We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak Ever!”
Review of Belleek Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belleek Castle
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Myself and my lady went here for a meal, €50 per head for 5 courses, the best €50 we ever spent. Lovely traditional feel to the castle, lovely people serving you, a lady to show you for a drink as soon as you enter the building, and get that steak it is amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I recently visited Belleek. It the most tranquil setting! I really enjoyed my meal, the food was excellent and the presentation was brilliant and the service what could only be described as top class.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrmillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a 2 night break with dinner, what a beautiful spot, soooooooo relaxing, staff were really nice, the perfect balance between friendly & not to intrusive. Would definitely recommend it for a romantic break, lovely peaceful atmosphere with the woodlands perfect for a strole. Dinner was perfect, each course so tasty!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueesmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our second stay at Belleek Castle.It was a bit of a let down from our last stay.It definitely has more of a castle feel than other"castles",but starting to look just a little worn.I guess you really do feel like you are in a castle.The fireplace,entryway,and adjoining rooms are really amazing.You do sort of feel like Lord and Lady of the manor.Truth is I missed Creevagh Heights.Dinner was good, but definitely not comparable to the price.It is a unique property,and the staff is wonderful.The grounds are beautiful as is the castle.The Belleek Trails are so pretty and such a nice way to start the day,lots of photo opps.It definitely is a unique experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just had lovely stay at Belleek Castle; it is charming, elegant and posh! Dinner and breakfast were beautiful, we opted for the Early Bird menu as three courses is always enough food for us. The braised steak was absolutely delicious. Wine was very good, bit expensive but I suppose you are paying for the ambiance.
We cycled through the forest on a glorious sunny afternoon and enjoyed that thoroughly.
We had a deluxe room , good price on Booking.com. It was newly refurbished, only surprise was that it had 3 beds! Maybe it's handy for wedding guests.
It was mid week and quiet, but still the atmosphere was nice for a one night get away.
Enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Room 8 is deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarebradraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for a night over the Easter weekend, had a really great time & enjoyed the tasting menu. Great grounds - a walk through the woods & along the river is wonderful. The welcome & staff are fantastic too, a good west of Ireland hospitality. The room we had was nice without being amazing, but that is very understandable as this is an late 1800's building. There are only ~ 11 rooms in the hotel so the focus is on the food. We went for the full deal & got the tasting menu of 8 courses for 65 euro each + a bottle of wine 28 eure cheapest bottle, ~ 180euro. Dinner had highs & lows & overall I think underachieved for the price. Some courses -, Sole, shellfish, Duck, Sorbet & dessert were brilliant. The main was a let down - the fillet steak was small, I don't think it was seasoned at all & to bring it out pierced on a sword was a bit gimmicky for me but maybe some people like this, but all I could think was its loosing its juices by being pierced. It was only an OK steak. The front of house was excellent & up for having chats. We really enjoyed ourselves, a great place for an unusual break. A few other small things nag'ed us....water on the tables was plastic bottles of riverock - could there not be nice glass bottles (small things but when your paying alot of cash for dinner these things matter, we were asked 3 times had we ordered our wine & 8 euro per person for a tour of the manor is steep. Oh & yes its not a castle its a manor......

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Higgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our stay at the Belleek Castle was the highlight of our 3 week visit to Ireland. Most "Castles" that you can stay at are, at most, merely Castles on the outside. Inside they are updated so they are little different that any other Hotel. To be accurate, I have never seem what I consider a "Castle" Hotel, they are more like "Manor Houses". Of course, a true "Castle" would be all stone, and have one giant interior room, so that's not really practical. When one stays at the Belleek Castle, it is as if the Laird is gone for the week, so you have the use of his house! There is very little that is "hotel-like" at the Belleek Castle, even the key to your room is an Ancient "skeleton" key. LOL. That took a little getting used to! The only downside is the TV, (poorly placed, no good place to watch it from), but why are you trying to watch TV? We neglected to take the "Tour" that is offered daily, but the portion of the Castle that you see in normal activities is full of Authentic Armor and Paintings and other collectables.
As impressive as the Belleek Castle is, physically, that pales in comparison with the Food. As one might expect, any Laird worth his Castle has to have a Chef! Not just a "cook", a real, innovative, talented, bona fide CHEF. Every dish we ate was AWESOME! Even the simplest dinner item on the menu was UNBELIEVEABLE. We plan to return to Ireland (from Oregon, USA), simply because we want to return to the Belleek Castle.

Room Tip: There ARE no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redsmeagol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
0.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,341 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,059 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
605 reviews
5.2 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belleek Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belleek Castle

Address: Belleek Woods, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: £88 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belleek Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belleek Castle....... an iconic Irish Country House, restaurant (AA 2 Rosettes), hotel and spectacular wedding venue…Belleek is unpretentious, cosy and friendly, rich in decor and antiquities, with open log fires to warm your steps back through this cultural adventure.Enjoy a contemporary dinner, with generous portions, in our unique light panelled dining room. We have developed a new food philosophy. Our spirit is to search for more “Depth of Flavour”, exercising both classic and imaginative cooking techniques. We use seasonal ingredients and produce, selected from the land, sea and air of Mayo, and combine these with the traditions of the Castle.However, our signature dish is a Castle classic, the "Drunken Bullock", a filet steak flambéed at the table and served flaming from a sword, adding theatre to succulent steak. Hand made oak tables, eclectic romantic music, lit by candlelight, with charming attention and delicious food.“One of the most atmospheric and delightful dining experiences in Ireland”, Bill Gooch, Virginia Beach.Guests may enjoy a private viewing of the Castle museum by appointment. Belleek Castle hosts The Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collection of mediaeval armour and Jurassic fossils in Ireland. How many times have I heard? “Oh my God!” or “Oh Gosh!”Belleek Castle... Unique, intimate and magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belleek Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleek Castle Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing