We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorrian's Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dorrian's Imperial
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a great time in Dorrian,s Hotel. Stayed one night on April 13th. Fabulous warm welcome from the Owners to the huge glowing real fire in the foyer. The bedroom was huge, clean and the shower was fab. Really enjoyed our meal in the Restaurant and the breakfast in the morning. Thanks again. We travelled a long way from Cork and it was worth every minute. Hope to be back soon. Regards, Mary & Geraldine

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maryryanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    39
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
38
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here a few week's ago during Ballyshannon Drama Festival. Had a great time! The rooms were spacious and very clean.The staff were friendly even when some of us had a few too many!! We didn't surface for breakfast but have heard it was delicious. Great value for money! Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cafwin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had a fabulous time at Dorrian's. Rooms very spacious clean and provides all mod con's. Staff go out of their way to provide an excellent service.staff and owners very friendly and helpful always someone on the desk. The hotel is situated in the centre of the town with its own car park.
The food served in the hotel was top class breakfast, lunch and dinner. Would definitely stay here again

Rosemary Dunbar

Room Tip: Front room beautiful view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

February overnight stay in Ballyshannon's best hotel, large bedrooms, old tv, this time of year most hotels are only open Friday & Saturday nights, Dorrian's is open throughout the week, ( even though they told us they were closed, reception thought we meant for food! ) Restaurant closed unless they have an event on (funeral) then evening meals are available. Rooms warm-hot, ( unlike Great Northern where they were freezing) and crisp and clean unlike Holyrood where they smelt of chips.
A welcome stay in a typical old fashioned Irish hotel, all the best for it. Breakfast great and staff an irish family affair, recommended by most locals and no surprises as they know best.

Room Tip: Take your pick this time of year, big double rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Showerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on chance during our recent tour of Ireland. The staff and owner of the hotel were very helpful. We were given a large room and whilst it overlooked the road in front of the hotel we didn't find any road noise disturbing. Although the hotel's in the centre of Ballyshannon it does have its own carpark, a great bonus.
Our evening meal was one of the best we experienced whilst on holiday, good wholesome tasty food, rather than the more modern trends, such as goats chees wraps, on offer elsewhere. Breakfast was freshely prepared and certainly set us up for the day.
The decor appeared retro early 1900s which we liked but probably wouldn't appeal to those looking for modern boutique hotels.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here in October 2013 , as part of a group of motorcyclists touring Donegal and Near Northern Ireland .it is good to see friendly faces at the reception , and the Rooms were old world luxury. nothing was too much trouble for the Friendly staff . bar prices in expensive Ireland were good . and food top class

Room Tip: Parking out the back for Cars and Motorcycle , looked over by CCTV
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

the a o h trip to knock called into this hotel on way to and from knock we are most pleased every thing just great it would be hard to say there was anything wrong with this hotel and on our trip to knock 2014 we will use your hotel again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holidayman1226794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyshannon
3.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
13.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
14.5 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorrian's Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorrian's Imperial

Property: Dorrian's Imperial
Address: Main Street, Ballyshannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyshannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorrian's Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dorrian's Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorrian`s Imperial Hotel Ballyshannon
Dorrians Imperial Ballyshannon
Dorrians Imperial Hotel Ballyshannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing