We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel looks great from the outside nice staff and very friendly as well. We were with a tour group so we had set menu for dinner and buffet style for breakfast. Both meals were very good. But the hotel is very old and outdated no card key for the doors and the walls are thinner than paper you can hear people in the next room and in the hallway. So prepare yourself for a really bad sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thebear1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us & for the positive feed back on our breakfast and dinner, I have passed your comments on to the head chef.

I am disappointed to read that you feel that the hotel is outdated. You have to understand that the hotel is 116 years old and we try and keep this character within the hotel. We do understand that not everyone will be a fan of this.

We would love to welcome you back to the Great Northern Hotel in the future.

Regards
Brian McEniff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel July 14, Looks really impressive from the outside,beautiful golf course and sea walks around the hotel.But..Rooms are small and shabby,breakfast was poor standard,Food was from Aldi/lidi supermarket.so best skip breakfast,,bar food was,nt much better,so skip that too,dinner was ok,soup was nice..New chef is totally needed,and if you need Wifi,forget it no signal.All in all We would,nt dream of staying at The Great Northern Hotel again..

Room Tip: read reviews and ask someone who has stayed in the hotel your thinking of going to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patriciahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband had our wedding reception at the great northern. It was absolutely amazing from start to finish. Our wedding co-ordinator, Karen, was fantastic. She could not have done anything more for us. She was so helpful with everything, down to every detail.The food was terrific too. I would highly recommend the great northern for your wedding!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Sadly not what is expected of a 4* hotel! Overpriced at over €100 for 1 adult and 5year old child for one night!
Main reason for choosing this hotel was the kids club :( what a let down ! No supervision at all 5 year old walked back to room twice without anyone noticing he was gone! Only positive was guy in kids club was excellent with kids he was doing it all alone no help from co worker!

Room ! As soon as the door opened I found a what I thought was a damp smell! Opened the windows but during the night the smell was pretty bad again, turns out it was coming from bathroom possibly the sewers wouldn't have stayed for another night in the same room!

Positives about the room, it was clean and beds comfortable!

Breakfast was nice a bit on the small side for a 'full irish' , there was lots of young friendly staff!! Pancake machine was a big hit!!!

Pool was good although not sure why the staff watch from behind glass rather than poolside?

Check out - girl at reception took key, checked I had paid and said that's fine - didn't ask if I enjoyed my stay, not friendly at all. Unlikely to be back !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cclmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just returned from a really super weekend at this hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the level of service was superb, and the food was fantastic. Location is excellent also, just a very short walk to the centre of Bundoran (even my 3 year old could manage it). As a family with young children, the package deal which we booked and which included both breakfast and dinner was great value, and the kid's club was an absolute godsend, as you can't always be guaranteed good weather! Knowing that the kids were being well looked after and entertained enabled mum & dad to get a bit of a break too!! Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jucur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Great Northern Hotel. We are truly blessed with the location of the hotel - it really is second to none.

We are glad you made use of the go!kids! kids club. Getting away on a break is for everyone and we always want to give parents the break they deserve when they are staying with us.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Brian McEniff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Bit of a mishap with money been taken out of my account before I arrived but other than that can not fault the hotel. All staff extremely friendly in the hotel and very helpful. Views from hotel excellent. Had the clubs in the boot of the car so decided to play and the course was excellent with fantastic views and with a discount as a hotel guest which was great, The rooms were old fashioned but were very clean and pleasant. Breakfast was excellent also (even with a hangover) and staff couldnt be more helpful at breakfast. All in all a fantastic stay at great value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Cathal

Thank you for your positive review of the Great Northern Hotel. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your wonderful comments about our stay to the management, once again thank you.

We look forward to your next stay with us at the Great Northern Hotel

Regards
Brian McEniff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great stay at this Hotel for a family gathering. Our family ranged from 4 years old to 80 years old. Very accommodating staff. Made feel very welcome & the staff were very friendly. Food was very good. The boys loved the golf. Great views, walks & ample parking. Lots of activities nearby. Family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dympna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Dympna

Thank you very much for your positivie review. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Great Northern Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Brian McEniff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
16.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: Sea Road, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: £71 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Northern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Bundoran Co Donegal is located on an 18 hole championship golf course and boasts a beautiful Leisure & Conference Centre. After your meal you can enjoy a relaxing drink in our lounge bars or dance the night away in our Atlantic Ballroom. Enjoy the charms of our Tir-Chonail Dining Room open daily with a full dinner menu on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Bundoran
Great Northern Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing