We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem”
Review of Creevy Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creevy Pier Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Certificate of Excellence
Co Armagh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a little gem”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

my wife and i spent a very enjoyable one night break in the Creevy Pier.We had the sunday unch menu- good wholesome food at a good price.The bar and restaurant were quite busy, lots of bar food served and live traditional music which helped to create a good atmosphere.The rooms were really modern and clean with complimentary bottled water - bed was very comfortable,we had a good nights sleep. All the staff we came in contact with were very friendly and good at their job. We were pleasantly suprised when the manager Clare showed us to our room and explained everything to us = great touch. Other hotels take note. Overall a great stay and we will surely return,[soon] oh I almost forget to mention - the location - overlooking the pier/cove and nice walks nearby

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    65
    23
    15
    12
See reviews for
61
120
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bham
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Was over on holiday and attended a friend's meal here for 25+ people. The food and service was excellent. Shared a seafood platter for starter, then had sea bass and finished by sharing a cheesecake. All 3 were excellent - and the other guests were equally complementary! We then decided to return for Sunday lunch. Again, food was excellent and good value and the views are spectacular. I have been coming here for many years, but this year the food is amazing! A little gem!

I would suggest that Creevy Pier should also appear on Trip Advisor as a restaurant too,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Arrived on a lovely summers evening, setting is great with stunning views. Looked forward to a meal in the restaurant after it being highly recommended by friends. Ordered starters and main course, starters of breaded brie and stuffed mushrooms were fine except for the over use of honey mustard dressing on the accompanying salad garnish. Main courses were peking duck and rib eye steak, peking duck was fine and rib eye steak had a peculiar taste and smell. As the steak was inedible it was left on the plate, I thought the steak was either marinated or had gone off, when queried with the waitress she checked with the chef and came back to say that the steak had not been marinated and that the chef had sent her apologies with no other explanation. We then asked for the bill and after explaining again about the foul smelling steak there was no allowance made, not that this was what we were looking for but some form of acknowledgement that they had served a rib eye steak that was clearly off. Both the food and the customer service left a lot to be desired, would think long and hard before going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deirdredv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyshannon, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family recently held a function at this hotel. The support given by Claire was excellent in arranging the function/menu. The food was excellent and the service great. A lovely place to hold a function

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, County Down
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just returned from an amazing weekend at Creevy Pier Hotel. Perfect doesn't even begin to describe the weekend we had here. It was a special weekend for my friend and I and our husbands as they had just got married a few months ago and it was my 15th wedding anniversary so we were looking for something quiet but lovely. We were not disappointed. Claire (Manager) is amazing and really makes you feel like you are arriving for a weekend at your best friend's house! We arrived a little later than expected but this wasn't a problem. We were promptly shown to our rooms, 4 and 9 which were both really lovely and quaint. We had dinner on the Saturday night and after a minor hiccup with our reservation due to a 30th birthday party having more guests than booked we sat down to a fantastic meal in the Captains Bars with a view of the sea! Claire again was fabulous and coped with no bother at all! Crab Claws are top notch!! The hotel is really secluded and with fabulous walks and the views are spectacular we were able to watch the sun setting every evening! I cannot fault this place and it is definitely worth more than 2 AA stars!!

Room Tip: Room 9 is lovely views of the sea and the outdoor area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BT07-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

spent last Friday night here with a fellow angler, it was a last minute booking as we were supposed to camp but weather beat us lol. On arrival the manager (Claire) was very understanding and accommodating. Our room was first class with sea view, staff and atmosphere was very relaxed and comfortable. Food and service was amazing with the views it lends itself to a 5 star hotel. Thank you to the manager and staff for making our stay memorable and see you in a few weeks with my wife.

Room Tip: choose room 6 or 7 but all rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Went to Creevy Pier with my husband and 2 children. We would highly recommend it. Lovely rooms, food and bar. Staff excellent. There are lovely walks along the sea cliff which we would love to do again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary3063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyshannon
2.5 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.2 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,018 reviews
13.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,099 reviews
3.5 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
354 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creevy Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creevy Pier Hotel

Property: Creevy Pier Hotel
Address: Kildoney Glebe | Creevy, Ballyshannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyshannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ballyshannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable family hotel at the edge of Creevy Pier, with a breathtaking view over Donegal Bay. All rooms en-suite finished to the highest standard. Swimming, angling, golf and windsurfing at our doorstep. It’s the ideal base to tour Donegal and the Fermanagh lakelands. Cuisine is modern with a strong emphasis on fresh Irish produce, with a particular focus on fresh fish right from our door step, complimented by a fine wine cellar. Vegetarian options also available. Enjoy a relaxing drink in the Captains Bar with its natural stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Creevy Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creevy Pier Ballyshannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing