We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Step Back in Time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavangarden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyshannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cavangarden House
Ranked #8 of 11 Ballyshannon B&B and Inns
Buellton, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

When we spotted the sign for Cavangarden house it appeared to be right off of a major highway, making me a bit concerned about noise. Not to worry, the driveway was nearly 1 km long, leading to an attractive Georgian country home set back behind some woods. House dates back to the 1750's and is nicely furnished with period furnishings. Beautiful solarium across the back of the house where we had breakfast, interesting fellow travelers, good Irish breakfast. One couple told us about the Slieve League in County Donegal, it features sea cliffs that rival the cliffs of Mohr. We changed our plans for the day and were not disappointed, recommend this to our fellow travelers who would like to venture off the beaten path. The only negative with Cavangarden is that the host is getting up in years and maintenance is getting a bit behind. Also, there is not much to do in Ballyshannon, we went looking for dinner, found a couple of rough looking bars, ended up in a nice Chinese restaurant listening to Mexican music in Ireland! Property has a nice stone church that has been converted into a guest house, looked through the windows - appeared very nice, understand it is available for weekly rentals

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Cavangarden House is an elegant manor, on a 380 acre working farm. It was exactly the place I dreamed of visiting. Agnes offered us a selection of rooms, which were incredibly beautiful. We could imagine life when the manor was built, as our room was huge, with a separate sitting area to relax and gaze out onto the fields.

Agnes prepared the best breakfast of our stay. The entire manor was true to the times, with elegant antiques throughout.

We did have some interesting ghostly activity, which simply added to the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bell96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

This is not the most up to date place that we stayed at nor did it have the modern apps that we are used to but ---wow ---how beautiful ,the location is amazing -the place is drenched with character-if you want to take a breath -this is the place -Agnes Mc Caffrey is a lovely lady - the breakfast was great and she let us come down late as long as we let her know -we were booked for two nights but stayed our last night in Ireland there because we really felt a bit of magic about the place -we loved Ireland -we will be back and we diffinitely will be stopping at cavangarden -P.S. don't stay in Donegal the night before flying from Dublin-it is too far from from the airport even though we had a late flight , it was tight

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeymc5710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We have been traveling to Ireland every year for the last 15 and stay at Cavangarden every year. We have always been pleased with our accomodations. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. The B&B is located outside of Ballyshannon down a winding road thru woods. It is a very peaceful & beautiful location. The breakfast is ordered the prior evening and ready at the requested time. You will have a number of breakfast choices. The breakfasts are always delicious. Sitting in her breakfast room, enjoying your tea, looking out at the surrounding fields is very calming. We are planning our trip for next year and will stay with Agnes again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in this lovely old mansion. Agnes was a delightful hostess and directed us to a lovely sitting area on the main floor for a relaxing evening. Our bedroom was a two bedroom ensuite which was much more than we had paid for. Breakfast was lovely and very filling in a resort type dining room. Would love to return again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat5323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Cavangarden House B&B
(near) Ballyshannon
Cavangarden House is an old mansion at the end of a tree lined winding drive which must be at least half a kilometre from the main road giving it a very quiet setting. Our room was, expectedly, old but clean although we did look at each other when we simultaneously saw 2 towels thrown over the back of a chair. There was also no bathmat, no hairdryer, no lift and no wifi.
Breakfast was quite satisfactory. Unfortunately, the country setting meant that we had to travel at least 10 minutes back into Ballyshannon (the birthplace of guitarist Rory Gallagher) for something to eat for tea. The worst part of our stay was having to get out of bed at 2.20am to ask the occupier of the room next door (who may have fallen asleep?), to turn his TV down.
We may have been a little unlucky but it was not in a location that suited our travel plans.

Room Tip: Try and avoid someone in the next room-walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieOseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We travel to Ireland yearly and without fail always stay at Cavangarden. The hostess is pleasant and helpful. The nicely decorated rooms are spacious. There are a delicious choices for breakfast. Agnes slips a menu under your door nightly so you can select the time and breakfast you want. We have always had a wonderful stay at Cavangarden and cannot recommend it highly enough. It is very beautiful and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyshannon
3.4 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.2 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dorrian's Imperial
Dorrian's Imperial
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
13.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Erne Manor B&B
Erne Manor B&B
#1 of 11 in Ballyshannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavangarden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavangarden House

Property: Cavangarden House
Address: Donegal Road, Ballyshannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyshannon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyshannon
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cavangarden Hotel Ballyshannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing