We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet hotel right in the centre of Bundoran”
Review of Fitzgerald's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I recently stayed at Fitzgerald's with my 7 year old niece and we loved it. Although we thought the room was smaller than we've seen in other hotels, it was fine for us, and it was beautifully furnished and absolutely spotless. The staff were very friendly and helpful - we were given a tour of the facilities on arrival, shown to our room, and offered extra pillows - all of which gives a lovely personal touch. As other reviewers have mentioned , there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but my niece loved the novelty of going down to the ground floor where she could make her own take away hot drink. Breakfast is not a buffet, as in some other hotels, but prepared freshly on order and served in a beautifully appointed breakfast room. We had dinner in the Bistro one night and it was absolutely delicious and although there were no children's options listed on the menu, we were offered some when our order was taken. The only small thing that wasn't ideal was the car park - way too small for me to even think about maneuvering a car around but that probably says more about my driving skills that anything else ! :-) It was fine, I parked on the street. All in all, I would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

only stayed here for one night. Room comfortable and good breakfast in morning. Only complaint was that it was a bit noisy during the night. Would stay again. Wish we had had a meal in hotel as the place down the strre that we used was awful!














  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I took 2 elderly ladies for a weekend to bundoran! I needed somewhere with parking facilities and a lift. Arrived at hotel and was very pleased with the friendly service. Our rooms were large and comfortable and had all we needed. The food in the restaurant was amazing and the staff were very friendly and accommodating! There was no entertainment in the hotel but we just went next door for live music. My mum and friend were very impressed and really enjoyed their stay at fitzgeralds. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MojoCoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Nice friendly hotel, the owners were really friendly and made you feel at home. The rooms were spotless. views from the hotel were first class. The hotel was quiet which my wife and i wanted as we were there just for a relaxing few days.I thought the hotel was quite well laid out, with a really lovely lounge.
Would recommend Fitzgerald's to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

only stayed for one night for Ballyshannon festival and would definitely come back. There's a lovely charm about the place and I thought the people running the place were excellent - little courtesys were shown such as being shown to your room which I thought was a very nice simple touch. The room was fine, bed was comfy - Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked. Would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horsesock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Can't say enough about Fitzgerald's Hotel. Cosy with beautiful decor and incredible views of the Atlantic Ocean. Everything is spotless and all needs are taken care of. Probably the best restaurant in town and It's also centrally located & looks onto the famous peak!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aodhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

On arrival at this hotel in May 2013, we found it to be dark and unwelcoming. The owner appeared and showed us to our room which was basic with no frills. We were informed that the tea and coffee making facilities were under the stairs on the ground floor, with only polystyrene cups! yuk. If you want to use the toilet whilst in the reception/lounge area you will need to get the key from the owner. Your every move in this hotel will be watched by cctv! Unfortunately the dining facilities were closed so we cannot comment on these. We left our expensive shampoo in our room and I had the brainwave of getting it sent on to our next hotel. We have been charged for the postage, and somehow the owner has managed to access our personal bank account without our knowledge and debit us with 4 euros, which in turn cost us £3.47 + £1.50 for the conversion rate. I think this sort of practice is despicable, but you can form your own opinion. On a lighter note, the breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: must be sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeanyBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jgodee, Owner at Fitzgerald's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

This a most extraordinary review from a pleasant guest. None of the criticisms was made known during the stay and even at checkout all was sweetness and light. Security is a major concern in the hotel business and we make no apology for the extensive use of CCTV. The disposable cups and lids used at the complimentary tea/coffee station are both portable and hygienic and are in widespread use. With regard to the "expensive" shampoo, when the guest phoned one day after checkout she requested that the item be returned to her home address in England; subsequently, somebody else phoned on her behalf and instructed that the item be sent to the guest c/o an hotel in Westport. The caller was informed that, in accordance with our normal practice, guest's credit card (details of which were provided both at booking and at checkout) would be debited with the cost of postage only; caller did not demur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: £88 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzgerald's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzgeralds Hotel provides 3* accommodation overlooking the picturesque Donegal Bay in the North West of Ireland. The comfortable and spacious bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi access; most enjoy spectacular sea views. The hotel’s Bistro restaurant has an excellent reputation for good food and fine wines at reasonable prices. Bundoran is the ideal base from which to enjoy sight-seeing and touring holidays of Donegal and the North West, including Counties Sligo, Leitrim and Fermanagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Fitzgerald's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Hotel Bundoran
Fitzgerald's Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing