service we experienced over the course of the weekend. We were not the easiest of couples to please - having our own distinct ideas about how we wanted everything on our wedding day - but we were treated royally and are so very grateful for how accommodating and lovely everyone involved in Belleek is. From the old oak bar, to the gorgeous four-poster beds and the wonderful setting by a forest, we cannot recommend Belleek enough. This place is a true gem, and ideal for anyone hoping to experience beautiful Irish food, in a uniquely charming castle set in the rural West of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland West
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Myself and three friends Belleek visited last week. We all have an interest in castles and decided to do the tour. We dealt with Miriam from the beginning and she was there to guide us thought the castle. When we arrived, Miriam was tied up and we were invited into the Armada bar for a drink while we waited. Miriam promptly arrived and sat with us while we were finishing our drink and she gave us a great insight into the castle before we started the tour. Miriam is a wealth of knowledge and you can tell loves her job and the castle.
The tour is fascinating and the man who restored the castle from the 1960's, Marshall Doran, comes across as an amazing character who put his life into this wonderful venue.
Because it was November, the castle was quiet but I can only imagine the atmosphere there in the summer or at a Christmas party.
If you are in Mayo, it is definitely worth a trip out and to soak up the brilliant atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
0.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,290 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,024 reviews
3.3 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
466 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
588 reviews
6.1 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belleek Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belleek Castle

Property: Belleek Castle
Address: Belleek Woods, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belleek Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belleek Castle....... an iconic Irish Country House, restaurant (AA 2 Rosettes), hotel and spectacular wedding venue…Belleek is unpretentious, cosy and friendly, rich in decor and antiquities, with open log fires to warm your steps back through this cultural adventure.Enjoy a contemporary dinner, with generous portions, in our unique light panelled dining room. We have developed a new food philosophy. Our spirit is to search for more “Depth of Flavour”, exercising both classic and imaginative cooking techniques. We use seasonal ingredients and produce, selected from the land, sea and air of Mayo, and combine these with the traditions of the Castle.However, our signature dish is a Castle classic, the "Drunken Bullock", a filet steak flambéed at the table and served flaming from a sword, adding theatre to succulent steak. Hand made oak tables, eclectic romantic music, lit by candlelight, with charming attention and delicious food.“One of the most atmospheric and delightful dining experiences in Ireland”, Bill Gooch, Virginia Beach.Guests may enjoy a private viewing of the Castle museum by appointment. Belleek Castle hosts The Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collection of mediaeval armour and Jurassic fossils in Ireland. How many times have I heard? “Oh my God!” or “Oh Gosh!”Belleek Castle... Unique, intimate and magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Belleek Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleek Castle Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing