We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent old world hotel in Bundoran Donegal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent old world hotel in Bundoran Donegal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was recently part of a bus tour that stayed at this hotel. Location is fantastic - right on a hill on Donegal Bay. The public rooms are very well appointed, drinks were reasonable and there was live music the night we stayed. My only complaint is that the bar does not make cocktails - I asked for a cosmo and was told they didn't even have a cocktail shaker on premises.

My room (though small) was clean and had everything I needed. Left my window open overnight to hear the waves and feel the cool breezes.

Dining room is charming. Food quality was standard, nothing out of the ordinary. The hotel is right on a golf course. The walk to town probably takes 15-20 min and is directly facing the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    177
    160
    137
    141
See reviews for
307
358
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have just returned from Bundoran staying at the above Hotel, rooms were good, Hotel good, staff and quality of food excellent Only one comment drinks in bar were a bit pricey, only bought 1 drink while we were there


Satisfied customers. P & E

Room Tip: Had rooms overlooking bay was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We got our stay at The Great Northern Hotel from Grabone and we are so glad we did not pay the normal rate as we would have felt totally cheated. Great location, beautiful views, beach on your doorstep but otherwise a bit of a let down. Rooms are hot, old, dated and smell of cigarette smoke. Staff unfriendly, porter watched me struggle with a pram and bags rather than holding the door open . Barmen ignored an american tourist trying to make polite conversation with them. Broken glass all over the decking on the outside bar. Not a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My Dad and me stayed at this hotel on a Cycling weekend in Donegal a few years ago. My Mum got us a great deal on Groupon, so we made the most of it. And it was a great weekend! Beautiful location, up from the beach overlooking the Atlantic coast. The food in the hotel was fantastic, and the craic in the bar on the Friday night was great. My Dad particular enjoyed the country music playing in the next room and even had a dance (must have been good if he was dancing, because he's not the dancing type!). On Saturday afternoon after our cycle around Donegal, Sligo and Fermanagh, we enjoyed a relaxing pint in the lovely lounge area adjacent to the bar. We even got to play the piano that was there for the guests, before another lovely dinner in the dining room and onto the bar for another night's crack. The rooms were really nice too, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcuthbert86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic weekend at this long established family run hotel in the seaside town of Bundoran. The hotel is very traditional and if you are looking for a modern boutique spa style experience this will not be for you, but if you are wanting a truly Irish family friendly experience the it will suit perfectly! The location is spectacular. The hotel staff were just so helpful and friendly and did everything to make our girls get together so much fun. Sarah at reception was amazing - when we requested bigger bedrooms we were moved within the hour to two family rooms which provided us with a terrific base to take in the beautiful sites of south west Donegal on what was a gloriously sunny weekend - no where in the world is better when the weather is good! The beaches and the Rougey cliff walks are breathtaking! Gavin Ronan and Amber our breakfast and dinner waiters/ waitress with their friendly welcome and professionalism could not have been more helpful in assisting us with our breakfast choices and the endless supply of tea and coffee. The porridge with honey is fab! Housekeeping were so efficient - bedrooms made over while we eating breakfast! Thanks too to Danny and John the night porters for setting aside a morning newspaper for me on my return from the my dawn Rougey cliff walk - a perfect girls get together weekend made all the better with great staff
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Great Northern Hotel Bundoran, we enjoyed our stay. The hotel was busy, there were a lot of guests staying. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a great atmosphere at the hotel and the town of bundoran. The hotel is beside the beach so we enjoyed going for beautiful walks enjoying great views. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant and a good breakfast the next morning with beautiful fresh fruit . A lovely relaxing few days away!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 441tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

i stayed in this 4 star hotel for 3 nights with my firends in iwa this week all the staff are fansastic they went out of their way for us the are 100 per cent perfect the meals out of this world we will all be back again the bathrooms are wheelchairaccesable spotlless so are the bedrooms if you want a break in bundoran stay in the great northern hotel you wont regreat it 100 per cent simon cusack dundalk co louth

Room Tip: ground floor with view of golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simcusack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
16.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Property: Great Northern Hotel
Address: Sea Road, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Northern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Bundoran Co Donegal is located on an 18 hole championship golf course and boasts a beautiful Leisure & Conference Centre. After your meal you can enjoy a relaxing drink in our lounge bars or dance the night away in our Atlantic Ballroom. Enjoy the charms of our Tir-Chonail Dining Room open daily with a full dinner menu on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Bundoran
Great Northern Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing