We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing castle experience”
Review of Belleek Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belleek Castle
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing castle experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

When you drive through the dark forest and through the gates to see the castle, it really has the wow factor. The castle/manor is very gothic looking. There are lots of parking spaces in front of the entrance door. The reception area is very authentic looking and you truly feel like you are staying in a castle. It is definitely a special experience. We didn't eat dinner in the castle (we ate at Dillons in Ballina) as I am vegetarian and it seemed to be mainly meat orientated. We ate the breakfast which was very tasty. We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel in No. 7 room which had a 4 poster bed but the decor was a little disappointing. The view was lovely of a courtyard to the side of the hotel and the bathroom was completely modern and gorgeous! The bed was firm but extremely comfortable. The bed sheets was high hotel quality cotton. We stayed in June 2014 and found the castle very warm! I'm sure this is a bonus in winter time but in summer, it was quite uncomfortable at times. They could do with opening some windows or even just leaving the front door open as it was always closed for some reason. We didn't do the tour of the castle but there are lots of information around the hotel and woods detailing the history of the castle and its previous owners. Belleek Woods which are part of the castle are a fantastic bonus to have to make your trip even more enjoyable. Overall, we had a fantastic experience during our stay at Belleek Castle and will be recommending it to friends who are looking for a relaxing break!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Linda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Irish_Linda2013

It is a pleasure to read all of your kind comments and we tank you for them , just to address a few points that you have made, We are sorry to hear that your felt that the dinner menus were mainly meat orientate , however I must say that we have for every menu a vegetarian comparison, in so that we can cater for everyone which comes to the castle, I do apologise sincerely that you were not offered the vegetarian menus, however should you return please mention this and we will have a note made for your arrival . In terms of the décor being disappointing to you , we are in the progress of refurbishing and modernising in areas of the décor, however this is a slow progress and can only be done one room at a time. should you return however we will happily allocate you one different room . Unfortunately all we can do about the heating conditioning is to turn the heat off, in your room to cool it down, and as the castle is an authentic historic building we cant install air conditioning. We do leave the door open at times however with locals walking around the grounds with dogs we have to be careful that we don't have any coming into the castle with residents staying. All in all thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    81
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
92
286
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment you check in you feel like a true princess. When we checked in there was a wedding that evening and they did everything to make sure we were taken care of. Paul and Mya, the owners are the kindest and loveliest people. As well as their staff. If you want to stay some place where you feel as though you are royalty Belleek Castle is it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Jennifer a

We are delighted to read that your felt like a princess and royalty on your arrival to Belleek castle, this is something we strive for all of our guest walking through the wooden doors. Paul and Maya send there appreciation of your comments . Your comments about the staff please us as they are highly trained and aim to enhance the time which every guest is at the castle.

We look forward to your return in the near future hopefully.

Kindest Regards
Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

When you drive in through the forest you have you first wow effect. Plenty of parking in front of the castle. The entrance hall is dark, medieval gothic, cosy especially when the fireplace is on. Friendly receptionist, waitresses, barkerper and a genious of a chef. We had a five course dinner that was delicious! I have to admit that the scrambled egg in the morning was the Best ever I ate in my life. I don't know how they did but it was for sure a magic hand behind it. We did the castle tour with the private collection. Great pieces of history. And you get to see the great banquet hall and private dining room, amazing.
The room big and spacious but if there is a minus, that is the bed. I simply could not sleep. Too soft and you had to jump on the bed so high it was. A great experience though and don't miss the lovely forest walk around the castle.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkadiafoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Arkadiafoto
It is a pleasure to read such a wonderful review . We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do apologise however that you did not find the bed comfortable and unfortunately too high. As some of the rooms have luxurious four poster beds which tie in with the authentic feel of the castle unfortunately the height of the bed is part of that, in saying this if you should return in the future we can allocate you a room that doesn't have a bed that is so high if you just make a note of it we will do our best to accommodate you.

We are delighted however to hear the great words from you about Belleek and we do send our sincere apologies.

Kind Regards
Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights for a family wedding. We had a room with my wife and 3 kids in. The couch is converted into a bed and the smallest guy slept in a travel cot. The rooms are great, old worldly but modern as you would expect in a castle. Flat screen on the walls. Radio with ipod dock in the room, great big bathroom, all great.

We had dinner during the wedding of course and it was delicious also the breakfasts were tasty. All in all a great place to get away to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesligorover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Despite the name, this isn't a castle. It's an 18th century manor home, decorated in the Tudor style in the public rooms and in the French provincial style in the bedrooms. The quirky decor is attributable to the quirky original owner about whom you can read. The rooms are generously sized, warm & clean, and the early bird dinner is excellent value. We received fantastic service from the frenetic manager who did everything from turn up the heat in our room to take our dinner order. The hotel is surrounded by wonderful woods that are easily accessible for walks. The cooked breakfast was good, but the buffet portion of the meal had limited selection. We got a good rate on the room by booking at the last minute on a weekday. At less than 100 euros it was excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juviall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 4 days and nights at this superb castle/hotel and I cannot fault it in any way except on the last morning breakfast was a bit disappointing, the evening meals were superb as was lunch for an amazing 10 euro. We had the honeymoon suite on the first night which we thought was superb but the following three nights we were upgraded to No.10 best room we have ever stayed in brand new bathroom, the bed was so comfy and B>I>G, everything spotless, staff were wonderful and helpful. If visiting the castle you must do the tour it is mind blowing what Marshall brought back from his trips. Set in spectacular woodland setting great for walking and picnics. Thoroughly recommended and superb value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Belleek Castle and i loved the place. Its an authentic castle, very well kept and surprisingly warm. The room was beautiful but then it was the one appearing in all the brochures with 2 armchairs and quite spacious. Food was excellent, both dinner & breakfast.
The bed wasn't the most comfortable but it was def in keeping with the castle style. Service was ok but could have been better. Castle is surrounded by woodland and is fabulous for walks, even on a raining day. We also did a guided tour of the castle which run at a set time daily (11 & 2) and took us to rooms that we would not have otherwise seen including the collection of armour. It was €8 and very interesting to see although the tour guide was quite poor. If leaving the castle for the evening, leave your key with reception so that they know you are out as otherwise you could spend 10 mins knocking to get back in!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
5.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
576 reviews
8.0 mi away
Enniscoe House
Enniscoe House
#7 of 9 in Ballina
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belleek Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belleek Castle

Property: Belleek Castle
Address: Belleek Woods, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belleek Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belleek Castle....... an iconic Irish Country House, restaurant (AA 2 Rosettes), hotel and spectacular wedding venue…Belleek is unpretentious, cosy and friendly, rich in decor and antiquities, with open log fires to warm your steps back through this cultural adventure.Enjoy a contemporary dinner, with generous portions, in our unique light panelled dining room. We have developed a new food philosophy. Our spirit is to search for more “Depth of Flavour”, exercising both classic and imaginative cooking techniques. We use seasonal ingredients and produce, selected from the land, sea and air of Mayo, and combine these with the traditions of the Castle.However, our signature dish is a Castle classic, the "Drunken Bullock", a filet steak flambéed at the table and served flaming from a sword, adding theatre to succulent steak. Hand made oak tables, eclectic romantic music, lit by candlelight, with charming attention and delicious food.“One of the most atmospheric and delightful dining experiences in Ireland”, Bill Gooch, Virginia Beach.Guests may enjoy a private viewing of the Castle museum by appointment. Belleek Castle hosts The Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collection of mediaeval armour and Jurassic fossils in Ireland. How many times have I heard? “Oh my God!” or “Oh Gosh!”Belleek Castle... Unique, intimate and magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belleek Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleek Castle Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing