We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a show to behold”
Review of Belleek Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belleek Castle
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The gates at the front of the estate are impressive, then you drive through the forest to an opening that reveals a grand castle. As you drive up the parking space in front of the entry you get a feeling of grandeur. What is special are the enormous front doors that you open - as yo would your own home. As you step into the reception area your eyes look up and see the huge ceiling space; red velvets; medieval coats of armour; tapestries on the walls and floors - WOW it was expensive, but a treat we were very pleased we chose.
We booked dinner and made our way to the enormous bedrooms up the grand staircase. Our room had a view of the ground out our the front entry, from a glamorous window box. Our bathroom was a roomy space with plenty of modern amenities, and soft, cuddly linen.
Down to dinner to the amazing bar that looked like something from an old spanish galleon. Dinner was a delight and a show for sure. The wine offering has a large choice and the meal was a real surprise. For our pleasure the reading rooms were light and airy and warm. I would strongly recommend this magnificent property both as a hotel and an attraction. The ground were forested, and green, with a river running though it - history rich. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, while not being over the top. Loved it, a highlight of our trip - Do it for yourself - it is well worth it.
We are there in April, and while it was cold, it just added to the the ambience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the entry and the grounds were beautiful - ours had an enormous window box.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ag021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words . It is a pleasure to read such a great review of the castle in which we all and our staff put so much time into enhancing the stay of each and everyone of our guests that come through the wooden doors. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time stay and food as well as the staff and surrounding of Belleek Castle. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest of regards
Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Belleek Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Came with with my family august of last year for my parents 40 th wedding anniversary the table ,the layout ,the food everything was amazing 5 case service mouth watering cocktails my favourtive part being the steak being served on the sword ... sitting cosy next to the grand fireplace glass of wine good company made my trip and with be returning on my next holiday in September very looking forward to this

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rufus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Ruth , It is a pleasure to read about your experience here at Belleek castle. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything and will be returning again. We look forward to your arrival and welcoming you again at the wooden doors .

Kind Regards
Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was one of the most pleasant hotel stays I have had, the atmosphere was warm & relaxed, the food was great and I slept like a baby.

This place is different from anywhere else that I have stayed before, I loved the thought and detail that has been put into the décor of the public areas, such as the lit candles on the staircase, the beautiful reclaimed wood that is used for the bar and the suits of armour lining the halls. Its a refreshing change from the usual bland four star offerings.

The location is peaceful, set in a wood, where you can take some time out and explore the grounds. But it is still within easy reach of the town.

The staff here are attentive without being intrusive, while still being personal, warm and friendly. The barman Kerion was particularly helpful when it came to choosing our drinks (wine & whiskey) and genuinely wanted to engage in conversation.

The room was clean & comfortable if a little too warm. The bed was fine, I slept like a log (though that might have had a lot to do with my very full belly after the 8 course dinner & a bottle of wine). The breakfast choice in the morning was very good with a range of homemade breads, cereal and fruit juice to start, and then you can choose from the menu which cooked dish you would like (much nicer that all that lukewarm buffet marlarkey).

All in I had a lovely stay, I felt welcomed and well looked after and will be recommending Belleek Castle to anyone who will listen, hopefully I will get to return sometime soon.

I now I will be thinking just a little bit harder before I give an establishment a five star review.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Angie,
Thank you for the wonderful review it was a pleasure to read. we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the castle. All our staff are trained to a high standard in which we aim to please and enhance the time our guest are at the castle. We look forward to welcoming you to the castle again in the near future. Until then, we send our kindest regards to you.

Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have been visiting Belleek Castle for many years and have always enjoyed the experience. The last two visits, with my own family, have been wonderful and have reinforced what a marvellous place this is. The setting is beautiful. The staff are characterful, courteous and warm, and the food is beyond compare. I couldnt recommend this more highly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your feed back, we are delighted to hear that you had a great time while visiting the castle and felt the characters and warmth of all our staff.They aim to enhance each and every person whom enters the doors of Belleek Castle. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I spent 1 night here. It was nice.
It's on some great grounds to hike around and the place has an interesting history to read about.
Our room was HUGE and very nice and clean
The staff is also nice and friendly.

This hotel has a cool bar as well that is very warm and welcoming.

The restaurant is really excellent as far as the food goes. My warned though. My wife and I went for the 5 course meal which was awesome but VERY expensive. The meal was top notch as far as quality and preparation. However, as is typically with very fine food in fine restaurants, it's not a lot of food for the price.

Our room was right above the restaurant which made it noisy at night as they were cleaning up. We could hear noise of the dishes banging and people going in and out of the back door I guess taking garbage out. If you are a light sleeper, get room in the front of the hotel.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The highlight was hiking the grounds and learning the history.

Room Tip: Our room was right above the restaurant which made it noisy at night as they were cleaning up. We c...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Derek,

We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your time at the castle.
We are sorry to hear you felt that our menu was overpriced. We sincerely apologise about your noise issue above your room should you have noted this at the reception we would have sorted this on the night. Again we send our sincere apology and should you return in the future we will look after you and accommodate you to the best of our ability.

Kind regards .
Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here while on business in Ballina - very relaxing place. The wet weather prevented a tour of the interesting looking grounds but the building itself, was worth an exploration. The food was excellent - good local ingredients in generous servings well presented. There are two dining rooms - the main one is a tad uncomfortable with wooden bench seats, but the "Italian" room is excellent and to be recommended if you are given a choice. The only downside we found was in the bathroom - a dribble of a shower and a lack of toiletries. A multipurpose liquid was dispensed from a plastic container in the shower - as one would expect in a Premier Inn but not in a 4 star establishment. The charming owner was present and made it his business to engage with all the guests and conducted a comprehensive tour of his late father's fascinating collection. Recommended but bring your own soap and shampoo!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arfur51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Arfur51, We thank you for your recommendations and we welcome all feedback with open arms here at the castle,as we believe it can help us improve.. Thank you for your lovely comments in regards to our food and service, this we are delighted to hear as we lately won awards for best restaurant in Connaught and Mayo and best restaurant manager, and so all our restaurant and kitchen staff are delighted to read these comments. We do apologise about the bathroom facilities, it is a slow work in progress of improving them all over the castle . We hope when you return in the future, that we will have the ability to accommodate you with a room which has an improved bathroom.
Kind regards Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a 40th dinner party there and the staff and management couldn't do enough. Had our own personal waiter who was able to fill any lulls with history and stories about the hotel. Everyone was catered for all ages from 8 months to 80. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car1341a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Reception at Belleek Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Car1341a,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 40th dinner party and you felt the warmth and hospitality of our staff.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Until then,
Kindest Regards
Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
0.5 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,328 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,048 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.2 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
603 reviews
6.1 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belleek Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belleek Castle

Address: Belleek Woods, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: £119 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belleek Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belleek Castle....... an iconic Irish Country House, restaurant (AA 2 Rosettes), hotel and spectacular wedding venue…Belleek is unpretentious, cosy and friendly, rich in decor and antiquities, with open log fires to warm your steps back through this cultural adventure.Enjoy a contemporary dinner, with generous portions, in our unique light panelled dining room. We have developed a new food philosophy. Our spirit is to search for more “Depth of Flavour”, exercising both classic and imaginative cooking techniques. We use seasonal ingredients and produce, selected from the land, sea and air of Mayo, and combine these with the traditions of the Castle.However, our signature dish is a Castle classic, the "Drunken Bullock", a filet steak flambéed at the table and served flaming from a sword, adding theatre to succulent steak. Hand made oak tables, eclectic romantic music, lit by candlelight, with charming attention and delicious food.“One of the most atmospheric and delightful dining experiences in Ireland”, Bill Gooch, Virginia Beach.Guests may enjoy a private viewing of the Castle museum by appointment. Belleek Castle hosts The Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collection of mediaeval armour and Jurassic fossils in Ireland. How many times have I heard? “Oh my God!” or “Oh Gosh!”Belleek Castle... Unique, intimate and magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belleek Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleek Castle Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing