We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyshannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeside Caravan & Camping
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

the company need to review the ignoramus oaf sited in the receptionfor a start. upon arrival they're was warm welcome. I was charged €93 cashonly. the pitch for my motorhome was what resembled a council car park with electrical points. wheelie bins and a toilet block that was in a disgusting state of despair. this site was over priced and to charge an additional 2€ for the use of a 6 min shower they did take the p##s. steer clear is my advice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank 703paddy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mungo s, Manager at Lakeside Caravan & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Initially I was not going to respond to this review but decided to do so. I don't care what you think of myself personally. When dealing with the general public you become fairly thick skinned, but to describe the Site as a 'council car park with electric and toilets' is a step too far. However, I hope you enjoyed your stay at Lakeside and the surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Lakeside Caravan & Camping
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

I recently stayed at lakeside camping with 2 friends. Our original choice of camping site was in sligo but as it was the weekend with very good weather all sites were full so after a phone call to lakeside to check availability we ended up spending 2 night on this site. We were checked in by the very surly man already mentioned in other reviews, charged way too much for our tent 'because it was larger than a four man' , and pitched on a very overgrown, bumpy rugby pitch. We had a former glass topped table broken with the glass all over the grass beside our tent. Toilets were in a terrible state like they hadnt been attended to all day, or for a long time for that matter, and really they were like something from old football pitches years ago . The showers were much the same, didn't use them. Campers kitchen was good with hot water. We were not told about the shower and toilet block around the back as other reviewers mentioned.
I am a only a recent convert to camping and have to say I really enjoy it, but I dont think we should have to put up with such shoddy conditions when all we require are some clean toilets and showers and accessible points for water etc. Is it too much to ask, I think not... we paid too much for this site and really expected more..
The site has a lovely location beside the lake and could be really nice..
We will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaz1Athlone_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Was going to stay in Bundoran but places were book out. So we came to lakeside camping and caravan park. Manager and staff very friendly and helpful when we arrive it was clean and tidy. It's a pity people don't know how to clean up after them selfs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mungo s, Manager at Lakeside Caravan & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for staying at Lakeside and for your review, we hope to find you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Mr Sloan, it would seem a customer services course would be in order as your people skills are inconsistant when dealing with your guest's,this is why you have more negitive reviews than positive comments on this issue,You can present as being rather aggressive and unfriendly at times,
You need to listen to your customers when they tell you, your camp site,is too expensive, especially for family camping, 26 euros for two adults and two children plus 3 euros per child extra plus 5 euros for tents which sleep more than 4 people per night you then ask for, 2 euros for a ten minute shower,"come on" be reasonable, this cost needs reviewing. Could also let your guests know that there are showers and toilets behind the main office building.maybe a map with all the facilities marked and given to people when they book in would be helpful.
On my visit i thought Your camp site should have been better prepared and organised for the great sunny and hot holiday weekend, simple things like having the grass cut would have made the camping site look more presentable and cared for,The play area equipment painted, the games and tv room tidied and the front toilets checked more than twice a day, maybe even every hour or two, when the site is busy. support your guests, you had rowdy guests who partied into the very early hours of the morning, it seems with impunity, this should not be.
On the plus side the guy who rents out the pedelos and canoes, 5 euros for a half hour, is very customer friendly and value for money.I'm sorry to say Mr Sloan Lakeside, at the moment, is not value for money but has the potential to be a very good camp site, come on you could do so much better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently stated at this campsite and feel compelled to report on what we found. We had a tent and kids and were charged E26 by a very surly man who clearly couldn't be bothered to make us feel welcome. We were directed by a very bad mannered member of staff to a space on a rugby pitch where the grass was a foot high. Neighbouring tents were very close and more were squeezed in.
The toilets were filthy on each occassion we used them and looked old and well past their best. We took one look at the showers, and noting the smell and the filth, decided to simply go home and shower.
Water sports were not available and when we tried to make enquiries the manager was vague and evasive.
If you are travelling with a caravan or camper van you may find this campsite much better than those of us who camp in tents. The caravan/campervan area had hard pitches and the surrounding grass was neatly trimmed and clearly looked after. The camp site was simply a rugby pitch and looked like an attempt to get more money whilst providing nothing in return.
The bins were overflowing and very oddly there was a smelly old sofa next to the bin! Was this a seating area for us second class campers or was it awaiting collection by the bin men?
The list of rules was endless and in theory if there was someone to enforce them with care and courtesy it would have been ok however there was a general air of 'get them in, take their money money and get them out' and to he'll with providing a service.
The playpark was neglected to the point of being dangerous, with rubbish strewn everywhere, broken apparatus and knee deep weeds in areas. This area must surely contravene safety laws.
This campsite may have been good ten years ago, it may even be good for caravaners which have their own wash facilities but now it is clearly neglected and in need of a facelift.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Originally planned to stay here for one night, however liked it so much we stayed for three

Beautiful views over the Lake, especially when sun was shining. Town of Ballyshannon was lovely and very friendly. NB it is on a steep hill

Very clean site, with clean facilities. Free hot showers and free hot dish washing facilities. Also supply a leading brand of washing powder. Clothes drier was not on a time limit and therefore no need to top up with Euros. There is a TV room with comfy chairs and books. Free wifi is also an added bonus

Manager, Mungo was helpful and friendly and nothing seemed a problem

Room Tip: A lakeside pitch is superb but no tents/awnings allowed
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mungo s, Manager at Lakeside Caravan & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thanks for visiting Lakeside - we loved having you - hope to see you back again sometime! Thanks for taking the time to write a review as its important to us that we receive feedback so that we can improve on our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Really looking forward to going to Lakeside this May bank holiday! We have been going here for years from starting out with our tent and now our caravan. My family all love here, very safe place for the children to play, lovely scenery and walks. The site is nice right next to the lake, the manager is very friendly. We found the toilets and showers basic but very clean, and there is seperate toilets and showers for male and female around the other side of the building. Overall cannot wait to go back...

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank alisonm647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mungo s, Manager at Lakeside Caravan & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for your comments, Alison. We look forward to seeing you and your family at the end of the month. Just wanted to let you know about our Specials:

Low season, mid week special - Stay two nights mid week and get the third free, (does not apply to Bank Holidays)
Low Season Special - FREE Hot Showers


Seasonal Sites Only FIVE seasonal sites left

Kind Regards
Mungo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyshannon
0.8 mi away
Dorrian's Imperial
Dorrian's Imperial
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
116 reviews
4.0 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mai Kelly bed & breakfast
Mai Kelly bed & breakfast
#2 of 12 in Ballyshannon
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park
0.8 mi away
Assaroe Falls Apartments
Assaroe Falls Apartments
#4 of 6 in Ballyshannon
12 reviews
1.9 mi away
Creevy Holiday Cottages
Creevy Holiday Cottages
#2 of 6 in Ballyshannon
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Caravan & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Caravan & Camping

Address: Belleek Road, Ballyshannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyshannon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ballyshannon
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Centre, located on the shores of Lake Assaroe, Ballyshannon, consists of the Failte Ireland approved 4 star rated caravan and campsite, watersports activities with supervision by qualified staff (advanced booking required), orienteering, archery, team building courses - perfect for schools days out and groups, and a 3rd Generation Astro Pitch suitable for all team sports. Visitors can also obtain permits to fish on the lake and bring their own boat should they wish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeside Caravan & Camping Hotel Ballyshannon
Lakeside Caravan And Camping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing