We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaby, unpleasant and extremely unfriendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shaby, unpleasant and extremely unfriendly”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, the first thing we were told, was:

"I see you booked a room with ocean view, sadly, you booked to late (we did that 2 months in advance!), these groups have booked over a year ago, so they got those rooms"

These only leaves two questions:

1.) Why do they NOT inform us during those 2 months, that they can NOT fulfill a valid booking?

2.) If they already knew that even a year ago, why do they offer ocean view rooms during the online booking process?

This only leaves ONE single conclusion:

They do NOT care about the customer, they ONLY care about the money coming in...

Never again! Folks, if you can, avoid this place!

We had the wallpaper coming off the walls in our room (and, yes, we still had a better room, 1st floor, golf course view!), dirty towels, shabby bedclothes, an ironing station in the room, that once had burnt through...

This is not four stars, even for Irish standard this is less than 2 stars...

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank pfuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review.
I am deeply sorry that you did not receive a sea view room. We take full responsibility that this was a break down of communication within our team. Sorry we got this one so wrong. I am going to make this right. Please contact me via email: briani@greatnorthernhotel.com

Kindest Regards
Brian McEniff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    181
    163
    138
    143
See reviews for
310
362
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We felt that a four star hotel should be run more for the guests than the Staff the food was terrible very badly cooked and presented and the feeling of being given the 'bums rush' at breakfast and dinner was more than uncomfortable , the bistro was closed, the set meal in the restaurant was the only offering ,against a table in the bar
Four star think again
Facilities very good and the Golf Course excellent condition
Super deal will not stay again unless the Staff and Chef get their act in gear great pity with such a good location
Management need to sharpen their act

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bootrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Great Northern Hotel.

I have made each department manager aware of the issues you have raised. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast and dinner, your comments have be sent to the head chief. It is not our policy to send out bad food.

The management and staff at the Great Northern hotel are always trying to better the customers experience. I would really appreciate if you could send me an email in relation to your first comment.. "We felt that a four star hotel should be run more for the guests than the Staff”.

briani@greatnorthernhotel.com

We would love to welcome you back to the Great Northern Hotel in the near future

Kindest Regards
Brain McEniff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

No way is this a 4 star hotel! We checked our room on arrival and found our bed covers stained and smelling of stale urine, a celing light cover was missing, room smelled musty. Asked for change but room offered was smaller and not much better but smelled of stale cig smoke so rejected that one and suggested they change bed covers on original one and it would do as we were tired and hungry.
In cold light of day you could see how dusty and tired room was but as were out all nx day we decided we would stay on as we booked it.
Leisure center is not up to much either, dirty scum on all windows and glass. Jacuzzi was so hot this morn i couldn't get in, staff member put on cold hose but wasn't able to tell me what temp it should be or if he recorded the temp on opening centre-big health and safety issue i'd think! Anyway,the cold hose started to emit a brown colour which made all the water brown so couldn't use.
On reading other reviews i see other people have had these problems so management don't listen or else why over the years have things not improved. If you pay cleaners surely they should clean!
I cannot see how they can call it a 4* hotel and frankly I, as a Donegal person, I'm embarrassed that visitors to our county would think that this hotel is representative of quality.
The guests at the next table at breakfast, English and American, were laughing about their experience at the hotel and comparing it to 'faulty towers'as so many things were broken on their 1 night stay.It was so embarrassing that they thought this poor,neglected hotel was just a Donegal thing.
So my advice is avoid it unless you are one of those mysterious people on this site who didn't see the dust,smell the aroma of damp or could actually see out a clean window!
When my complaints were passed on to reception them didn't seem too shocked which speaks volumes

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OliviaDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

Albany, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was recently part of a bus tour that stayed at this hotel. Location is fantastic - right on a hill on Donegal Bay. The public rooms are very well appointed, drinks were reasonable and there was live music the night we stayed. My only complaint is that the bar does not make cocktails - I asked for a cosmo and was told they didn't even have a cocktail shaker on premises.

My room (though small) was clean and had everything I needed. Left my window open overnight to hear the waves and feel the cool breezes.

Dining room is charming. Food quality was standard, nothing out of the ordinary. The hotel is right on a golf course. The walk to town probably takes 15-20 min and is directly facing the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have just returned from Bundoran staying at the above Hotel, rooms were good, Hotel good, staff and quality of food excellent Only one comment drinks in bar were a bit pricey, only bought 1 drink while we were there


Satisfied customers. P & E

Room Tip: Had rooms overlooking bay was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We got our stay at The Great Northern Hotel from Grabone and we are so glad we did not pay the normal rate as we would have felt totally cheated. Great location, beautiful views, beach on your doorstep but otherwise a bit of a let down. Rooms are hot, old, dated and smell of cigarette smoke. Staff unfriendly, porter watched me struggle with a pram and bags rather than holding the door open . Barmen ignored an american tourist trying to make polite conversation with them. Broken glass all over the decking on the outside bar. Not a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My Dad and me stayed at this hotel on a Cycling weekend in Donegal a few years ago. My Mum got us a great deal on Groupon, so we made the most of it. And it was a great weekend! Beautiful location, up from the beach overlooking the Atlantic coast. The food in the hotel was fantastic, and the craic in the bar on the Friday night was great. My Dad particular enjoyed the country music playing in the next room and even had a dance (must have been good if he was dancing, because he's not the dancing type!). On Saturday afternoon after our cycle around Donegal, Sligo and Fermanagh, we enjoyed a relaxing pint in the lovely lounge area adjacent to the bar. We even got to play the piano that was there for the guests, before another lovely dinner in the dining room and onto the bar for another night's crack. The rooms were really nice too, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcuthbert86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
16.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Property: Great Northern Hotel
Address: Sea Road, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Northern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Bundoran Co Donegal is located on an 18 hole championship golf course and boasts a beautiful Leisure & Conference Centre. After your meal you can enjoy a relaxing drink in our lounge bars or dance the night away in our Atlantic Ballroom. Enjoy the charms of our Tir-Chonail Dining Room open daily with a full dinner menu on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Bundoran
Great Northern Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing