We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Dorrian's Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dorrian's Imperial
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here a few week's ago during Ballyshannon Drama Festival. Had a great time! The rooms were spacious and very clean.The staff were friendly even when some of us had a few too many!! We didn't surface for breakfast but have heard it was delicious. Great value for money! Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cafwin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had a fabulous time at Dorrian's. Rooms very spacious clean and provides all mod con's. Staff go out of their way to provide an excellent service.staff and owners very friendly and helpful always someone on the desk. The hotel is situated in the centre of the town with its own car park.
The food served in the hotel was top class breakfast, lunch and dinner. Would definitely stay here again

Rosemary Dunbar

Room Tip: Front room beautiful view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

February overnight stay in Ballyshannon's best hotel, large bedrooms, old tv, this time of year most hotels are only open Friday & Saturday nights, Dorrian's is open throughout the week, ( even though they told us they were closed, reception thought we meant for food! ) Restaurant closed unless they have an event on (funeral) then evening meals are available. Rooms warm-hot, ( unlike Great Northern where they were freezing) and crisp and clean unlike Holyrood where they smelt of chips.
A welcome stay in a typical old fashioned Irish hotel, all the best for it. Breakfast great and staff an irish family affair, recommended by most locals and no surprises as they know best.

Room Tip: Take your pick this time of year, big double rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Showerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on chance during our recent tour of Ireland. The staff and owner of the hotel were very helpful. We were given a large room and whilst it overlooked the road in front of the hotel we didn't find any road noise disturbing. Although the hotel's in the centre of Ballyshannon it does have its own carpark, a great bonus.
Our evening meal was one of the best we experienced whilst on holiday, good wholesome tasty food, rather than the more modern trends, such as goats chees wraps, on offer elsewhere. Breakfast was freshely prepared and certainly set us up for the day.
The decor appeared retro early 1900s which we liked but probably wouldn't appeal to those looking for modern boutique hotels.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here in October 2013 , as part of a group of motorcyclists touring Donegal and Near Northern Ireland .it is good to see friendly faces at the reception , and the Rooms were old world luxury. nothing was too much trouble for the Friendly staff . bar prices in expensive Ireland were good . and food top class

Room Tip: Parking out the back for Cars and Motorcycle , looked over by CCTV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

the a o h trip to knock called into this hotel on way to and from knock we are most pleased every thing just great it would be hard to say there was anything wrong with this hotel and on our trip to knock 2014 we will use your hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holidayman1226794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Have you ever walked into a hotel and found a sense of comfort from the very minute you arrive?
We went on a tour with Bibby's of Ingleton (there in lies another tale of excellence) to Ballyshannon and surrounding areas (Donegal Delights). Dorrian's Imperial hotel was our base.
We ate in the hotel for 5 nights and every night you got 3 choices and every one was brilliant. Don't even get me started on breakfast.......save to say I was 12st on arrival and 25st on departure. The staff were helpful, considerate and knew how to feed a man, or a lady, come to that.
Would I stay there again?......is the Pope Catholic? This is not a plastic fantastic, this is a proper hotel with kindness oozing out of every nook and cranny. Clean, tidy and homely. You could not ask for more.
I have stayed in lots of hotels round Europe, Dorrian's can not be beaten from where I stand. The Irish are renowned for their friendly attitude. They have a beautiful country. The kind of hospitality you get from Dorrian's Imperial Hotel makes it very hard to leave at the end of your stay. Add this hotel to the Bibby's tour and you have relaxation, entertainment and comfort.
May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind always be at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields......as the Irish say.
If you want to meet pleasant people who care about your comfort go with Bibby's of Ingleton.

Room Tip: All on our tour enjoyed their rooms, so any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyshannon
3.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
616 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,220 reviews
11 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorrian's Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorrian's Imperial

Address: Main Street, Ballyshannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyshannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Price Range: £104 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorrian's Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dorrian's Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorrian`s Imperial Hotel Ballyshannon
Dorrians Imperial Ballyshannon
Dorrians Imperial Hotel Ballyshannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing