We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, excellent service, wonderful food”
Review of Belleek Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belleek Castle
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, excellent service, wonderful food”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have been visiting Belleek Castle for many years and have always enjoyed the experience. The last two visits, with my own family, have been wonderful and have reinforced what a marvellous place this is. The setting is beautiful. The staff are characterful, courteous and warm, and the food is beyond compare. I couldnt recommend this more highly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your feed back, we are delighted to hear that you had a great time while visiting the castle and felt the characters and warmth of all our staff.They aim to enhance each and every person whom enters the doors of Belleek Castle. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    81
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
92
286
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I spent 1 night here. It was nice.
It's on some great grounds to hike around and the place has an interesting history to read about.
Our room was HUGE and very nice and clean
The staff is also nice and friendly.

This hotel has a cool bar as well that is very warm and welcoming.

The restaurant is really excellent as far as the food goes. My warned though. My wife and I went for the 5 course meal which was awesome but VERY expensive. The meal was top notch as far as quality and preparation. However, as is typically with very fine food in fine restaurants, it's not a lot of food for the price.

Our room was right above the restaurant which made it noisy at night as they were cleaning up. We could hear noise of the dishes banging and people going in and out of the back door I guess taking garbage out. If you are a light sleeper, get room in the front of the hotel.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The highlight was hiking the grounds and learning the history.

Room Tip: Our room was right above the restaurant which made it noisy at night as they were cleaning up. We c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Derek,

We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your time at the castle.
We are sorry to hear you felt that our menu was overpriced. We sincerely apologise about your noise issue above your room should you have noted this at the reception we would have sorted this on the night. Again we send our sincere apology and should you return in the future we will look after you and accommodate you to the best of our ability.

Kind regards .
Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here while on business in Ballina - very relaxing place. The wet weather prevented a tour of the interesting looking grounds but the building itself, was worth an exploration. The food was excellent - good local ingredients in generous servings well presented. There are two dining rooms - the main one is a tad uncomfortable with wooden bench seats, but the "Italian" room is excellent and to be recommended if you are given a choice. The only downside we found was in the bathroom - a dribble of a shower and a lack of toiletries. A multipurpose liquid was dispensed from a plastic container in the shower - as one would expect in a Premier Inn but not in a 4 star establishment. The charming owner was present and made it his business to engage with all the guests and conducted a comprehensive tour of his late father's fascinating collection. Recommended but bring your own soap and shampoo!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arfur51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Arfur51, We thank you for your recommendations and we welcome all feedback with open arms here at the castle,as we believe it can help us improve.. Thank you for your lovely comments in regards to our food and service, this we are delighted to hear as we lately won awards for best restaurant in Connaught and Mayo and best restaurant manager, and so all our restaurant and kitchen staff are delighted to read these comments. We do apologise about the bathroom facilities, it is a slow work in progress of improving them all over the castle . We hope when you return in the future, that we will have the ability to accommodate you with a room which has an improved bathroom.
Kind regards Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a 40th dinner party there and the staff and management couldn't do enough. Had our own personal waiter who was able to fill any lulls with history and stories about the hotel. Everyone was catered for all ages from 8 months to 80. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car1341a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Car1341a,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 40th dinner party and you felt the warmth and hospitality of our staff.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Until then,
Kindest Regards
Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great experience. I booked the hotel as we were attending an event locally and was just expecting a run of the mill experience, how I got that wrong. The entrance and first sight of the hotel set the tome for a great stay. The entrance hall (can't call it reception) with it's neo-gothic ceiling and antique furniture are a sight to behold. The room was very comfortable with a 4 poster bed and the bathroom was a delight.
The staff were excellent can't help enough and the relaxed atmosphere just adds to the experience. The owner took time out to cat with us and share in the rich history of the castle while ensuring we were comfortable and happy.
The food was exceptional (won 2014 award) and dinner was thoughly enjoyed in the dining room to the front of the house. The bar and lounge area are beautifully decorated with a mix of old and new. The bar itself built from old ship's timbers and the galleon winder are enchanting.
Due to our timetable we needed early breakfast and the chef came in early to ensure we were looked after.
The house has been lovingly restored with a great attention to detail. We did not have time for the tour or the walks through the surrounding woodlands so we just have to go back and booked a longer stay before we left, can't wait to get back and make the most of our next stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good and well equipped, the rooms to the front of the house provide a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Jerhughes
We are delighted to hear that your stay at Belleek Castle was more than what you expected. It is a pleasure to read that when you walked in and your first impression of the castle was much more than a reception area to you but an "entrance hall". To make reference to your point about the owner , here at Belleek we are more than happy to accommodate our guests to give them the best experience possible in which enhances their stay. Paul the owner , is always delighted to sit and chat with the guest as he has the information first hand and all the stories that are of the castle throughout the years. Thank you for acknowledging our most recent award of best restaurant in Connaught and best hotel manager award 2014, we are all ecstatic about the win as it represents all the hard work and time which each and everyone of our staff puts their time and effort into. As always our chef is very accommodating to our guest and it was no trouble at all with your request for early breakfast before departure. We look forward to your return and the doors will be opened with a very warm welcome from all here at the castle. Kind Regards Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had so much fun at Belleek Castle! Only four rooms were occupied during our stay, and most of the time we felt like we were the only guests there. The service was amazing! We were entertained with stories of the history of the castle and the unique collection of furniture and artifacts. We lounged like royalty, placed our dinner request from a sofa, had dessert an hour after dinner, drinks, played the guitar, just a wonderful experience. The dinner was one of the best meals of our trip. And breakfast arrangements were made early in the morning so we could reach our next destination on time. This is a truly unique place that will make you feel special!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCFamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear SCFamilyof3,
We are delighted to read your review and hear from you.it is a pleasure that you enjoyed your stay , the best part to read is that you felt "like royalty" in the castle and that is something we aim for in all of our guests when we welcome them to the castle. We aim to do our best with every person that walks through the wooden doors. Your comments have been passed on to the kitchen and restaurant staff and they say it is a pleasure to hear such a great review, the chef notes that it is never a problem to ask for early breakfast as he is ever so accommodating.
Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you again In the near future.
Kindest Regards
Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

When you drive through the dark forest and through the gates to see the castle, it really has the wow factor. The castle/manor is very gothic looking. There are lots of parking spaces in front of the entrance door. The reception area is very authentic looking and you truly feel like you are staying in a castle. It is definitely a special experience. We didn't eat dinner in the castle (we ate at Dillons in Ballina) as I am vegetarian and it seemed to be mainly meat orientated. We ate the breakfast which was very tasty. We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel in No. 7 room which had a 4 poster bed but the decor was a little disappointing. The view was lovely of a courtyard to the side of the hotel and the bathroom was completely modern and gorgeous! The bed was firm but extremely comfortable. The bed sheets was high hotel quality cotton. We stayed in June 2014 and found the castle very warm! I'm sure this is a bonus in winter time but in summer, it was quite uncomfortable at times. They could do with opening some windows or even just leaving the front door open as it was always closed for some reason. We didn't do the tour of the castle but there are lots of information around the hotel and woods detailing the history of the castle and its previous owners. Belleek Woods which are part of the castle are a fantastic bonus to have to make your trip even more enjoyable. Overall, we had a fantastic experience during our stay at Belleek Castle and will be recommending it to friends who are looking for a relaxing break!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Linda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Irish_Linda2013

It is a pleasure to read all of your kind comments and we tank you for them , just to address a few points that you have made, We are sorry to hear that your felt that the dinner menus were mainly meat orientate , however I must say that we have for every menu a vegetarian comparison, in so that we can cater for everyone which comes to the castle, I do apologise sincerely that you were not offered the vegetarian menus, however should you return please mention this and we will have a note made for your arrival . In terms of the décor being disappointing to you , we are in the progress of refurbishing and modernising in areas of the décor, however this is a slow progress and can only be done one room at a time. should you return however we will happily allocate you one different room . Unfortunately all we can do about the heating conditioning is to turn the heat off, in your room to cool it down, and as the castle is an authentic historic building we cant install air conditioning. We do leave the door open at times however with locals walking around the grounds with dogs we have to be careful that we don't have any coming into the castle with residents staying. All in all thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
5.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
575 reviews
8.0 mi away
Enniscoe House
Enniscoe House
#7 of 9 in Ballina
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belleek Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belleek Castle

Property: Belleek Castle
Address: Belleek Woods, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belleek Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belleek Castle....... an iconic Irish Country House, restaurant (AA 2 Rosettes), hotel and spectacular wedding venue…Belleek is unpretentious, cosy and friendly, rich in decor and antiquities, with open log fires to warm your steps back through this cultural adventure.Enjoy a contemporary dinner, with generous portions, in our unique light panelled dining room. We have developed a new food philosophy. Our spirit is to search for more “Depth of Flavour”, exercising both classic and imaginative cooking techniques. We use seasonal ingredients and produce, selected from the land, sea and air of Mayo, and combine these with the traditions of the Castle.However, our signature dish is a Castle classic, the "Drunken Bullock", a filet steak flambéed at the table and served flaming from a sword, adding theatre to succulent steak. Hand made oak tables, eclectic romantic music, lit by candlelight, with charming attention and delicious food.“One of the most atmospheric and delightful dining experiences in Ireland”, Bill Gooch, Virginia Beach.Guests may enjoy a private viewing of the Castle museum by appointment. Belleek Castle hosts The Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collection of mediaeval armour and Jurassic fossils in Ireland. How many times have I heard? “Oh my God!” or “Oh Gosh!”Belleek Castle... Unique, intimate and magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Belleek Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleek Castle Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing