We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find !”
Review of Fitzgerald's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a great find !”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

One of the most surprising places I have stayed in ages. The service was impeccable from start to finish, the bar and restaurant were terrific, and the view from our room (Minnie Driver room) was spectacular. I'd recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a friendly place to stay in the area.

Only two minor gripes:
1. Why do they take away the coffee, tea etc in the evening? Just before bed is one time you'd love a hot drink!
2. It's a pity that the bar and restaurant are only open in the evening - I'm sure people would love to go there for lunch.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the front, overlooking the bay. One to ask for is the Minnie Driver room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    44
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
66
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The window in our room was so grand!! It gave us a terrific ocean view. Our room was extra large with comfy twin beds. We arrived so very late and it was also raining, the night staff came out to greet us and show us where to put the car down. Very nice of him to look after us in that way and get us up to our room. It was a lovely one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Fitzgeralds is perfectly located, just 5 mins walk to the main street and 5 mins walk to the beach. As it is not on the main strip, it is quieter, which means you aren't going to have your sleep interrupted by any over zealous party goers going by. It is a small family run hotel with just 16 rooms. This means that the service we got was excellent. We had two rooms overlooking the bay with amazing views. On day one we simply sat in the bay window watching the tide come in, very relaxing!

The rooms were well clean and well maintained. They are basic but in great condition, cleaned on a daily basis.

John is the face of the hotel. He seems to be there permanently, and is very friendly and welcoming. Our only regret is not eating in the restaurant during our stay. The food looked delicious and locals seem to come to the restaurant for the food. It is a small restaurant so I would say you have to book in advance.

I would definitely recommend Fitzgeralds, we will be staying there again next year. And we will definitely be eating in the restaurant too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GerryFitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night while attending a concert in bundoran. We were shown to our room and the man checked what else we might need , like who liked extra pillows and got them straight away. Our room was at the front with a lovely view with a picture of Minnie driver on the wall who once stayed in the room!! The bar was very comfortable. I really enjoyed the breakfast as it was freshly cooked and we had a choice from the menu. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anncull2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel made me think of seaside hotels described in the English novels I grew up reading, and in June of this year, I actually got to stay in one. Our room was at the front of the hotel was very large and quiet and had an AMAZING view of the ocean. Our host was very welcoming; our breakfast (could only stay one night, unfortunately) was very good and filling. The hotel is in a great location-we were able to walk to our restaurant, the beach, some shops. If we are ever back this way (visiting from London, Canada), we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view-beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Bundoran for a golf trip and I admit that we were a bit apprehensive about the hotel upon arrival. However, we visited the bar/restaurant for a drink and it helped us get a better feeling for the place. We originally intended going out for food but ended up eating there and thank god we did, the food was great and the wine list was excellent especially for a small hotel. The family that run the hotel were very nice and the son 'John' was great. Always enthusiastic even with four golfers coming home late at night.
Keep up the good work and thanks for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TippCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Returned for a second year for a two night stay in Fitzgeralds Hotel and was pleased to see that it was every bit as good as when we first visited. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone looking an ideally located, well run hotel in Bundoran.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.0 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,036 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
13.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
887 reviews
17.4 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzgerald's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzgeralds Hotel provides 3* accommodation overlooking the picturesque Donegal Bay in the North West of Ireland. The comfortable and spacious bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi access; most enjoy spectacular sea views. The hotel’s Bistro restaurant has an excellent reputation for good food and fine wines at reasonable prices. Bundoran is the ideal base from which to enjoy sight-seeing and touring holidays of Donegal and the North West, including Counties Sligo, Leitrim and Fermanagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Fitzgerald's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Hotel Bundoran
Fitzgerald's Hotel Bundoran, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing