We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here with my. Mam and Dad octogenarians ( Mam has limited mobility)for the weekend the booking from the uk was great Sharon really understood what I needed it was a last minute booking but every effort was made to accommodate us and offer good value for money. my parents were delighted with the service. Great location friendly helpful staff good entertainment and lots of information reception always manned with a friendly smile Martina happy to engage in conversation and give info after I am sure was along busy day! I would certainly stay again. The views from the room were great as a suggestion but really minor the only blight was that rubbish container area any chance of moving it out of eye shot from the rooms.

Room Tip: For disabled 1st floor rm 151 ample room two bathrooms great for sharing lift good size and in good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Brenda

Thank you for the positive feedback. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Great Northern Hotel.

I have passed your comments on to the head of each department. Your feedback allows us to better all areas of the hotel, I have made the groundskeeper aware of your comments about the rubbish container, we will make sure to address this in full.

Again Brenda thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel.

Regards
Brian McEniff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    176
    158
    135
    140
See reviews for
303
354
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just back from 3 night family break(Mon Aug 11th-Thur 14th)2 adults and 2 kids aged 6 and 8), room average size double single and a fold up bed.Decor throughout hotel(from carpets to velvet wall paper) very old fashioned stairs would remind you of grannys house.There are actual keys to the doors of bedrooms instead of key cards!For a four star the toiletries in bathroom was minimalSwimming pool small wouldnt take too much for it to be full.We had meals included.I am always wary when the food arrives very soon after ordering and how right i was.Meat was tough, vegetables overcooked and dry and the potatoes watery.It looked like the meals were already cooked and either kept in oven or reheated.We were advised to book our table for dinner in the morning at reception but on two evenings the booking at reception never made it to the staff in dining room so we didnt bother booking on the third night.Limited choice at breakfast cooked breakfast to order but same seemed a bit dry., i have been at far superior 4 star hotels.Would go back to Bundoran but not the Great Northern.Maybe if the food quality was seriously improved and the dining room staff more training then you could probably overlook the old fashion bit but for a four star i expect alot more.Almost forgot no WiFi in bedrooms only in bar

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Aileen

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to the management of each department.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your food at the hotel, I have made the chef aware of your comments and I would like to assure you that this will not happen again. All food is cooked to order so I will look into why the food was served to you in a "dry” state.

With regards to the “minimal bathroom toiletries” if you required more supplies we would have been more than happy to supply you with these on request.

Complimentary Wi-Fi is available to all guests in our lobby, bar & restaurant. We are currently working on getting this free service throughout the hotel.

We are always trying to meet our 4 star status, I apologies that we did not achieve this on your stay. If you are back in Bundoran we would love to welcome you back to the Great Northern Hotel for another stay.

Regards
Brian McEniff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanlinbar, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our wedding reception was in The Great Northern . From the first day we called to see Karen,we were looked after very well , nothing was too much trouble for her and the staff. The food was excellent and the service was very good, we weren't left waiting between courses for too long. It very much has the feel of a family run hotel where the management and staff are there to help in any way they can. I would recommend to it to anybody .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJL237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Great Northern Hotel is a truly amazing place to stay. As a four star hotel, it definitely lives up to its high standards. There's something for everyone in the family, from swimming to relaxing and having a great time. There's a Kids Club too so children of all ages can go bowling, to the cinema, do arts and crafts or get active with fun outdoor games. The food is exquisite and you'll always leave the peaceful dining room, full and happy. The staff are exceptionally helpful, especially those at reception and the waiters are just the same. The rooms are gorgeous and have such comfortable beds where you'll sleep long, calm nights and with a spotless bathroom, you won't leave disappointed. We found the situation perfect with a beach just down the road. We loved everything so much that we came back for four continuous years and plan to go a fifth! It's great for family holidays and with someone to assist your every need, why would you go anywhere else?

Room Tip: Higher floor with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Rachel

Thank you for your recent review. It is with great pleasure to read your positive review. We are always trying to better the hotel and shine as been one of the best.

I am so very glad that you made use of our FREE go!kids kids club. I have passed all of your comments on to the management of each department.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel for your 5th stay.

Once again, thank you for your kind words

Regards
Brian McEniff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We got married in Bundoran, followed by a reception in theGreat Northern Hotel on Friday 16th May.

Why did we choose the Great Northern for our wedding celebrations?

I (Ciara) had been to a few family weddings in the Great Northern and knew it was where I would have my wedding party if I ever got married. My brother had got married there 7 years ago & my sister 4 years ago. My sisters wedding particularly stands out in my memory. It was the attention to detail. My sister had a little boy & she wanted him st sit at the top table. As he was only 2 years old, it's a task to keep him entertained. Karen had this down to a fine art & if she saw him getting ancy, she had something new to discract him. Karen also very much personalised the wedding for the whole family. She knew everyone's first names & that says alot, it makes the whole family feel included.

As for our wedding, I can only only say it was truly magnificent. We had met with Karen a number of times before the wedding to agree exactly what we wanted. There was nothing we asked for too much trouble. Karen's attention to detail is second to none. I can remember sitting at the top table, looking at the flawless execution of all my requests. I can say hand on heart that nothing I asked for did not happen. Karen was on the floor, making sure all our guests were been looked after & Leah was at the top table looking after the needs of the wedding party. We were having a big wedding, so our guests were booking out the hotel the night of the wedding, quite a few even made a 3 night stay out of it. We also had a buffet after our wedding rehersal & the after party on the Saturday. Karen makes such an effort to make everyone feel welcome, this is one of the comments that that I have heard time & time again from my guests.

It's not just the big things that make a wedding, it's also the small things, those unspoken gestures. There's a truly wonderful team at the Great Northern who go the extra mile to make your day special. The Hotel caters for the young & old both, no-one will be disappoined. We had young & old at the wedding & everyone had a fantastic time.

We look forward to visiting agiain soon & catching up with the staff. From the moment you arrive the welcome is warm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and was a wee bit nervous after reading the reviews. When we arrived the location is fantastic the hotel is on the golf course with lovely views of the ocean and only a short walk into town. Check in was very efficient with a sign saying full payment will be taken on check in but nothing was taking not even a credit card. Went to our room and it was of old style but very clean and comfortable. Food and service in the bar was just ok, breakfast was poor enough as the food seemed overcooked and dried out. Had dinner on the second night with another couple. The menu was like something off a carvery with 4 options of main course 1 of which they were "out of". Called the supervisor with glasses and he said sorry that's the tour menu and handed us a menu with the wrong date and two extra choices. Once again food was just ok and service poor. Brian Mc Eniff was present on all days which was great to see. On check out the lady was lovely. The bill was presented with €110.00 missing which was the other couples dinner, bottle of wine and a round of drinks. Brian your loosing revenue and I'm one of the honest customers who told your staff what I had. Serious amount of training to be done at the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishMale098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

Thank you for your kind comments on the location of the hotel and how your room was comfortable and very clean. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the food at the hotel, I have passed your comments on to the head chef. I will be speaking to the kitchen manager and addressing this issue again in full.

I would like to thank you for bringing the bill issue to our attention. I have made the reservation manager aware of what took place and we are working on making sure this never happens again. I have also addressed the problem you encountered with the menu, again thank you for making us aware of this.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review & we really do hope we can welcome you back to the Great Northern Hotel

Regards
Brian McEniff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel needs a good lick of paint and modernising but it does the job. Pool not great but food is good. Staff very helpful, particularly reception staff. Bar staff a bit slow. Views are great. Handy location for beach and shops etc. have been going here for 30 years and its still the best place in town

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatN0rthernH0tel, Owner at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Brian

Thank you for your recent review. It is wonderful to read that you have been coming to the hotel for over 30 years, thank you for your loyal custom.

We are always trying to better the service at the hotel. I have passed your comments on to the management and we will address all of your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel.

Regards
Brian McEniff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
16.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Property: Great Northern Hotel
Address: Sea Road, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Northern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Bundoran Co Donegal is located on an 18 hole championship golf course and boasts a beautiful Leisure & Conference Centre. After your meal you can enjoy a relaxing drink in our lounge bars or dance the night away in our Atlantic Ballroom. Enjoy the charms of our Tir-Chonail Dining Room open daily with a full dinner menu on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Bundoran
Great Northern Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing